Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guiseley

Great hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Lovely hotel and grounds, the staff were very welcoming. I can't think of any one thing that could be better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockport Cheshire

Beautiful location, a real retreat

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: The quiet relaxed environment.
Cons: A few more signs indicating where the bedrooms were!
Location: Set in beautiful scenery with all the attractions of the northern lakes. A whisky distillery is just down the road.
We had a lovely spacious room looking out over the grounds. It was at the top of the hotel and quite difficult to find without a member of staff to guide us up and down the various corridors and staircases. The communal areas of the hotel in the old section were warm and relaxing - a large log fire heated a surprisingly large area. The spa was in a more modern section of the complex and provided a wide range of options. The staff were efficient and discreet. Food was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N Yorkshire

Exellent hotel enjoyed the druught beers in Bar

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Spa compliments hotel , Staff particularly good, Food Exellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, stunning location

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Location: Beautiful location, lots of walks
Room was lovely as was the spa. Great afternoon tea.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don'f trust the web. Check with the hotel...

Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
Booked a room with evening meal and breakfast included. We were told upon arrival that men had to wear formal wear in the dining room for dinner - jeans were not permitted. There was no mention of this I the Hotels.com website so we didn't take any with us. The hotel staff were not apologetic of the lack of information on the website. It's a bit late telling people about this requirement upon check in! As a result we were not allowed in the dining room which ruined our weekend as this was part of be experience we booked.
5 out of 5
by Michael from manchester

Enjoyable and relaxing stay

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
have stayed at the hotel before but improvements have been made to the leisure facility and Spa. food excellent and the views are beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Made our anniversary weekend perfect, wonderful.

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: I can't think - you are even guaranteed 2 parking places at the front of the hall while you are here. Alpacas are playing in the field as you park.
Location: Next door is a wildlife park. Printed walking guides have been written especially for the hotel by a local guide, (starting from the front door).
If I was forced to find anything less than perfect about our weekend, I would struggle. The room was a little too hot for my liking - but I like a cool room. Even though we had no sunshine on Friday and Saturday and it rained all day Sunday, we literally never noticed due to the fantastic welcome, facilities, historical beauty of the hall and astounding scenery right up to the doorstep. Every single member of staff was professional to the core, friendly, personable, efficient and attentive. I dislike fawning service and scripted responses, these staff are themselves, highly trained, proud of their standards and every one of them able to make you feel really special, nothing was too much trouble. The surroundings are exceedingly impressive, high class - from rooms to restaurant to lounge to cocktail bar to spa. Incidentally, the spa is a substantial cut above the rest, obviously a major investment here. We drank Prosecco served to us as we languished in the enormous outdoor hot tub with an infinity edge opening onto the woodland estate with rabbits playing on the grass just in front of us - I had to drag my wife away from this place at the end of our stay. Thank you everyone for a wonderful long weekend.
4 out of 5
by Simon from Leeds

Bit expensive for what it is...

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels
Nice old hotel, great spa facilities, esp outdoor hot tub and indoor pool. Dinner was included which was pretty good, not sure I'd have been happy paying £47 each but as it was included, yeh, it was nice enough. Breakfast was OK, have had better, thought the portions were a bit small and to charge £5 extra for some other dishes (bearing in mind our room was £300+) felt a bit cheeky. Staff were nice enough and the upkeep of the place was pretty good. Would probably go again, we were on a nearly fully paid up hotels.com free night but I wouldn't pay £300 out for it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A day in the life

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
The restaurant food was excellent
5 out of 5
by Stuart

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels