Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2012 on Hotels
close to the pier excellent food comfortable room just the job
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mr. and Mrs.C from Essex, UK

Friendly and relaxing seaside hotel.

Posted Aug 10, 2012
Pros: location, friendly staff
Location: right on top of the beach, close to quaint local shops and walks along the seafront
We had a wonderful stay! This has to be one of the friendliest hotels that we have ever stayed in. Our room overlooked the beach and their was a huge seat in the window that we could sit in to admire the view. The restaurant is light and airy with a good selection of food.Breakfast was wholesome and although limited the buffet was thoughtful and nicely presented with home made preserves. It is in a great location, close to the beach and the interesting local shops. There is limited parking on site. Overall a great hotel.
5 out of 5
by Jill

Enjoyable two nights

Posted Aug 4, 2012 on Hotels
We were particularly impressed with the unswervingly pleasant service no matter which member of staff was serving you in the morning or evening. The food was tasty and varied and the surroundings welcoming, comfortable and convenient for the sea and town. We definitely want to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Good seaside hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2012
Pros: friendly and efficient bar
Cons: no sea view from the bedroom
Location: great - almost on the beach
very pleasant surprise - will be returning soon. Very friendly staff and high standards of service. Dogs welcome everywhere except the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent view & location

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Pros: view from room
Cons: poor service at breakfast
We liked everything about this hotel except two things: the very limited parking and the poor service when checking in and at breakfast. I understand the parking problem due the hotel's location. I am not sure if they are understaffed but I had to wait quite a while to check in because no one was around. There was only one person working during breakfast so it was slow service. Our room had a great view of the water and was very comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

red lion inn

Posted Apr 30, 2012
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Shower
Location: Perfect location for the party we were attending and bracing walk to pier the following morning
The staff were very helpful and attentive. Although the bedoom and bathroom had recently been redecorated I think they should look for a new plumber. The taps in sink were fitted badly (whole tap turns!) and the shower leaks dreadfully so very unpleasant shower. Good staff though.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quality of food lets it down

Posted Apr 29, 2012 on Hotels
Lovely room but poor food spoiled what could have been a pleasant stay. Uninspiring evening menu made us play safe with a steak but it was overcooked (medium/rare came as medium/well done), an insipid peppercorn sauce and tasteless "real chips". The full English breakfasts were fine and we enjoyed the yoghurts,jams and toast. I had asked if the smoked haddock was naturally smoked or the bright yellow dyed sort. The reply from the chef was that it only said "smoked" on the invoice! The second morning I ordered an omelette but it was inedible, overcooked, and so dry! It was as if it had been microwaved after it had been cooked. It is such a shame that these basic cooking faults let it down as there has been such an attractive refurbishment, our delightful room overlooking the sea was spotless and very comfortable and quiet for sleeping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice place to stay.

Posted Apr 17, 2012
Very good location with very friendly and helpful staff. Nearly all aspects of the Hotel were good. Breakfast saw some very nice touches with homemade jams, marmalade, sauces and yogurts along with substantial cooked food. As a contrast the food in the evening, although with a good variety menu, was particularly average. We were told that the restaurant tables were gradually being refurbished, however that was not really compensation for a sticky surface, even after they had been wiped. The Hotel had a nice busy feel to it with a spacious bar and a good selection of beers etc. and great sea views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by paul from sussex

my stay at the red lion Cromer

Posted Apr 11, 2012
Pros: overall a friendly, clean,cozy hotel a lovely superior bedroom .
Cons: the constant smell of old chip oil
Location: well situated over looking the sea ,easy walk to shops ,pier etc,
arrived to find car parking space reserved nice touch,on entery to hotel was confronted with strong smell of old chip oil a little off putting this lingered the length of our stay but what followed put this as a minor point. we selected a superior double room which turned out to be much better than anticipated ,large room 2x tv sofa lounge chairs balcony ,lovely large bathroom recently refurbished roll top bath large walk in shower twin basins .both rooms have great sea views.restaurant bar area clean and cozy,food and drink on the pricey side side but good .staff friendly and helpful.front of property requires decorating . overrall well worth a stay shall return .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hornchurch

Red Lion in Cromer - Excellent Stay

Posted Jan 2, 2012 on Hotels
We decided to have a quick break in between Christmas and New Year in Cromer and found the Red Lion one of the few hotels available; how glad we did!  This was a fantastic hotel, the staff were all great, really friendly and helpful.  Our room was comfortable; both the room and bathroom were spotless. Restaurant was very good also; we had breakfast and evening meal, which we couldn't fault. We will certainly be going back to the Red Lion in the future.