Ratings based on 245 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CR

Nice in public places tired in the rest.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
sitting chairs in the room very uncomfortable. Food is very good drinks expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Well-maintained, clean hotel. On-site marina

Posted Dec 2, 2016
We had a wonderful staycation at the Plantation! Captain Ed at the on-site marina is fantastic and made sure that everyone had a fantastic time on our manatee tour. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly. Highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location and hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2016
Staff were friendly and very helpful and hotel is right were you go for the manatees tour
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dated -- would have been nice in its day ...

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Pool area
Cons: Staff attitude
Location: Manatees, manatees, manatees...
The staff were the most disappointing element of this stay -- behave like its a grander hotel than it is. The lobby and elevator flooring was filthy, although the rooms were nice. The pool area was nice, although the pool towels were child size. Its a good location for Crystal River and parking is free and plentiful. The wifi was good, as was the cable TV. Noise travels from the lobby but I stayed at a quiet time, so it was not a real issue. Took a manatee tour and rented a kayak on-site, which was convenient. Would stay again dependent upon rate and time of year.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

ANTS and musty smell

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: the layout of the property
Cons: extreme mustiness and pest control problem (covering our room in ants) and mostly the fact that the customer service didn't do anything about it!!!
Location: we had a good time trying to see manatees from our pontoon boat.
I am not one of these people that leave bad reviews. Im a pretty positive person and very flexible. And in their defense, I had read some reviews about this "musty smell" of this old hotel... it almost sounded kinda romantic, knowing that this is an old building etc... but the mustiness combined with the ants and the fact that we had our 5 week old baby with us, made even me feel bothered by the condition of this hotel. THE MUSTINESS - well the smell was pretty STRONG in our room, too strong to be romantic. But ok, reviews had warned us. We tried to kill it with the AC cranking it up. But that scent was strong. THE ANTS - The thing that really bothered me were the ants. Ants in the bathroom. Don't leave your toothbrush out. God forbid you're a new mom with a breast pump, they will climb all up in there. I noticed that the hard way when I was pumping in the dark to keep my baby and husband asleep, and then realized that I had been covered in ants. Over our two nights there, the ants spread everywhere. From the bathroom to the beds. On my baby. Into our bags. They are tiny little ants and they are fast. I couldn't wait to check out. The front desk merely ASSURED ME that the NEXT person would not be staying in this room until pest control would get to the room. Really? What do I care about the next person, seriously CUSTOMER SERVICE. Offer the customer SOMETHING to turn their experience around. An apology, a small discount, a meal, SOMETHING... disappointing...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Short stay

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Short stay nice clean room , wish we could look to stay to see dive shop
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: the pool
Cons: the bar is not the best
Lovely resort with a beautiful pool and adventure store right on the premises. The room was fairly nice and standard.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Cant see tru the window becouse was dory , bag on bed
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Hallways and room smelled very musty I'm assuming from the recent flooding. The window in our room was filthy on the outside and when we tried to open it, it fell to the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old style hotel in pretty surroundings

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The location and feel of old Florida.
Cons: Already mentioned.
Location: Love Homosassa Springs State Park. Also all the great restaurants in the town.
Very pretty hotel right on the river and across from a golf course. My room was quite large, but the chair was frayed, air a bit musty, and the tub wall needed a grab bar. The pool was a nice size but too warn and it was cloudy. Therefore it didn't feel that clean, but maybe it was, I don't know. We came on a Sunday for two days and unfortunately a lot of things were closed like the spa and the boat rides.