Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, UK

A Traditional Inn

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The George is over 400 years old, although the present building only dates from 1832. Considering its age it is still a handsome building and has been remarkably well looked after. The courtyard is an ideal spot for sitting with an afternoon beer watching the world go by whilst the former stables have been converted into little shops and a café. I was pleasantly surprised by my spacious, immaculately clean, twin room which came at a very reasonable single occupancy rate. Check-in was swift and friendly and throughout my stay I found the staff cheery and the public bar convivial with excellent beer. Breakfast was a simple affair, but nothing wrong with that - I didn't expect a 5-star champagne buffet. About the only minor fault is that there's no in-room Wi-Fi, but if you're in a suitable room you can pick up the free Wi-Fi from the nearby Costa Coffee during the day and I do believe you can use the hotel's connection in the bar if you ask for the code. The town centre location is ideal for the other hostelries, shops etc. and the local bus stop is just outside the archway if you want to get out and about.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Welcoming hotel in lovely country town setting.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Friendly staff, lovely room good breakfast included. Fantastic value for the price.
4 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Pros: Excellent service. Good breakfast with super choices.
Cons: Room needed a towel rail. Tea in room poor. Old tea bags. Stale milks.
Good welcome and obliging staff. Good coffee. Too busy with family Christmas to look at Crewkerne itself.
4 out of 5
by Shirley from Kent

Our stay at the George Inn on 24 October

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at The George Inn although we were only there for one night. The room was lovely and big and so was the adjacent bathroom. The bathroom could have done with a more powerful shower but the water was lovely and hot. We loved the room we were in. It was lovely and big and we found the bed really lovely and comfortable and we slept well. Because we were at the front of the hotel (and probably also because it was a Saturday night) the owner told us that there might be a bit of noise from the bar until it closed at midnight but it we didn't find it that loud the noise didn't disturb us. I think the décor of the hotel could really do with a facelift as it looked a bit tired but that didn't spoil our stay and everyone was really friendly. We would definitely stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bournemoth

In the town centre

Posted Sep 19, 2015
A quirky experience in the heart Of a busy town George sweet is an absolute must A surprise is waiting for you on your arival Breakfast superb On a sat food everywhere not served until 7pm but oppose a superb indian
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kent

Out dated and dirty

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Updated drastically
Location: This was marginally better than the hotel
I booked an ensuite which had no toilet Nd then they wanted to charge me £10 extra for a room with one. The hotel is out of date and dirty. When we arrived there was a lot of people hanging around outside smoking .....
2 out of 5
by Olwen from East Yorkshire

Disappointing stay.

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Luckily only one night stay. Never trust a hotel when there are no pictures of the rooms on website. Very tired and dated.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from near Oxford

Historic inn in market town

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Central location near public car park and eating places. Friendly and helpful staff Historic building
Cons: Room rather dated and faded
Location: Central in market place, nearby public car park. Lots of eating places, including The George itself. Great church (four stas rated by Simon Jenkins).
Friendly and helpful owner and staff, who cooked us a great breakfast. Our room was across a pedestrian walkway with a separate entrance, although internal access is possible as well. Everything worked, but the rooms are slightly dated and faded.
2 out of 5
by DAVID from HARPENDEN

Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
if that's worth £80 Im a Dutchman.Bed and pillows uncomfortable.Breakfast good though.