Ratings based on 83 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Clean and Spacious, but Average and Outdated

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The staff, the original artwork, and the hotel's restaurant, "El Carbon".
Cons: Add a grab bar and lower the threshold for entering/leaving the shower for safety, and add a brightly colored stripe/tape on the hall step.
Location: The hotel is ideally located only two blocks from Parque Calderon (city center); many, many restaurants; cathedral; and many other attractions.
I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. The staff at Hotel Cuenca were excellent and efficient, and the artwork in the hotel is very attractive. My room and bathroom were clean and spacious, the shower water pressure was good, and there was adequate hot water. However, I found the tub/shower area to be dangerous, i.e., slippery with no grab bars, with very high sides that added to the potential for slipping when stepping out of the shower. There was insufficient lighting in the bedroom and the bathroom, especially over the bathroom sink. Although there are many tourists from the U.S. visiting Cuenca, there were no English language TV stations. In the hallway outside of the rooms, there is a small step that is "camouflaged" by dark brown carpet with a geometric pattern that renders the step nearly invisible, causing me not to see the step, tripping, and falling heavily onto my knees. The step was not highlighted by any kind of fluorescent orange or yellow stripe or tape.
4 out of 5
by Christian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Very helpful staff

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Very convenient to historical sites. Room and bathroom were small, but very clean. Restaurant had very good food, but could use new seating. Can't say enough about how we were treated by the staff. All three shifts the staff was superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito Ecuador

Great location! Friendly Staff

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location, Breakfast buffet
Cons: Housekeeping staff should pay more attention to detail.
Location: Close to all museums as well as shops downtown. Easy walk to all the sites of interest.
I stay at Hotel Cuenca every time I travel for business. The staff is supper friendly and the hotel is conveniently located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the historic center of Cuenca

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: The location and the folclore look alike
Cons: Bar and restaurante been open 24/7
Location: great
Gread experience, great service, comfortable accommodations, suggested to return with your entire family
5 out of 5
by Irene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

Hotel staff was so helpful.

Posted Jan 10, 2016
Unfortunately, my wife was sick upon arrival and they let us check in early so she could lay down. The following day they called for a doctor and a staff employee came up to the room to act as an interpreter. They went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable during our stay. We would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Stayed two nights; rooms were large, up to date; breakfast was good; 2 negatives: the room was very stuffy and humid, needs a ceiling fan to circulate the air, loud if you're room is near the stairway; Location of hotel is perfect for walking in the city center
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, staff

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Pros: Clean and the staff was so helpful
Cons: parking
Location: right near el centro, safe and nice area. Museums, historic district was great. Great places to eat all around you.
Great location and about 2-3 blocks walk to el centro. Hotel was a quaint place, kept clean, but most of all the staff was great. Restaurant food was great. Only downside is lack of parking, but the staff helped us find a close location and even escorted us to the parking lots that were close and cost-effective. Parking will cost about $16 per day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Uio

Small hotel un Cuenca downtown

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Nice hotel good este, ver y good breakfast and near of Cuenca Catedral and museums