Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

In the middle of nowhere, but friendly staff!

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Hotels
The room was dated and smelled of damp I'm afraid. It was also very noisy from the people in the room next door just moving around! ...and the toilet leaked. There's no wifi in the rooms as advertised, only at the bar. There's no phone service anywhere. Check with the hotel of opening/check in times as they didn't open until 6... not 12:30 as my email suggested.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

friendly and cosy old inn

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Very friendly and cosy old inn. Staff extremely welcoming and helpful. Our room was rather cramped, especially the bathroom, and we had problems operating the electric shower. The breakfast was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Beautiful old Inn in a quiet village setting.

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Overall rooms quite dated.
Location: Close to National Trust property, Montacute House (location of filming of Wolfe Hall)
Staff friendly and helpful. Room basic but perfectly adequate for a short stay. Unfortunately our stay coincided with a wedding party who were jovial and noisy in the bar area until midnight. Prior to their arrival, noise had not been an issue from the bar. I think we were just unlucky.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wedding guest stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Staff were wonderful but the room needed some redecoration and a proper clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Tired but convenient

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The location for our family celebrations.
Cons: Attention to aesthetics - poor bathroom fittings. Provision of an information pack in each room, with details about the hotel and locality.
Location: Wonderful restaurant nearby - Haselbury Mill.
We booked and paid for three double rooms at the hotel but on arrival were allocated two doubles and a twin. Even with paperwork as proof we were told that the problem was not with them but with the booking system. No compensation was offered. The rooms were basic and tired, but clean. However, there was no noise at night and we all slept well. Breakfast was very good. Would we stay again? Not sure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from walsall

Nice place perfect for our visit

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Only a 1 night visit but hospitality was excellent
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Sadly this pace has seen better days

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly
Cons: Redecorate inside and out, replace worn out fixtures and fittings.
Location: Noisy because of busy main road going through the village. the
The premises is in dire need of some TLC - why not spend a bit of money on redecorating? Parking area is part used for storing/dumping of furniture - why not hire a skip and take it away? Windows need replacing, vanity basin worn through the gel coat. It was a lot of money fro a family room in this condition - unless you really need to stay there go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by Ian from North wales

Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
As a family of four, we stayed here for one night as a stop off point to a festival in Dorset. On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome, and asked if there was anything they could get us, or we needed from the bar. We originally booked the family room, however the owners suggested a twin a double room at no extra cost due to the age of our children. Both rooms were very comfortable with enough facilities for a relaxed stay. We ate downstairs in the pub, where there is a varied menu of pub classics, all our family had something different and none of our meals disappointed. The breakfast in the morning was lovely, with cereals, toast and a full English cooked to how we wanted.
4 out of 5
by Amy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels