Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Perfection in Cuenca.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Very rarely do you come across smaller family run hotels where the family are very friendly and helpful and speak fluent English. This hotel is so well managed that their staff are so happy you can't tell who are staff and who are family. From airport pickup to transfer to our next destination all was seamless. Great breakfast,best shower we've ever taken, great view of cupolas from our bed,unlimited purified water, I could go on and on. Combine this in one of the nicest places to visit in South America end we were in heaven.
Cons: There is absolutely not one single thing e can say wrong about this place!
Location: Everything to see and do is walkable. Should you want to do a day trip the staff will advise and organize seamlessly and not overcharge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel in center of city

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Really nice colonial restoration near the center of town. Great restaurant and very accommodating staff. Only complaint is poor WiFi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice employees

Posted Sep 11, 2016
We encounter several inconveniences during our stay but they were dealt with. Moved from an "old room" to a modern one (way better). Overall an ok place. The employees were the highlight of the hotel. Ruben was amazing doing breakfast and Jonathan was incredible helpful. Cuenca is a nice city to visit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel muito charmoso

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Location: É bem localizado, a menos de 10 minutos do aeroporto e quase no centro de Cuenca, muito próximo das principais atrações.
O hotel é muito bonito e agradável, a limpeza é impecável e a equipe é muito prestativa. O restaurante anexo ao hotel também é muito bom,
5 out of 5
by Robert from Boise Idaho

HAPPY & SATISFIED

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent hotel with friendly helpful people. Fabulous restaurant. Very nice breakfast. Everything was better than expected. Great bed & super bathroom with endless hot water. Nice view & located perfectly for walking the city & yet quiet. Cannot say enough good things!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milano

Hotel in buona posizione, non distante dal centro

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Posizione, camera, doccia
L'hotel si trova in una buona posizione, non distante dal centro città. La camera era spaziosa, il bagno con una doccia spettacolare. Buona la prima colazione
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

very nice hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Love the hotel staffs, they are very professional, feel very safe definitely coming back to this hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Villa Rica, GA

Older hotel. Very clean. No elevator. Great staff.

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: The cleaniness, the ultra friendly and helpful staff, the restaurant, the free wifi (best on the rooftop terrace).
Cons: At the hotel, not much.
Location: Located in the central part of the city, this is the historical district. Beautiful churches, flower markets, many shops & restaurants of all types.
Very attractive older hotel in Cuenca. 3 floors, but no elevator. Fortunately, I was on the 2nd floor. Room flooring is wood and a bit creaky, but didn't seem to extend beyond the room I was in and therefore not a problem. The hotel restaurant is exceptional and prices are very reasonable. Breakfast buffet was included in my rate and varied every day of my stay. The staff is outstanding and very helpful. Paulo, Henry, and Jonathan are the best. All speak exceptional English which helped considerably when giving me directions. While cabs and buses are plentiful, walking is the best way to get a feel for the old historical district where the hotel is. Most businesses have at least one person who speaks English, but it's best if you make the effort to learn a few words and phrases of Spanish. The Ecuadorians are a very friendly people and will do what they can to help a lost gringo.... a situation I found myself in once when trying to figure out where I was in relation to where I wanted to be. Streets and sidewalks are cobblestone in most places, so keep one looking ahead and one looking down.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Entspannter Städteaufenthalt in Hotel mit Flair

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
Los Balcones liegt so günstig, dass man sehr viel zu Fuß erkunden kann. Wir hatten ein Drei-Bett-Zimmer, das trotzdem viel Platz bot. Das Hotel ist gut geführt, hat stilvolle, bequeme Zimmer, die um einen Innenhof liegen, in dem sich im EG das Restaurant befindet. Das Frühstück war prima, wenn auch die Brotauswahl gering war. Das Personal war sehr aufmerksam und freundlich. Gut ist auch, dass der Zugang zum Hotel nur über den Portier möglich ist, da die Haustür verschlossen ist.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only great things to say.....

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
This is a lovely little hotel. The staff is top notch. Great breakfast buffet with an added bonus that they will make eggs any way you want along with traditional juice plus new juices I had not tried. Check in was easy and the place has such charm!