Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weymouth Dorset

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Its Character
Cons: Lighting in the Bathroom could be improved
Location: My stay was to attend a Military Reunion and was perfectly situated for me with a short taxi ride to the venue.
A beautiful hotel set in beautiful grounds. The staff are very polite and extremely helpful. The room was very nice, spacious and comfortable, the only criticism I would have is although there were a lot of lights, the lighting in the bathroom were not bright enough to enable you to see well enough for my wife to apply make up. It would be a good idea to have stronger lighting in the Bathroom or over the mirror in the main room. Other than that it was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from york

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice pool and sauna. food good. Room spacious and clean
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Beautiful, Historic Building

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: There are lots of things going on in the semi-rural location. We went to Stoke-on-Trent and visited some of the potteries, that was great.
We stayed at Crewe Hall for 2 nights and it was an absolute pleasure. If you like historic buildings then you will love Crewe Hall, it was like staying at the Houses of Parliament! The building is beautiful inside and out, the staff were all extremely friendly and professional, the cleanliness was of the highest standard throughout and the food was excellent. We travelled from 150 miles from Surrey and can honestly say that it was well worth the drive! There were 2 wedding functions going on during the weekend, but that didn't cause any noise disruption at all, in fact, it was fun watching the bridal party taking photos outside in the beautiful grounds. All in all it was a great experience and we will definitely return to Crewe Hall again, perhaps for one of their New Year parties when the building will be dressed in its Christmas Festive attire.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Excellent

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Would've been nice to be given the option to stay in the old hall. Jacuzzi can only fit 2 people and that's a tight squeeze. Other than that 10/10
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North

Beautiful hotel - like staying in a Stately Home

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: The restaurant could do with being updated. It is very 1970s, but this may be part of a retro plan. It is just not to my taste
Location: Cholmondeley Castle is a delightful garden to visit
We had a lovely time at Crewe Hall. The room was comfortable and well presented. The Hall itself is a stunning stately home which is well worth a look round in itself. The artistry and wooden carvings are amazing. The grounds are beautiful and a stroll through them is relaxing. However it was very busy on the weekend we were there which meant there was an air of hurry, which was opposite to the reason for our stay - we wanted to relax. Given how busy the staff were, especially the restaurant staff, they were always friendly and polite and worked in a very efficient manner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Handy to both the Peak District and Chester

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: The location and certainly the main building.
Cons: If it were up to me, I would redesign the dining room, create a separate character for the bar, and add outdoor space to it.
Location: Great location.
The main building is a stunning Victorian Tudor mansion with incredible interiors. Most rooms and the dining room are in a newly built adjoining wing. The rooms are comfortable, but the dining room/bar is a bit disappointing physically.
5 out of 5
by Sheila

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful relaxing place to stay , full of his
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glos

Perfect for a break in our journey home

Posted May 28, 2017
Incredible building in large grounds. We had a twin room in the newer block on the ground floor which was perfect for us. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We were quite late but the cooked food was fresh & delicious. There was a great variety of fruit, cereals & pastries with delicious bread to 'toast yourself'. One of the best 'buffet breakfasts' we have ever had. The staff were polite and helpful too. We will definitely break our journey to/from the lakes at this hotel again in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Top class hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: It is a well maintained period house.
Cons: N/A
Loved this hotel, it had everything we wanted large bedrooms very clean and set in large grounds with a spa.