Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 20, 2018
Very friendly staff, lovely location, nice clean room with a comfy bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted May 14, 2018
The outside is a bit run down and tatty, but the inside is clean and the room we had was huge and comfortable. The couple who ran the hotel were very pleasant and helpful, and the breakfast was really good. It was a bit more expensive than we would have liked, but that was because I booked late and the only room available was this fantastic turret with a sea view, as seen in the picture. I would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2018
5 out of 5
by Hanya

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect little one stop for me while travelling the Welsh coast. Super staff and lovely hearty breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staffordshire

Enjoyable break

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and it’s central location.
Cons: ? For me at times the stairs were a little tough as I’m an asthma sufferer. Maybe install a life?
Location: Visit the castle with its stunning views, an award winning chip shop just steps away and of course the gorgeous Cadwalladers Ice Cream cafe.
Set in the beautiful seaside town of Criccieth this hotel afforded beautiful views of the sea and the historic castle.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Nice closed to the sea

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Pros: Breakfast not great but it was the only thing we liked
Cons: Cleaner , the Tv a lot
Location: The location was marvelous
We had a good time , but room has not been cleaner properly , all the switches has been turned off , one day i couldn't use my pad it was dead because plugs has been turned of . They keep turn off the heating ,to be honest it was a very basic hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Used to provide single accommodation .

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: everything
Cons: option of sheets and blanket, to duvet.
Location: Criccieth has wonderful sea and castle views and walks. Goof provision of cafes and restaurant for all tastes.
Required single room in order to play golf the following morning at Pwlhelli. Small single room with en-suite provided with view directly over the castle. Free parking available on road opposite the hotel, in view of the room. Cooked breakfast available at 8. 30 am allowed me time to travel the 20 minute journey to Pwlhelli Golf Course, in order to be on the tee at 10 am. Good accommodation, Comfortable bed. Dispensed with the duvet, as too warm. Watched World Athetics on small wall tv. after walking Criccieth promenade in the evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shropshire

Family room with a view of the castle

Posted Aug 19, 2017
A clean, tidy family room with plenty of guest facilities. Each bed had its own wn towels and toiletries and there was a well stocked hot drink tray. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of choice and top ups of tea and toast offered in the lovely dining room. We will be back!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grumpy Marine Hotel

Posted Aug 10, 2017 on Hotels
Room was large, but worn and old, yet it was a suite though. Their in-room literature stated guests could get drinks after the bar was closed, just had to ask. Since we got in late with nowhere open to eat, decided to indulge just to put something in my stomach. While the owner complied with a beer, made to feel like she was being put out, even though the owner (presumed) were having a beer with to others. Yet, they wouldn't take credit card for one beer because I had run out of pounds. We missed the breakfast that was included because we overslept. Understandable, but then contacted the same owner insisted on the 3 pounds from the beer the night before. So, I had to drive around all over town looking for somewhere to exchange cash. Ridiculous. While I understand this hotel is probably their livelihood, they weren't helpful in making it easy, nor did we feel like we were welcomed. The owner is very grumpy and should sell the hotel and retire. Ironically, when I was looking to exchange money to pay for the beer, I engaged a retailer in a discussion about the reason for quickly needing money. The retailer asked where I was staying, her response was...There much better hotels to stay at in town than there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Weekend with our Grandchildren

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast. Friendly hosts. Fabulous location. Car parking just across the road.
Cons: Needs some modernisation.
Location: Fabulous beach. Castle within walking distance. The best Ice Cream shop ever a short walk down the road. Lovely walks along the promenade.
We chose this particular hotel as it was very close to the beach and the castle. The hosts were very welcoming although the hotel itself was quite dated. We were put into a family room at the top of the hotel that had a double bed, a single bed and bunk beds (which worked out well for us), although the bunk bed creaked a lot when our Grandaughter was on the top bunk. I can say though that the breakfast was fabulous, a great variety of food and an excellent cooked breakfast (set us up for the day!!).