Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Clean and cozy

Posted May 9, 2017
It was the best deal in town for a descent room. Only problem I had was the fire alarm battery died and started beeping around 2AM. Frankly I was too tired to deal with it so I ignored it, but I'm sure it would have been handled had I said anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Started out horrible but had a happy ending.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Matt, the Jacuzzi and the breakfast.
Cons: Needs to be updated a little.
Location: Went to Grand Victoria. Matt also gave us some phone numbers of nearby restaurants that delivered since we didn't feel like going out.
When we got there, the cookie holder was empty. Not a good sign. Matt checked us in and he was very pleasant. He said that the phones on the first floor (where we were staying) weren't working. NO biggy. On the way to the room, we saw the sign that read the hot tub by the pool wasn't working. We were very disappointed about that. Opened the door to the room and the bed wasn't even made yet. Went back to the desk. Matt apologized profusely and upgraded us to a room with a Jacuzzi. We were very pleased with that. Very nice breakfast the next morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family Meeting

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The facility needs updating and cleaning! The rooms were large. The bathroom needs updating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not bad

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Beds , room
Cons: shuttle , hot tub
this is close to the train and even in walking distance , disappointed the Hot Tub was not working and they advertise a shuttle , well I did not want to walk from Train Station cause it was 25 degrees and you had to go thur a field , 7 to 10 minute walk with luggage . I asked about shuttle , was told no one was there to come get me and asked if shuttle was going to be working Monday morning and was told no again . So I am gonna say there is not shuttle . I had gotten taken by the taxi service at the airport so I was not gonna take that chance again , besides you could see Hotel from station . The room was good , the bed was so comfortable , but I may spend the extra 15 on the Holiday Inn next time , this is a family hotel and there were Hockey teams staying there with family's and it was busy , could not get to the breakfast or a table cause even thought they finished eating , they stayed at tables visiting , not Hotels fault
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed and shower leave a lot to be desired

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The bed was horrible and the handicapped accessible shower was ridiculous for entry and the hand held shower holder was wore out so that the only way you could use it was as a hand held. they say a remodel is coming but it may be about 5 years to late.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 25, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room, such as the bed and the handicapped accessible shower. This is not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure all guest rooms and amenities are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Excellent service, quick check-in, breakfast was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

Not clean

Posted Feb 10, 2017
There was hair in the shower and on the vanity. Also in the beds. Went to store and got my own sheets. Shower head was awful. Cheap replacement that didn't fit
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Hi Chad. It is good to hear from you. We apologize that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of your room during your stay. Your comments will be shared with the hotel management for improvements. We hope you will give us another chance if you are in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2017
I continue to return to this hotel. It's always comfortable and clean and the staff is always friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Niagara Falls, NY

Frustrated

Posted Jan 31, 2017
Pros: I LOVED everything else about the hotel other than not being notified that there was construction being done during my stay. The staff was wonderful.
Cons: Posting on the hotel's website when and what type of construction work will be taking place so a decision about booking can be made.
Location: Crystal Lake was a beautiful area with lots of restaurants and shopping within a short (5-10 mile) distance.
I stayed in the Crystal Lake, IL location after booking a room online through Expedia after checking out the hotel's website. We arrived on Saturday, January 21, 2017, and had booked for four nights to attend a family funeral. The photos on the website were accurate, and it exceeded my expectations. I was thrilled with the accommodations and the complimentary breakfast, along with the very comfortable queen sized mattresses. However, there was roof construction going on starting on Mon - Wed, Jan. 23, 24, and 25th beginning at 8 a.m. and continuing until 5 p.m. three of the four days we were there. Granted there was a sign apologizing for the inconvenience when we arrived, there was nothing on their website indicating that construction was being done while we were there. Had I known this ahead of time, I would certainly not chosen this hotel. We were exhausted from a 10 hour drive, and emotionally spent from the loss of our loved one. Sleep was desperately needed and we got zero for those three days. I am very dissatisfied as a result and believe I should receive a partial refund at the very least. We ended up needing to stay an additional three days, and I booked us at the Holiday Inn because of the noise. In addition, the hotel only had 3 floors, and we happened to be placed on the 3rd floor right above our heads was where the construction and banging was taking place.
4 out of 5
by Duane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels