Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UIO

Nice location, very close to a supermarket

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Close to downtown, beautiful neighborhood. Breakfast was ok, the bread sooo good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fort pierce, fl

Nice Hotel, expensive for the services offered

Posted Jan 18, 2015
Nice Staff, very expensive for the Services offered
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My stay at Hotel La Casona

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Hot water
Location: The hotel is in walking distance to a Supermaxi, bank and pharmacy.
The room was okay and very typical for Ecuador. The bathroom was tight but okay. No hot water at all and that was totally unacceptable. The hotel staff were fabulous. As good as it gets anywhere. Most spoke English which was very helpful. Breakfast was very nice also. We met many very nice people at the hotel. I would stay there again only if they fixed the hot water issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brett from Florida

Very nice hotel a short distance from everything

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: The location is perfect if you want to be just outside of the downtown area. The hotel is located in a nice quiet neighborhood.
Location: The historic district is a 10 minute walk. Super-Maxi grocery store a few blocks from hotel. Very nice coffee shop across the street.
Hotel La Casona is a very nice hotel located a short distance from the center of Cuenca. The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist anyway possible. The hotel feels more like a bed & breakfast. The dining area is warm and inviting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by daniel from bogota

Nice hotelo near the Old City. Well located

Posted Aug 6, 2013
Pros: Well located, nice building.
Cons: Attendance to the clients. resolve issues. a MUST
Location: Old City, a historic place, the town is near a couple of volcanos and nevados
The staff is still not too well trained, I only stayed two of three days, and had no nice reply or assistance from the front desk clerk. I still need one day refund. Did not receive a bill nor invoice, I expect that it is not because they wish to keep money not caused. Else, ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joyce from New Braunfels, TX, USA

Wonderful experience

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Even though there was only one English speaking person at the hotel our every need was met. The breakfast was delicious, the bathroom had been updated and there were plenty of blankets. We slept soundly though we were on the street side of the hotel. We will gladly stay there again
3 out of 5
by Thajauna Miller

Unattractive neighborhood

Posted Dec 20, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel is significantly overpriced. I stayed here for five days and then moved to a hotel in the center of town for another seven days (that hotel was 60% cheaper, in a better neighborhood for tourists and the hotel was much nicer). The neighborhood is not inviting though I was told that this is one of the better neighborhoods of Cuenca - it is highly commercial, with no green space, or tourist attractions. My room was on the main street and very noisy - the windows are not double glazed. Hot water is available only in the morning. I used room service 3 different times and the food always arrived cold. Computer/internet access is excellent. All of the staff is friendly and helpful. The morning receptionist is especially helpful and he speaks English very well. I wish that I could rate this hotel higher but the physical plant makes that impossible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kathryn from Punta Carnero, Ecuador

Nice and Quiet

Posted May 7, 2012
Was very pleased with Hotel La Casona. It is not close to the Parque de Calderon, however a brief taxi ride and you are among all that is going on! They also have true hot water...not from a 'widow maker' shower! Breakfast was good! Outside sitting area very comfortable! One of the desk clerks recommended we hired a driver, Angel, who speaks fluent English and is very knowledgeable of the area of Cuenca as well as surrounding cities. He took us to the only family left that makes and weaves a lot of different textile (and they are also for sell). From making the yarn, to dyeing it, using material that God has put on this earth....totally and all natural! The mother finishes some of them off by hand! It appears to be crocheted, however she does it with her fingers!!! AMAZED!!! Angel also took us to visit the location where they grow Orchids! I had no idea that it took so long to grow an Orchid! They have several different types! AMAZED!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Lompoc, CA

Would go back

Posted Nov 6, 2011
Reception staff usually spoke English very well. Hotel located close to huge super market and mall with fast food and Tex-Mex restaurants that are familiar to those of us from the USA. Hotel is very close to the center of Cuenca so it's an easy walk to museums, cathedrals, Ecuadorian restaurants and shopping. Very safe feeling neighborhood including a bank with ATM machine very close to hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from florida

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 18, 2011 on Hotels