Ratings based on 116 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Harrogate

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Lovely views over the Lake. Excellent food.
Cons: Very old fashioned and dated, but in a funny way that was part of the charm. Need to be fit to navigate stairs.
Enjoyable. Have no wish to add any more - please find out for yourself.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely lakeside spot staff let the place down

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Stunning spot on lakeside
Cons: Breakfast
Nice hotel that should employ staff that speak English Breakfast was poor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely View Terrible Rooms

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: Food, and the View
Cons: Cleanliness and quality of room
Location: Historic homes, trips on the lake beautiful views.
First room was horrific, mould on curtains, mould on woodwork, bath old and stained needed total update and overall, Manager agreed should not be let in that condition, supported move to another room, slightly better but not as described in pictures of hotel, left totally disappointed and would not go back. View from room beautiful, food good, shame about the most important aspect your room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful weekend on the lake!

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff (on the whole) and great spa facilities. Just noticed that the spa area was largely un-manned and that towel supplies etc weren't topped up / bins emptied out as regularly as needed sometimes. We had to change rooms because of an issue with the window in our first room and noticed a stark difference between the rooms that had been refurbished and those that hadn't! On a negative, our bed sheets and pillow cases weren't changed during the stay and that was disappointing. Wifi also very patchy / erratic!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great Location and view

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: the View and the hot tub
Cons: Breakfast service/layout
Location: Very good, close to Bowness
The View is wonderful, the outdoor hot tub at the spa is great. the room cleanliness was disappointing with a cobweb on the inside of the window and the ceiling, the headboards on the bed were very loose and in need of repair. Breakfast could be improved, on our first day we had finished our breakfast before our coffee and toast arrived.
3 out of 5
by Anne

Potluck on the room you get

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Lots of steps from car park to reception, no lifts 3 or 4 lots of stairs to rooms not suitable for older people. First room given stank and carpet was full of marks bed looked old and not nice bedding but was given another room and was happy,think it's just potluck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great location, lovely hotel good value

Posted Feb 26, 2017
We stayed for 2 nights in a family room with our 2 boys 9 & 11. Room was a little dated but huge, with a balcony overlooking the lake and mountains beyond. Parking good, breakfast excellent and a great selection of board games to play in the bar/sitting room in the evening which was great for family fun. The pool and spa were fantastic and loved by our boys, sat in an open air jacuzzi was great on a wintery February day overlooking snow capped mountains. Apart from the hotel room being dated (but not unpleasantly and the views and location compensated for that ) I would struggle to find fault with this hotel...we had a great stay as a family and would certainly return
1 out of 5
by John

Horrible hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Shocking old tired hotel, family room was 2 double beds so the kids had to share a double bed!!! There was only a tiny tv and the bathroom was filthy and had dangerous cracked tiles across the floor and a large chip in the bath not good with children, we woke up cold and damp carpet across the window as condensation running all down it as was a single pain glass, was very noisy at gone 10pm and hotel phone was broke so had to use my mobile to call reception to get them to sort it.
4 out of 5
by Suzanne

Excellent stay

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Hotels
Food and service excellent. Lovely lake view. Excellent pool and spa.
3 out of 5
by Suzana

Great pool facilities, below-average hotel.

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Other than the fabulous pool, steam room, sauna and outdoor jacuzzi, this hotel is very tired and out of date. Although, the therapist isn't even there all week, so I had to go to another spa to get a treatment on a Wednesday! The restaurant is quite poor (although the desserts are great) and the layout is shockingly bad - you are made to sit in what is essentially a corridor when there is a large dining room available, just because it's closer to the kitchen. Normally, restaurants seat you as far from the busy kitchen as possible. The carpet in the restaurant (and the rest of the hotel) was ripped and probably hasn't been changed since the 80s. The music in the restaurant didn't change for the three days of our stay - a classical album of movie soundtracks. I'm not kidding. The cocktails at the bar were not good and overpriced. The room we stayed in was a good size, with plenty of (unnecessary) storage. The en suite was basic at best, with a too-short shower screen, exposed plastic piping and a very dusty extractor fan. No reliable wifi in the room - this hotel really is stuck in the past. The bed also had a too-small mattress topper and there was a gap in between the two parts of the bed.