Ratings based on 820 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sarasota

Disappointed

Posted Sep 18, 2017
This hotel looked great in the pictures and we were very excited to go. Here are some things you should know. The water view is of a canal and houses, lots of houses. The rooms that have sliding doors are extra and trust me, you want the sliding glass door. The other rooms have a small window. What we could not get over was the smell. The first room we could not stay in at all. The second room was tolerable but only when we opened the doors and put coffee pods around the room. Needless to say we only stayed one night. It appears they are trying to remodel, but they are doing it in pieces. The commons areas are great, but the rooms can't compare. Clearly they need some help in remodeling practices. The manatee experience was great and the Tiki bar was awesome too. We greatly enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the fact that it was open until 11, while the Tiki bar closed at 10. There is work to be done here for sure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Coral Springs, FL

Great place for family vacation.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: It has a full service marina, free internet and parking. Great water activities, especially scalloping.
Location: Close to natural springs, Rainbow River is terrific.
We have stayed here a few times and love it. We typically come during scallop season. The resort is beautiful and has a marina with rentals and all types of charters. The pool area is beautiful and always filled with kids and nice families. My kids love going to the restaurant and getting kids meals then eating them by the pool. The food quality and selection is very good.. We also love heading to local natural springs. Rainbow River is close by and has an amazing lazy river tubing for $15.00. Overall this is a great place to visit, I would say the nicest place in the immediate area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Dated and very noisy. Difficult to get any rest as the walls are paper thin and the opening and closing of the other guests room door was annoying. Also the room was dated and very damp with mold in the bathroom. Stayed one night and was too tired to ask for a change in room. We stayed in the main building so I can't comment on the other buildings. Staff was very nice and check in and departure went smoothly. Would not stay there again...but if you are a boater I can see the attraction as it appeared very convenient and boater friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Salem, NY

Who knew?

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location, setting, staff were great, pool
Cons: Our first room smelled of mildew, but we were moved to another wing and had no problems after that.
Location: Manatee swims, boating, fishing, Grannie's for breakfast!
We've been to the Crystal River area multiple times and usually stay at the Hampton Inn. This time we wanted the ability to relax in outdoor space, especially at night. Plantation Inn totally fit the bill - lovely outdoor pool with a tiki bar, live music, beautiful setting. The rooms were very large with great blackout curtains. The doors are a little creaky, and sound travels quite a bit in the hallways, but for the most part it was very quiet. We would definitely go back and stay for a week!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ocala fl

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Nice hotel. Nice staff close to food and activity. Wish they had boat slips but they do have boat ramp and trailer parking. Nice place over all. Food from tiki,bar right by the pool.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Nousy, overpriced, reeked of dank odor, charged a lot more than wuoted
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Simons Island

Nice hotel, perfect boat docking

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Cons: The bathrooms!!! The caulking was dirty, the tile grout had mold, and the tubs were old and stained.
Location: Close to terrific restaurants either by car or boat. The hotel is right on the water so we kept our boat right by the room!
The hotel was great overall. The rooms were oversized but the beds are very small. There is plenty of room to upgrade the beds to queen size and the bathrooms are very lack luster and in need of updating. The mold on the tile and the tub was quite disturbing. The hotel grounds were beautiful and the location perfect. We didn't spend much time in the rooms so we weren't too bothered by the lack of amenities. Overall we had a great visit and would go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Rooms

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice clean large room. Staff was great.
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Use the Amenities.

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
A very nice resort hotel with a lot to do. If we ever go again we will plan differently. The $14 per person Resort fee was kind of a surprise. As I say, if we ever go there again we will plan our trip differently. The extra money to utilize the Resort amenities was disconcerting when we did not use any.
5 out of 5
by Christa

Always Gorgeous

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
We always stay at The Plantation when we visit Citrus County, wouldn't stay anywhere else. Relaxing and enjoyable!