Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Weekend with our Grandchildren

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Excellent breakfast. Friendly hosts. Fabulous location. Car parking just across the road.
Cons: Needs some modernisation.
Location: Fabulous beach. Castle within walking distance. The best Ice Cream shop ever a short walk down the road. Lovely walks along the promenade.
We chose this particular hotel as it was very close to the beach and the castle. The hosts were very welcoming although the hotel itself was quite dated. We were put into a family room at the top of the hotel that had a double bed, a single bed and bunk beds (which worked out well for us), although the bunk bed creaked a lot when our Grandaughter was on the top bunk. I can say though that the breakfast was fabulous, a great variety of food and an excellent cooked breakfast (set us up for the day!!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chelsea, Quebec

Easy access to town and hiking

Posted May 19, 2017
Pros: Location. Exceptionally helpful staff
Cons: Plumbing and mattresses
Location: Easy walk around town
One room was OK; the other had problems with the shower. Mattresses were thin and tired. Two hotel meals were delicious; the other two were just OK.There is a fantastic, local fish-&-chip restaurant very close; and an ice cream shop. Good location for hiking around town and to Welsh castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Nice hotel with close, available free parking

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: Good central location......I already mentioned the handy parking available which is hard to find in these small towns.
Cons: Some maintenance of the old building could be improved....but that's always a given when you're dealing with old (but charming) structures.
Location: It you enjoy Welsh outdoor activities, they have it all here and nearby.
As we say here in America, this place gives a lot of bang for the buck. Delightful, accommodating staff with enjoyable British humor. They know the area and give helpful tips to the entire Snowdonia region to clueless visitors from abroad. We had a great time here and they helped make it happen. Thanks!
3 out of 5
by uk from uk

apart from no hot water, a nice hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
overall nice basic hotel. late check in wasn't expected. pet friendly which was what we needed but then no facilities to eat with pets either inside or outside.
5 out of 5
by Amos

Exelent stay for familys

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed for 2 nights as we were at a comic con, the family room was excelent with a lot of space. Room was very clean and tidy with good facilits. The owers/mangers were very friendly and helpfull
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk UK

excellent location

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: Criccieth is a very quiet town. Very close to Porthmadog. Caernarfon is the biggest town. About 45mins away. Lovely beaches all around. Good for kids.
Our room was comfortable and clean. Needs updating a bit. A bit difficult to get in the bath for a shower for older people. Otherwise very good. We would stay there again though. A very good location. The breakfasts are very good . The owners are lovely and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
This was a very disappointing stay. I was barked at by the waitress when I tried to enter the dining room a few minutes early for breakfast, this was when I decided to check out early. I lost two nights fee but was not prepared to stay longer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
A nice traditional hotel convenient for an overnight stay during our short break.
4 out of 5
by Jill from Brecon, South Wales

Lovely little place by the sea

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal base for our 3 day visit to Snowdonia, Seaside stop over within easy driving of Snowdonia mountain ranges. Fitted in Harlech Castle, Electric Mountain, Snowdon mountain railway(advise you book in advance) and a dip in the sea!Lovely little hotel run by a nice couple, very helpful and efficient, lovely breakfast. yes the decor maybe a little dated, but its clean and tidy and well presented, nice residents lounge, pool table, bar area and dinning area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely staff at the hotel very friendly and helpful. Food was nice and hotel is set in a beautiful location with nice views. Rooms were a little dated and need a bit of a makeover but they had everything we needed and very clean and comfortable.