Ratings based on 915 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jul 20, 2017
It was very nice and the breakfast was awesome with made to order eggs and other items. It is connected with an enclosed walkway to the casino.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
We chose to go to the casino for 4th of July weekend instead of the crowded beaches. We had a great time and won some money. This was our second visit to Mardi gras hotel and casino and we will go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MD

Nice hotel, lousy bed sheets.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Pros: Nice room, great breakfast
Cons: Get rid of the rubber mattress covers on the beds! If you sweat a bit at night, you stick to the bottom sheet. This really sucks!
Location: Greyhound races were fun and fast-paced. Casino was so-so (like every other casino) but they did have $5 blackjack tables.
Very nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Great free breakfast. Dog races were fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: comfort and cleaniness
Cons: The only thing I would add is more selection for in room dining service.
Location: perfect location
Excellent Facility Served all our needs. Room was really comfortable. Valet service was really friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rustburg, VA

21st Birthday celebration!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Cons: My only suggestion is for security to be briefed on Va residents with vertical licenses.
Location: We did not have a need to leave Casino.
I had stayed here once before and brought kids back for 21st Birthday celebration. It was closer, cheaper, smaller environment for first time casino experience. We could easily keep up with each other and had a wide variety of casino type games to play. It was perfect environment to teach them BlackJack, Roulette, Dog Racing, and slots without being intimidated. The Casino staff was very nice and so willing to teach them how to play. The hotel staff was very pleasant and efficient in checking us in and out. Even the maintenance personnel would would gladly say hello. Free breakfast was excellent and wide variety to start you day. Being able to join the Players Club without being a High Roller was a nice benefit and worth joining for the benefits. I only gambled 1 1/2 days and spent under $200 total and earned enough points for a free meal. I really enjoyed the dog races, with covered pavilion, bar, experienced/efficient dog ticket personnel. Restaurant personnel were very friendly and accommodating for our group of 8. They were quick and the food was very good and well priced. My only suggestion is for security to be briefed on Va residents with vertical licenses. Our licenses will be vertical until it is renewed, which means a person can be over 21 with a vertical license. All four of my kids where unnecessarily scrutinized during security checks coming into casino and at bar. I understand the importance, but can be improved.
5 out of 5
by Edward

Don't touch that frig!!!!

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
This Hotel has a vending machine for a frig. If you put something in the fridg to keep cold, you get charged 25.00. Do they need money that much? Hotel was nice, but the frig is a rip off!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
by john

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mildred

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 3, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brenda

Night owls wanting to swim!

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time, just wished that the pool and jaccuzzi was opened later than 10pm. It opens at 6am but where it is located it should be opened all night or at least till midnight. We did have a great time and will do it again.
4 out of 5
by David-Sharon

Best breakfast

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Stopped on our way to a cruise in Florida. Clean room, quiet, friendly and informative desk at check in. Free breakfast with eggs made to order...excellent. . Chef was very good and quick, rest of breakfast foods were hot and very good. Casino is attached if that's what you want to do. Shopping in area but you need to drive unless you're into walking a lot. Would stay again if in area