Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

My home in Cuenca

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere and friendliness of staff made this a comfortable place to stay.
Cons: My room (Armarillo) would have benefitted from a softer p
I felt very much at home in Casa de las Rosas, a small hotel with a friendly staff that felt at times like a private club. It was within walking distance or a $1.50 taxi to the bus station for excursions to Ingapirca and Cajas National Park. Although I wasn't crazy about the location at first, as I became more adept at getting around I realized that I could easily get where I wanted to go and bypass the noise and congestion. And it was close enough to walk to Fabiano's for a takeout lasagne.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Casa Rosas Cuenca, Hotel Management
Thank you, Dear Carol. It's been a pleasure to have you at our hotel. we feel proud of know that you liked our hotel and you enjoyed of Cuenca and its surrounding. We hope see you soon again. Warm Regards from Bertha, Fernanda and Diego
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Really a great experience!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
I don't quite many reviews but this was really a great experience. Each member of the staff was incredible friendly and helpful with their only goal to do whatever they could to help me enjoy my time in Cuenca and at the hotel. Nice breakfast with eggs and/or cereal. Coffee and fruit available all day. Location isn't as convenient as other places, I suppose but I still was able to walk everywhere and cabs are cheap anyway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent family hotel in centre of city

Posted Oct 22, 2016
This hotel is unique and run with care and attention to the guest stay. I enjoyed my stay immensely. Having stayed in over 40 hotels in the last 6 weeks this was the best
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Diego, Hotel Management
Thank you Dear Peter. Fills us with pride and satisfaction of knowing that you liked our hotel. We hope that you are well. Warm Regards. CASA DE LAS ROSAS HOSTAL BOUTIQUE.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel close to everything

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The hotel in its charm and design is beautiful. the rooms are large and well appointed. However, it is very loud, not only with street activity, but even within the hotel... Can hear almost everything that goes on insofar as conversations and general activity. The staff is ver, very nice and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I will never book 4 stars after this 3 star

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: 100% safe in a way I never felt safe before, and got 100% support to make my experience the best--at less than 25% of the usual cost!
Cons: Get real (espresso) coffee--Cuenca has a love affair with Nescafe instant, i missed "real" coffee at breakfast (but drank plenty Nescafe with hot milk
Location: City center attractions walkable 10 mins+ minimum. Plus, the hotel is on several bus routes (gas smell can overwhelm the room so kept window closed)
I have always stayed in high end hotels while traveling, a very different experience--there, you (the travelers) are anonymous, you have to lock up everything you own in a safe, etc. So this is my first experience (after 40 years of high end) staying in what could be described as a "pension"--locked room with large bed (with updated bathroom and excellent hot water every morning, very strong and did not run out), daily maid service, free breakfast every morning (eggs cooked to order plus cereal, yoghurt, fruits, tortas (pies) and traditional Spanish breakfast items like jamon, salchicha and queso (ham, sausages and local cheese), plus white and wheat bread. There were two things here that made me change my mind completely about never to use 4 stars again: The people here were like family, they really went out of their way to make sure I was comfortable and had whatever I needed, even to running errands for me at times they thought it was too risky for a gringa to be outside alone. They pointed me toward all Cuenca's attractions, and made sure I was savvy about the city itself. They told me where not to go, and got taxis for where I did go (and haggled with the driver over prices in advance and told me what the maximum payment should be)--it was very important to them that I not get the "gringo prices." Also, for the entire week, I never locked up a single thing--Mac laptop and iPhone, kindle, cash, passport etc--I left it all behind in the room and never worried.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service. Location OK

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Went on business. Stay was great. Location was not a issue as I stayed in hotel after a long day of customer visits.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Quaint little hotel but not in the nicest part

Posted Jun 2, 2015
I felt safe even though it was not the nicest area. The staff was very hospitable and helpful. The rooms are clean and here are roses everywhere. Overall, i would stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Awesome hotel.

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: location, staff, food and service were outstanding
Cons: Beds in twin rooms are like concrete, making my neck and shoulder hurt each morning. And rooms need sound proofing. Could hear other guests flush!
Location: Staff gives great directions and options. Plenty to keep you as busy as you want to be. Cuenca is a beautiful city.
This hotel was great. Great location, great staff...willing to help with every need of the guest. Location was good. So much character in this building, which sometimes can translate into not fully functional and modern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin

Charming, spotless hotel with helpful staff

Posted Nov 25, 2014
We stayed in the spacious family suite. The suite was huge with two large bathrooms, two bedrooms, a kitchen and family room and large terrace. The decor was lovely. We enjoyed a complimentary breakfast each morning. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Great value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Barbara from Dungog

Very quiet hotel.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Quiet, nicely decorated. Friendly staff. Very secure.
Cons: Some staff spoke ittle English.
Location: 15 minutes walk from Historic Centre. No suitable restaurants nearby.
An enjoyable stay. Nicely decorated rooms. Sittings rooms with tea coffe fruit and cake always available.