Ratings based on 143 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice room - shame about the customer service.

Posted Jan 21, 2018
This review is actually about the sister hotel Casa Margarita Plaza. Check-in was a nightmare. Tried to check-in to the hotel I had booked but was sent to their sister hotel as they didn’t have room. They wouldn’t accept my reservation on my phone and wanted me print it out?? The guy on reception was not helpful at all. The room was lovely though with great heating and hot water when it was working! There was no power or water from 11pm - 4.30pm the next day. This wasn’t the hotels fault as it was all throughout creel. What was disappointing though was that there was no Info as to what was actually happening and when the power and water would be back. Breakfast and dinner was included which was an added bonus and the food was okay. This is actually a lovely little hotel with some positive points, however the customer service and communication marred our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2017 on Wotif
Clean, well run hotel, rooms set around an internal courtyard. Limited English spoken.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sonora, Mexico

Do not expect to get the hotel you are reserving

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: The facilities are nice, and the rooms are very clean. Everything worked fine.
Cons: Although they rent rooms through travel websites, they seem to not be aware at the desk that you are coming. Communication and reservation issues.
Location: The location is great, and it is easy to walk everywhere. Interesting excursions are readily available at fair prices. Ask for Cesar Gonzalez Quintero
I have stayed twice with Casa Margarite's. Both times, I was never actually placed into that hotel. This is a collection of hotels, and it appears they routinely overbook and sort it out when you arrive. In two visits, I have been placed/moved into three different properties - all owned by the same people. The facilities are fine - even great - but it seems to be very random where you might stay. Additionally, they demand a printed reservation (a confirmation number or an Expedia itinerary number are not sufficient). The trouble is, they have no printers at the desk and you need to go into town, rent time on a computer, and pay for a printout. It is a major hassle. If you do not do it right away, they consistently harrass you for this. But if you know this ahead of time, there will be no problem. The facilities and amenities are very nice, and it is a good value. The included meals are "average", but adequate. The hotel is also involved in selling excursions, and it is very easy to arrange trips through them. Just be aware that you are traveling in rural Mexico, to a facility that operates as if it is 30 years ago. Bring a bit of patience, all of your paperwork, and some Spanish. With that, you should be fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Be careful staying at this hotel. They lock the doors at night, but you are locked in with no one to let you out in care of a fire or other emergencies. Cool architecture but there are rats in the walls. I woke up to them speaking and scratching in the walls. I asked about an early check out at 6am and that I needed to get my car out of the gated lot in order to make it to the airport in Chihuahua. "No problem," said the front desk staff, "The guard will be there and will let you in at 6. Don't worry," he said. At 6am I was locked inside the hotel, unable to get out until I found the keys at the desk and unlocked myself. There was no one at the lot and I had to get help from a staff member at another unrelated hotel down the street who then contacted someone who could open the gate, delaying me 75 minutes.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel Bed/Breakfast near city center

Posted Jan 5, 2017
We arrived very late past midnight. The place was very hard to find (apparently there are two hotels with very similar names with same owner). After we finally found it the only staff was the security who was unable to find out registration. We explained we made it only a few hours prior so he took our word for it and checked us in. In the morning he knocked on our door to make sure we didn't miss breakfast. Very nice gesture. The morning staff found our booking and everything was good. They have a great tour to the coooer canyon leaving at 9 am and other tours are available. All in all a great experience. We plan to go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Casa Margarita's is the center of activity

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The location near the central plaza and well-organized opportunities for excursions
Cons: Once I got my rooms, I was totally satisfied. The complimentary meals, however, were inconsistent with the rest of the experience.
Location: Located near the central plaza, Casa Margarita's offers an easy and safe walk stores, shops, and restaurants.
Casa Margarita's is the hub of almost everything in Creel. When they get things right, they deserve to be just that. I booked two nights ahead of time, but when I arrived they were overbooked by a large group and shuffled me off to a much-lesser hotel three blocks away. They offered no concession on price and, in fact, no apologies. Instead, they blamed Expedia for the error. The second night I was moved to the actual hotel, and it was excellent! For a mid-range property, the rooms are excellent: clean, well-appointed, and decorative. While it made no difference to me, some guests may not be really fond of all the stairs. The included meals were s0-so, but adequate. Several tour operators, with a huge variety of options and pricing, seem to cluster nearby. In fact, Casa Margarita's seems to control a loose syndicate of tour promoters so it is so very easy to make reservations for these excursions. Casa Margarita's uniquely offers an overnight trip to the bottom of the canyon, where you are placed in a beautiful mansion-like hotel. That was the best part of the experience, and I highly recommend taking this excursion to Batopilas and, in fact, you should stay there at least two nights.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was shut when we arrived...

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Although we had booked to stay at Casa Margarita's, the hotel was locked and empty when we arrived. Looking at other reviews, this doesn't entirely appear to be unusual. There is a sister hotel in Creel, and a member of staff spotted us trying to figure out how to get into Casa Margarita's and explained that we needed to go to the Hotel Plaza Mexicana Margarita's instead. It was only a couple of blocks away (10 mins walk). At Hotel Plaza Mexicana, they had no record of our booking and initially indicated that we would have to pay to stay there, despite having the booking confirmation from hotels.com indicating that the booking was fully confirmed and paid for (in Spanish - which also helped, as unfortunately none of the desk staff could speak English and our Spanish was lacking). All quite stressful! With regards to Plaza Mexicana Margarita's - the staff were friendly; the hotel is pleasant, central and quiet; the rooms were large, clean and had WiFi; and the food was fine. The tours that the hotel run are really only done in Spanish and the prices are quite fluid (depending on numbers) - some of the other local operators may be better at providing English tours or providing fixed prices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago IL

Value for Money

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: Service, comfortable and excellent location. Although there was shuttle at the train station to pick us up, there's no need.. Easy walk
Location: Sort and easy walk to Chepe and along main street. Close to restaurants and shops.
For the money spent Casa Margarita's is 5 star. Staff accommodating, helped arrange tour as requested. Easy to do business with this hotel and the service team.