Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel Bed/Breakfast near city center

Posted Jan 5, 2017
We arrived very late past midnight. The place was very hard to find (apparently there are two hotels with very similar names with same owner). After we finally found it the only staff was the security who was unable to find out registration. We explained we made it only a few hours prior so he took our word for it and checked us in. In the morning he knocked on our door to make sure we didn't miss breakfast. Very nice gesture. The morning staff found our booking and everything was good. They have a great tour to the coooer canyon leaving at 9 am and other tours are available. All in all a great experience. We plan to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Casa Margarita's is the center of activity

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The location near the central plaza and well-organized opportunities for excursions
Cons: Once I got my rooms, I was totally satisfied. The complimentary meals, however, were inconsistent with the rest of the experience.
Location: Located near the central plaza, Casa Margarita's offers an easy and safe walk stores, shops, and restaurants.
Casa Margarita's is the hub of almost everything in Creel. When they get things right, they deserve to be just that. I booked two nights ahead of time, but when I arrived they were overbooked by a large group and shuffled me off to a much-lesser hotel three blocks away. They offered no concession on price and, in fact, no apologies. Instead, they blamed Expedia for the error. The second night I was moved to the actual hotel, and it was excellent! For a mid-range property, the rooms are excellent: clean, well-appointed, and decorative. While it made no difference to me, some guests may not be really fond of all the stairs. The included meals were s0-so, but adequate. Several tour operators, with a huge variety of options and pricing, seem to cluster nearby. In fact, Casa Margarita's seems to control a loose syndicate of tour promoters so it is so very easy to make reservations for these excursions. Casa Margarita's uniquely offers an overnight trip to the bottom of the canyon, where you are placed in a beautiful mansion-like hotel. That was the best part of the experience, and I highly recommend taking this excursion to Batopilas and, in fact, you should stay there at least two nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was shut when we arrived...

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Although we had booked to stay at Casa Margarita's, the hotel was locked and empty when we arrived. Looking at other reviews, this doesn't entirely appear to be unusual. There is a sister hotel in Creel, and a member of staff spotted us trying to figure out how to get into Casa Margarita's and explained that we needed to go to the Hotel Plaza Mexicana Margarita's instead. It was only a couple of blocks away (10 mins walk). At Hotel Plaza Mexicana, they had no record of our booking and initially indicated that we would have to pay to stay there, despite having the booking confirmation from hotels.com indicating that the booking was fully confirmed and paid for (in Spanish - which also helped, as unfortunately none of the desk staff could speak English and our Spanish was lacking). All quite stressful! With regards to Plaza Mexicana Margarita's - the staff were friendly; the hotel is pleasant, central and quiet; the rooms were large, clean and had WiFi; and the food was fine. The tours that the hotel run are really only done in Spanish and the prices are quite fluid (depending on numbers) - some of the other local operators may be better at providing English tours or providing fixed prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Value for Money

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Service, comfortable and excellent location. Although there was shuttle at the train station to pick us up, there's no need.. Easy walk
Location: Sort and easy walk to Chepe and along main street. Close to restaurants and shops.
For the money spent Casa Margarita's is 5 star. Staff accommodating, helped arrange tour as requested. Easy to do business with this hotel and the service team.
3 out of 5
by Douglas from Austin, Texas

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is sparsely staffed but the few are friendly and helpful. It ws a hike up to the third floor. The room was small but comfortable. Meals are served at a nearby affiliated hotel, two block away.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good view Close to Plaza

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed our stay and also our the birdwatching and petroglyphs tour, nice family business
4 out of 5
by RICHARD from South Lake Tahoe,

Loved the place!

Posted Jun 8, 2016 on Hotels
Great deal and wonderful staff. The meals (included) were authentic Mexican, yummy, and plenty of food. It was a stop over on the train ride from Los Mochis to Creel to see the famous Copper Canyon. We ended up going with EzeQuiel (who picked us up at the train) of Tarahumara Tours (and worked for the hotel) on a tour to the Zip lines, tram, and views of the Canyon. Ended up staying two nights. A celebration in the town square one evening was an added plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to station with pick up.

Posted Apr 20, 2016
A little mix up at the beginning with other hotel. Tour next day was good. Room needs a fridge or assessible or ice machine and pop machine in restaurant that's accessible at all times. Beds were great! Internet and TV were good. Breakfast on 1st day was poor but 2nd am good.