Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz

Exceptional retreat with stunning views.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: The Chateau is located in the heart of the French Alps with easy access to the city of Geneva and the villages of Annecy, Grenoble and Chamonix.
Everything about Chateau des Avenieres is a delight from the old world charm of its Chateau rooms to the totally modern chic of its Maison suites. My suite had a private rooftop terrace jacuzzi and an in room sauna for absolute luxuriation. The views of the Alps are beyond description and compliment the already serene ambiance of this property. The hosts are warm, engaging, and accommodating. Dining options are limited but exquisitely prepared. I can't wait to get back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

An extremely nice place to relax

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The hotel, its staff, restaurant were all great. The whole family enjoyed our stay at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rhode Island

Castle on the hill.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Honestly I would not change a thing.
Location: The river walk area in Annecy was quite delightful. Somewhat crowded on Saturday night in July but definitely worth it.
Our stay here was superlative. The view was fantastic, the hotel was romantic and idyllic, the staff was extremely attentive and helpful, the room was extremely spacious and comfortable. We only had the breakfast and everything was excellent and most was locally sourced. Especially try the apple juice. We are already planning our next visit for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Beautiful, with amazing views.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing.
Location: It is about a 30-minute drive to Geneva. There isn't anything immediately around the chateau.
Our stay was in late April. Weather is typically mild during this time, but it was cold and snowy during our stay. This was a pleasant surprise. We woke to several inches of snow and it was gorgeous. The restaurant is small and has a massive fireplace which was lovely to sit by. The roads were passable so we drove to Geneva, a short drive from the chateau, for a day visit. The road up the mountain to the chateau curves and twists, but is manageable, even with the snow. The staff was awesome, so helpful and attentive. We felt like VIPs. The chateau is gorgeous. The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The food was top notch - phenomenal. We were in Europe for 2 weeks and this hotel experience was our most favorite. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Beautiful castle!!!. Great room and views.

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Everything was fantastic. Great room. Friendly staff. Excellent Views
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a beautiful spot

Posted Feb 26, 2017
We were three friends who shared a duplex. It was in a separate house but that was Ok as it was very well made. We hade a very nice breakfast next day and will definitely come back .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Spectacular!! fabulous accommodation, beautiful scenery and classic chateau...
5 out of 5
by Peter Vilhelm from Copenhagen

An unexpected luxury experience.

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
A great getaway from the hustle and bustle of life. The hotel is located serenely on a hill top overlooking the Annecy lake. It consist of the main chateau and a luxury annex that gives luxury a new meaning. The staff is friendly and has a big heart for their guests. Our only misgiving was that the pool was only knee deep and not really a pool - However, the area, the hotel, staff and food compensated amply for the missing pool.
4 out of 5
by Piotr from Detroit

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the hotel and the service. The only thing that was irritating was very poor internet service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth W.A

Nice and quiet, away from anything.

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Pros: Location, Size, grounds, walks, food and mostly staff.
Cons: Inform guests how far away from the airport it is and maybe suggest they have a shuttle service. Didn't really understand the food card situation.
Location: Didn't know It was so far from the airport. Travelled by bus for 1 hour and then left in the rain to get the rest of the way ourselves. Saw nothing.
Wonderful staff. Made us fell very welcome, nothing a bother; even though we felt out of our league. More enjoyable with transport.