Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice basic hotel. Clean & comfortable.

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Convince
Cons: Add a pool
Location: Close to restaurants.
Only disturbance was someone smoking in there room setting off the fire alarm at mid-night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Halls smoky. Couldn't breath.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
People kept putting rocks in doors to keep outside doors open .. dangerous .. no security.
4 out of 5
by Martin

Posted Jun 22, 2017 on Hotels
The room met my needs. Hot coffee in the morning was very good., along with a waffle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I'll go back!

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Except for the fan that ran right below my bathroom - the hole in the floor and the idiot from another room that called me 4 times in 10 min - it was a great stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Anything but Super

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Close to downtown Crystal Lake.
Cons: Ban smoking and air out the property beforetaking boookings again. Who allows smoking these days anyway?
Location: Crystal Lake area.
Basic no fills hotel. Property smell like cigarette smoke throughout, even though I was reassured that the smokers were only on the second floor. Otherwise, clean rooms...a place to lay your head and not linger any....
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment we will pay closer attention to the air circulation from our smoking wing of the building
4 out of 5
by Bonnie

Not fancy but all you need.

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
We have had poor experiences lately at Super 8, so we were hesitant to book again. We requested 2nd floor so there would be less stomping overhead. We were very comfortable, and the room was clean and the mattresses were great. The only complaint is that the bedding (spreads and blankets) had many cigarette burn holes on both beds. This was in room 208. We didn't partake in the breakfast, so can't comment there.
4 out of 5
by Dennis

Changing ownership

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
Much better than expected based on previous reviews. Fortunately or unfortunately they said it going to be under a different brand management so time will tell how future stays will be.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Crystal Lake, IL

Way too expensive for the few amenities offered

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Shower head awful extremely hard to adjust and only works on certain settings. No non skid protection in shower. Phone didn't work even for local calls. I stayed in a smoking room and I understand I wouldn't get the newest bedding but they at least could have mended the burn holes and rips. I actually asked about it and was told they would change linens... They didn't. Housekeeping lost something if mine and when I called to see if they could find it they said they looked but it was gone did not offer a credit or replacement... Charge for washing powder for laundry which they were out of. Also found later other nearby places with better amenities for less money.
2 out of 5
by William

Cheap but comes with a cost

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
The room was pretty beat up. Needs to be updated. My non smoking room reeked of cigarette smoke.