Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Overnight stay. great room, brilliant gym and spa facilities for price, and great breakfast!!!!!!! Can't fault it 👍🏼
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from wakefield

Lovely hotel situated in the centre of Ambleside.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: The location, the bedroom , the food and the staff.
Cons: Can't really think of anything that would improve this hotel.
Location: The hotel is central with shops and restaurants nearby, also lots of walks nearby.
Our first stay at this hotel and we weren't disappointed . The hotel has a lovely feel and we were particularly impressed with the lounge areas. The room was well equipped and the deco was very nice. Breakfast was really good and all the staff were friendly and helpful. We will definitely hope to stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Lancs

Well located and lovely amineties

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Would go back again for another break. We stayed in the lodges which were pefect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough

Central within easy wslking distance of local rest

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Comfortable hotel with a warm welcoming atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Preston, Lancashire

A very comfortable and well appointed hotel.

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Everything, but the food and the friendliness and efficiency of the staff was outstanding.
Cons: The room we had was not as big as we usually go for but it was lovely with a wonderful view of the Town and its backdrop.
Location: Our first visit but there are wonderful places within striking distance. The views superb - a most wonderful part of England.
This was our first visit to the hotel after being highly recommended by my daughter. Being retired she new exactly what was suitable and it did not disappoint. The staff, the facilities were top notch, the room, whilst clean and well appointed slightly smaller than what we usually have but, never the less, we will be returning. The food was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Really great hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: I liked everything about this hotel
Cons: No negative comments about this hotel
Location: Very convenient for getting to local areas. Ambleside itself is a lovely town.
This must be one of the best hotels in the Lake District. Enjoyed my stay very much and will certainly return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel in a great position.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The quality. The position.
Cons: The traffic in Ambleside.
Location: Great location for walks and visiting the lakes.
Very relaxing stay in a beautiful hotel. Staff were first class.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Good Base for Exploring Lake District

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The restaurant is excellent. Basic menu is augmented daily by specials. Prices very reasonable for quality. Very good public lounges and bar.
Cons: Could do with more rigorous hovering of annex floors/stairs on occasions.
Location: Centrally located in Ambleside with shops on the doorstep. Very good bus services - free with bus pass. Good views from Wansfell Pike behind hotel.
Excellent base for older people who may no longer have the capability of reaching the Lake District's high points. Lower level walks are available around Windermere, Grasmere and Buttermere just as examples. At weekends in warmer months the entire area becomes congested with traffic and people. Difficult to find parking at many walking centres. So visit mid-week if you can. Bus rides at weekends are a way of avoiding some of the traffic/parking and release the driver to enjoy views from the top deck.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A lovely hotel in the centre of Ambleside

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Friendly ambience and location Quality of bedrooms and the general cleanliness of the hotel Excellent breakfast buffet with good choice of hot food
Location: Vast choice of site-seeing Walking and water sports Armitt museum/library for Beatrix Potter exhibition Good public transport links
Although the hotel is situated in the centre of Ambleside, it is quiet and peaceful. Onsite car parking is available for residents. The hotel is friendly and welcoming, and has benefitted from recent updating of facitlites so that it has excellent comfortable rooms, and a variety of other amenities that you might not expect of a small rural lake disterict hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bucks

Good hotel, good facilities, excellent location.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Good stopover, however marred by the unwanted fire signal at 12:30 am, which was reportedly caused by staff and has had a lasting impression on our 7 year old daughter who was very upset to be awoken thinking the hotel was on fire.