Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Excellent spa and views

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Arriving and checking in was easy, great staff on reception. The hotel has amazing views and is in a really nice location, very quiet and peaceful. The hotel itself is maybe a little dated but all very clean and tidy so we didn't mind that. The spa was very modern and facilities great. Hot tub is fantastic with its view over the lake. The room was modern enough with everything we needed. The only thing was we ordered a double room and the beds were in fact two singles pushed together. I understand that if the hotel was full they might not have had any double beds left but it was a thurday night. We ate at the restaurant due to our booking being half board, the dessert was amazing! The other courses however I found to be average, the started both came out over cooked and greasy. The main course was ruined in my option, we both order fillet stake and paid extra for this. The steak came out cooked to how we liked it however the chef felt the need to poor half a gallon of peppercorn save all over the steak. In a way this ruined the meal for us, neither of us like that much sauce and it had oil on the surface of it too. Surely anywhere you eat steak they serve the sauce separately? if the meal hadn't of been included I wouldn't have been happy paying £35 each for it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Still under renovation.

Posted May 28, 2016
Much better than our room at Old McDonald up the road the night before. This hotel is under renovation and has been for some time. Be sure to ask for a renovated room, we did, as we read previous reviews. We did hear others comment in lobby at disappointment of unrenovated room. It looks like the renos are being done slowly. The overall condition of the hotel is good. Nice. Rustic. Food is top notch. We only stayed for one night and didn't use pool etc. free parking. A quick drive into town. There is a bus that goes too.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overhall

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: swimming pool and views of lake.
Cons: Almost everthing.
The hotel needs drastic action to revive it.The one plus is the stunning views over the lake.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

brilliant views

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Good acsess
This hotel was the best way of having it all views location hospitality amazing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Lovely hotel lake views.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Enjoyed our week . Would recommend a car due to poor bus service . Also the bathroom had no grab rails which made it difficult to shower my 84yr husband who has Dimentia .
3 out of 5
by Iman

Nice place rude staff

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Nice pLace rude staff
3 out of 5
by Ronnie

Good but could be better.

Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
I was disappointed that the hotel leisure facilities where closed for renovation and this was not mentioned when booking. The wait to be seated at breakfast was too long and the wait for your breakfast even longer. The staff where polite and helpful. The stay was spoilt as we went to the hotel to relax in the pool and chill.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Our first room we were given was very old and tired looking. I went to reception and asked for another room and they were very quick to upgrade us to a refurbished room which was so much better although the bed wasn't very comfy. We were disappointed the spa was closed and must have missed 'the memo' about it being closed. Amazing spot on the lake but due to it being a little old and run down I won't be returning.
3 out of 5
by carly from Northallerton

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
We were disappointed with our stay.we paid alot of money but even though we got it on an offer.the room was less than basic.the bed was extremelt uncomfortable and the fan was very noisy.we waited over 50mins for our breakfast which was said to be 10 mins.when we brought it to there attention they werent apologetic and didnt seem to care.
3 out of 5
by Matthew from Rutland

Lovely but with one significant disappointment

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
Picked this hotel based on its location and the fact it had a swimming pool.... However, when we arrived discovered the pool is not in existence! Very disappointing as this is not indicated on the website and the reason we picked this hotel over others.