Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Jason

Bathroom has no door, tub needs a warning

Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
The bathroom has a privacy curtain but no door! Quirky little hotel. Check in is next door at the casino. Two stars because some really easy improvements needed. First, put a door in the bathroom. Second, add a sign in the room explaining the chromathetapy tub has a clean cycle that will automatically count down after the tub was last wet. The jets spontaneously came on after we were already in bed, and scared both of us! Luckily, the internet gave the answer to the haunted tub. Third, some weatherstripping around the room door could help. Whenever someone enters the main door the pressure change in the hallways causes the room door to hit against the frame. For the good: check in next door at the casino was very easy, and manager was personable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 26, 2016
The room itself was reasonably spacious and comfortable. Large bathroom, deep tub and separate shower. Registration via the Casino was a little inconvenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cozy and clean hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
great location, room was beautoful
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, United States

Attractive room in a comfortable setting.

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: Located right on the border of Nevada and California, it's close to Lake Tahoe. I was there for business so didn't get to explore the area.
The hotel and room were both attractive and properly priced. The bed was comfortable. Large and nicely appointed bathroom. Everything was going great until the security system malfunctioned and began beeping at 2:16 am. Security had it fixed within 15 minutes but it totally interrupted my sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2016 by Stephanie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of the Border House. I apologize that our alarm interrupted your sleep. We have since rectified this issue so that it won't happen again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

What a gem of a hotel, at an affordable price.

Posted Sep 29, 2016
The rooms are fantastic and quiet. Check in is through the casino next door, so the only staff you see in the adjacent Border House are cleaners during the day, which was just fine for me. Just a lovely place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Stephanie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review! We take a lot of pride in our rooms and it is wonderful to hear when our guests enjoy those touches. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you to beautiful Lake Tahoe!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Dark...

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: Everything!
Location: On busy street!
Dark room with little lighting, no door on the bathroom, shower flooded the bathroom because of ill-fitting shower curtain. No amenities...super expensive!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by Stephanie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of the Border House. I apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. We take all reviews and comments very seriously and I have passed on your comments on to our management staff. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

Odd sort of place attached to a casino, but quite

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: size of the room, location, quiet
Cons: make the check in desk more obvious
Location: skiing and the casino
We didn't really know what to expect at the Border House, but overall we were happy with what we got. The odd bits were that the Border House was just that- it looked and felt like a private house. There was no check-in facility inside, we had to go into the casino to find the check-in desk, so that was a bit complicated. The other odd thing was that there was a gas fireplace in the room which was also open to the bathroom, overlooking the bathtub. In theory this could be quite lovely if you were at the hotel as an intimate couple, but we were there as a family with nearly adult children, so it led to some embarrassment to basically to visual access from the bedroom to everything going on in the bathroom. But other than that, we really liked the place. It was surprisingly quiet, reasonably convenient to Squaw Valley and Northstar. There was a little restaurant inside the casino that had great breakfast and dinner specials and there was ample garage parking close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Stephanie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel !

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Close to incline village and kings beach . Very clean and modern rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Stephanie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Amazing room

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Absolutely love this little hidden jewel. From the decor, lighting and comfort. Very well done. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Just remember too go inside the Crystal Bay to check in. The Players Club counter.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Stephanie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, clean rooms, party spot.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Great rooms and beds. Kuerig coffee, robes, great soaps comfy bed and linens. If you want a quite night sleep, maybe not the place. Awesome party location. Mellow Fellow bar is close by with numerous beer on tap. Friendly locals and good conversation. Dogs allowed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by Stephanie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!