Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by tatiana

The place to stay

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
plesent time with family we enjoyed every moment
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family oriented

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Good choice for family with kids outside Cuenca (large playground, soccer field, garden, horseback ridding for kids, thermal spas near by) .Very hard to find! Located outside of Banos! Room was older and bathroom outdated. $$ a bit higher for area. Family run business with very friendly english speaking staff.
5 out of 5
by Maria from Tampa

Awesome place

Posted Oct 3, 2015 on Hotels
Wondeeful stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

The best of Ecuador

Posted May 22, 2015
I have spent the past nine months traveling and living throughout Ecuador. I can say Hosteria Campana Caballo is the premiere destination for anyone coming to Ecuador who appreciates fine food, great accommodations, unbelievable scenery, and serenity.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not too far

Posted Feb 28, 2015
this is a very nice place that makes you feel like you are In the country but you are actually only $5.00 taxi ride from the center of Cuenca. I liked the feel of the place. Not too busy and nice rooms.
1 out of 5
by Chris R.D O'Sullivan from West Palm Beach, FL

Beware

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels
This is first review of a hotel on Hotels.com, I travel ixtensively around the world, have stayed at hundreads of Hotels. My driver (long time friend)picked up me in Guayaquil, Ecuador we made the 3 hour drive to Cuenca, about a mile out of town we got off on a dirt road and went about 2 miles in the middle of nowhere.We arrived at the Hotel,my driver metioned he did not want me staying out in the bonnies, that it did not feel safe. There was no one at the hotel at all, all the doors to reception were locked,a man came around the side of the building with a shotgun,and asked what we doing there. My driver ran back to his car and I followed.A very scary situation that I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.Hotels.com tried to contact the hotel with no luck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 24, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rod from Los Angeles

Quiet escape from energetic central Cuenca

Posted Nov 28, 2013
Pros: Beautiful surroundings, friendly pleasant staff, good food, clean, clean clean.
We spent a week at Caballo Campana and enjoyed it completely. Nearby Cuenca is a beautiful, energetic, chaotic, small city. After a day in town it was wonderful to come home to the quiet tranquility of this lovely hotel. The staff, mostly family, were kind, courteous, and accommodating. They recommended local restaurants and a day spa, all were spot on and just what we asked for. The hotel is also very conveniently situated for access to El Cajas National park. My wife and I were in Cuenca for work. But the staff at Caballo Campana laid out our suite with rose petals on the bed and Champagne on the table. It felt like a honeymoon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Place

Posted Jul 15, 2013
Nice Place just outside Cuenca and Banos. The staff is great but the restaurant is not recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronaldo from Seattle

Paradisio,In the foothills above Cuenca.

Posted Jun 21, 2013
Pros: Flowers,rooms,people
Cons: It could be free?
Location: Location,location,location.You have access to any thing you might enjoy.The staff will do their best to accommodate..
I can not explain the way I was treated by all the staff at Cabello Compana.You MUST come see the wonderful people and take a rest from the sometimes troubled world.Pardon,I do not have the time or typing skills to tell you my gratitude to the people of Ecuador,and the friendly at Hostera Caballo Compana.