Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Martham

Still feels as if it's back in the 30's.

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The restaurant and quality of food. The sea view and grounds.
Cons: Exterior terrace paving. Room decor. Room 18 needs additional power sockets to match the furniture layout. Wifi availability.
Location: Not a great deal to do in Cromer in October.
Allocated room1 which had decorators scaffold outside the window, obscuring the sea view. Had to request another room. If one was not available, I would have left the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Norwich, U.K.

Beautiful setting and excellent food.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Convenient, quiet with friendly and efficient staff.
Cons: The general ambience is a little dated but the room was clean, tidy and well appointed and the view is superb.
Location: It is a good step into Cromer but nice that the round trip is by different routes. It's also possible to use the steps to get down to Overstrand beach
We have been to the Sea Marge before and had been given a "Dining Experience" gift voucher as a present so decided to stay overnight as well. We pushed the boat out a bit to choose a Deluxe room with a sea view and were very pleased to have a large room with 4-poster bed and seating area and an almost equally large bathroom with jacuzzi bath. The staff are very efficient without ever being intrusive and the meal we had was an excellent 7 courses - even where there was a particular item that we didn't like, alternatives were offered without any issue. Breakfast was an extra £9.95 pp but was excellent value and we were fortunate to arrive just when a window table had been vacated. A 30 second wait for it to be reset was all that was asked. Our favourite activity when staying (or just visiting the area) is to walk down to Cromer through the golf course and then back along the beach - or vice-versa and the hotel staff wee more than happy for us to leave our car in the car park to do this prior to check-in. All in all, an experience we will undoubtedly repeat at this fine hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stansted

I loved the period charm.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: All the staff were very helpful and liked the ancient lift.
Cons: For me good coffee in the morning is very important!
Location: We went to end of the Pier show in Cromer and the steam railway at Sheringham. All beaches were good too.
We had a lovely room with 4 poster bed with en suite jacuzzi. Sea view and gardens were great. Breakfast was OK but poor coffee and bacon not freshly cooked. Overall a very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire

Hidden Gem

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: We liked the hotel gardens, a great place to chill with a beer, sitting in the sunshine. It has a big car park, the food menu was really good.
Location: Cromer is a two mile walk up the coast along the beach. Overstrand is a quiet peaceful village, the beach is better than Cromer's and not too busy.
Wonderful hotel overlooking the sea, sitting in lovely gardens. The staff are excellent and so was the dining experience. The beach isn't too busy, it's a great place to walk and swim, I needed to walk off that great breakfast I'd just had. I enjoyed the fact it was quiet and relaxing. Cromer is two miles up the road, we walked it along the beach.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2017
Location amazing, staff friendly, but not a luxury hotel. Very old fashioned, only free view TV that didn't work, food not good at all. V. bad value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Excellent

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Had a great time for the wife's birthday staff were great, very helpful and the food was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect surroundings

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous 2 nights stay which we booked so we could go to Thursford Christmas spectacular Hotel is fabulous, staff are great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, Hampshire

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Pleasant staff, nice surroundings, great location and a spacious room.
Cons: Some of the room furnishings in the room were a little tired and the bathroom door could not be closed easily.
Location: Nice view of the sea and easy access to cliff top walks. Just a few miles from Cromer.
A very pleasant two night stay on a mid-week break in Norfolk.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely, dog-friendly stay

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
We were looking for a one night break in Norfolk with our dog and the Sea Marge was really ideal - very close to Cromer and could also access Overstrand beach from the end of the hotel gardens (via a steep staircase).The place itself has lots of character and the staff were friendly at check-in/out. A small note for future guests regarding the TV: we found that a majority of the TV channels wouldn't work in our room as there was no signal, however the next morning we discovered that the main channels did work if you went through and found the HD versions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

A bit Fawlty Towers!

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: Quaint english feel
Cons: Service, service, service. Sort the WIFI out
Location: Great beaches within an hour's drive: Wells, Winterton etc.
We stayed at the Sea Marge for a few days. The good things: There is plenty of parking. Breakfasts are nice and well cooked. In general, the food is pretty good. It has a quaint English feel. The bad things: The service is very variable. There are a couple of receptionists/managers who are clearly trying very hard. They are let down by some 'bad eggs' who are dreadful. The evening service clearly gets overwhelmed and the waits for food are unacceptable. It is crying out for Gordon Ramsey to do a 'Kitchen or Hotel Nightmare' show to swear them in to shape! The hotel could do with a bit of cosmetic tidying but it has a nice feel to the place. There is no WIFI in the rooms despite what they advertise.