Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

it is close to everything.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: the friendly staff and the location convenience.
Cons: just vacuum the stars instead of sweeping. it steers a lot of dust in the air.
Location: it all very good
it is save and very convenient to get anywhere int the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rooms not available when checked in

Posted Dec 31, 2016
We drove about 4hours to the Hotel and was told that the rooms are not available afterward they asked us to pay cash for the rooms.I called Expedia and explained the problem and they quickly find two rooms but they asked us to pay by credit card before we see the rooms. We never pay for an hotel room before checking out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, helpful staff, good value.

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
This was my second stay and the staff was again very friendly and helpful. Great location in El Centro, the heart of Cuenca. Free parking and the manager stopped traffic to help us out of the car park. A great value and English speaking staff ensures my return stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Prescott, AZ

Lovely little hotel, conveniently located

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location. It was lovely to look at on the inside.
Cons: The hotel served instant coffee at breakfast, which apparently is not uncommon in Cuenca. I would have preferred freshly brewed coffee.
Location: Parque Calderon was only about five blocks away. It was within walking distance of many things and will be one block from the Tranvia when it's done.
I loved this hotel and would happily stay there again. The staff was very solicitous, and by the time I left, I felt like the receptionists were my friends. The rooms are small but have a little refrigerator and a television. There is a common living room with a pool table of all things. I speak a little Spanish, but if you speak no Spanish at all, you might find it difficult because, except for one person, the staff spoke little English. I felt the location was perfect. About 50 feet from Simon Boliver and then about five blocks from Parque Calderon. The only way my experience would have been better would have been if they'd served freshly brewed coffee in the morning. The hotel served instant coffee, which apparently is not uncommon in Cuenca...
4 out of 5
by Hector from Canada

Colonial Character Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
Overall it was a great stay, friendly service, very safe area, hotel is very safe,good restaurant with very atttentive personnel. Ample colonial rec room with pool table,tv, lots of big sofas and chairs to read, relax, etc. On our first night our room was very small, with barely enough room for luggage and two people to move around, I asked for a another room the next day and we were given another room 1m wider and that made a big diffrence.
4 out of 5
by Ahmad from Toronto Canada

Great value for the money

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Cuenca is awesome and this hotel was right in the old town Cuenca and only few blocks from centre square and all the action. Great friendly staff. Great value for the money.
4 out of 5
by Donald from Boston Ma

Cuenca getaway

Posted Mar 15, 2015 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly and helpful and most spoke English. Lobby/reception area was open bright and inviting with an enormous skylight. Rooms, while small by US standards were well appointed, clean and had windows looking over the lobby/atrium which also allowed for natural light. Location was in the center of the old town convient to bus terminal and airport with resturants and shops at our door step.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito Ecuador

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Excellent costumer service, they will go out of their way to please the costumer.Very clean rooms, simple but tasty food. Very nice ambiance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Nice walk to river or plaza.

Posted Nov 23, 2014
Pros: High ceiling in lobby with lots of sunlight and plants.
Cons: Eliminate the constant audio alerts.
Location: Walking, shopping, eating.
Room very tiny but clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Complementary breakfasts were wonderful but time consuming. Don't be in a hurry with them. Lots of old beautiful wood and natural light in the common areas. Would be nice if the recorded song that plays whenever someone drives or walks past the parking area could be eliminated or at least shortened.
4 out of 5
by Fernando from Houston, Texas

Great hotel location, price and service.

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent value and service.