Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

What is going on?

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Front desk clerk
Cons: start over
The clerk at the desk couldn't have been more pleasant. We took the cigarette smelling elevator to the third floor. We passed a room with the door open that appeared to be a makeshift daycare center. I couldn't believe the amount of items in there-stacked to the ceiling like one of those "hoarder" shows. The room was adequate, although there was a bright light shining directly in the window. There were other rooms facing the parking lot that had bags of what appeared to be garbage outside, and some people sitting out there just watching. The other stairwell to the outside had no locking feature.It was sometimes populated by people smoking. This could have been a cover set for a zombie movie.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by aimee, Hotel Management
Sir we do have some people staying here and have been for a little while if its the room that I'm thinking off that room is very clean they are a family of 5 so yes they have a lot of stuff but the mom keeps it very together. My employees do sit out back to smoke cause we got to be able to hear the phone and the door bell i can tel them to make sure that window is closed to elevator and to make sure they spray the elevator room after they are smoking. The smoking is a everyday battle with the guest. We have a no smoking sign in the elevator room but still have problems. i will get with my housekeeping staff and have them help me keep the elevator room more refreshed.
3 out of 5
by James

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
outdated yet clean and quiet. Good value for the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Aimee, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I'll get with the owner and see what we can do to make the hotel more modern. to update the property
2 out of 5
by Steve

lavale

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
paid for the room on line when I got there they were out of the room I paid for so they gave me a room with a discount but when they gave me the new room, opened the door and someone was in the room asleep, but finally got a room, bed was terrible not very clean will not stay here again., but the lady at the desk was awesome her name was Amy
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Aimee, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry for all the mix ups that you had. Then to get a bad room i will be getting with the house keeper to make sure she does a much better job. Sorry to hear that you will not be staying with us again. Just want to say i'm very sorry you had to deal with all of that
1 out of 5
by james

this was not an ECONO LODGE! i have been baited...

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
this was not an ECONO LODGE! i have been baited and switched!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are in the process of switching names. At the point of your check in we were still an Econolodge. Just had a different sign due to the switch that is part of the process of switching you needed the new signage. If you didn't want to stay with us we would have gladly canceled your reservation and refunded you any money that you paid. Very sorry for the confusion.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not clean

Posted Feb 8, 2017
We stopped at this hotel because we needed a quick, cheap stop in the middle of a long drive. The hallways were dirty, trash overflowing in trashcans. Once in the room, there were trash bags on the floor in the bathroom, the carpet was dirty and hadn't been vacuumed. The bed linens were discolored, had several hairs on them and the pillows were flat and hard. An overall unpleasant stay. We woke up as early as possible and barely slept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by aimee, Hotel Management
So very sorry this happened to you. I will be looking into this. I will see if I can get a night time trash worker to help with the trash problem. I will get with my housekeeping staff about the hairs being in the sheets, those should have never made it on the bed. Once again I'm very sorry for the unpleasant stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location.
Cons: Staff attitude at sign in was horrible and the staff wasn't in any kind of uniform other than the cleaning lady.
Location: Walmart, the mall, apple bees, buffalo wild wings ci ci's
The room was very dirty( stains on walls, hair on the bed, and smelled like old cigarettes). We cleaned the room and put down our own covers and pillows on the bed. We then washed those covers and pillow cases at a near laundry mat. But after we cleaned and disinfected the room it wasn't that bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by aimee, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry you was displeased with your stay. I will get with my house keeping staff and let them know that they got a complaint so I will be doing inspections on both my housekeepers. Sorry you did washing of the sheets we gladly would have moved you rooms. We do not wear uniforms but I will look into getting us some so we all dress the same and look more professional. I will get with my front desk staff and go over how we handle check in process. Thank you for your feedback. This helps us improve and make our hotel better
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Is was close to hospital for my surgery. All staff was polite. Will definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by aimee, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We will continue to strive to keep our hotel nice. Ill also let my staff know to keep up the good work.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disaster Lodge

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
Awful hotel. Not clean. Smells of smoke. Loud people in room next to mine threatening each other with guns. Dogs barking and running loose in hallway. People were eventually moved away from me and not asked to leave after two calls to the front desk. Horrible experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry that you had to deal with that going on in the room beside you. We do the very best we can to solve the issue for you, we called and told them to calm down then when you called the second time I then moved them to a different room and also spoke with them about the noise and complaint. we are not always aware of what is going on so I thank you for calling and letting us know that there was a problem. There is procedures that we have to follow we just cant kick someone out. Once again I'm very sorry your stay was so bad
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
I only needed a place to close my eyes for a few hours and then hit the road. The room was nice and clean, and the bed was far more comfortable than a lot of higher priced places I have stayed. Bathroom was well cleaned, and things looked new and fresh. There's no breakfast (which I knew ahead of time and planned on hitting a drive-thru before getting on the road) so look before you book if you are wanting this perk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank You for taking our survey! I will let the housekeeping staff know to keep up the good work and to strive to continue to do good. Hope the next time you come through the area you look us up.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Low budget, low class

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Price was good
Cons: Keep the riffraff out of the hallways and do not allow smoking. Provide extra chairs and a little remodeing could be used. Maybe a little bug extermin
Location: NA
Hotel was clean enough but we did find a bug in the bed. There was 2 of us and only one chair so not comfortable. Very noisy because of kids and families in the hallways smoking and being noisy. Hated the cigarette smoke and all the cigarette butts on the carpet. Was not a pleasant experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by aimee, Hotel Management
I'm very sorry for the bug in the bed to let you know we do have a bug inspection company that comes every month Since its winter I'll see if I can get them to come twice a month. I do understand about the cigarette smoke we are trying very hard to keep our smokers on third floor.