Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton.

Beautiful setting ......

Posted Oct 12, 2015
We only stayed one night but nothing was to much trouble. Staff very nice and room clean .... Comfy bed and good shower. We paid extra for breakfast which was plentiful and yummy. Would definitely recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Nice, was ok for an overnight break. Stayed there for a wedding and was happy with service
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Excellent stay.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Location and service and gardens.
Bedroom very clean and comfortable, bathroom spotless, service in restaurant friendly and professional and food better than expectation. Gym and pool a bonus, all in all a very happy stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

One night away with my teenager daughter.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Overall good experience. Disappointing breakfast not included. Being told £10.50 each for breakfast or £14.00 in the morning doesn't add value to the customer experience. This approach does not make the customer feel valued or 'special'. Felt like interest lay in profit. Also daughter only likely to eat toast so £10. 50 not good value here. Good gym and pool facilities.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel and Grounds.

Posted Jun 27, 2015
Pros: Staff and Service.access to
Cons: Advance notice of drop off point at reception prior to parking. This would help elderly to get to reception
Location: Very good location for the Lake District in general.
Excellent Hotel - parking a little difficult for elderly patrons but Staff and Service was five star.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with good facilities and amenities

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: How modern it was, the cleanliness and the spacious rooms.
Cons: Alexander could be brought in line with the main hotel. Felt the pub area was quite pokey.
Location: Great walks and Kendal town centre only a couple of miles away.
Excellent hotel and location. The staff overall are very professional, courteous and go out o their way to ensure you have everything you require. A couple of the younger staff require slight more training on their customer service. Being alert when customer's are waiting. Overall a very pleasurable time and would definitely visit again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester

Convenient base for Kendal and the lakes

Posted May 5, 2015
Really nice hotel. Spacious room - good value. Excellent views and grounds. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very good food at breakfast. Didn't use bar or restaurant so can't comment on that. Gym facilities good and busy. Pool OK, not well lit and not totally children friendly with only limited access times for them. No sauna only a steam room which was out of action during our stay. Overall, ideal for what we wanted.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Very comfortable, well looked after hotel.

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: The comfortable, opulent,spacious layout in a beautifully, well stocked landscaped setting.
Cons: The bath had a shower facility overhead but because there was neither a safety mat available or a safety floor in the bath we found it became slippery
Location: The hotel is up a hill on the outskirts of Kendal, an interesting, historical town with good shopping facilities. There was a market on Saturday.
We had a relaxing stay for two nights. The room was well appointed, clean, spacious,, especially the king sized bed. Breakfast food available was plentiful and enjoyable although service during busy times was very slow. We were surprised to see that during the busiest time only one chef was working, flat-out, when two would have improved the situation considerably. Having not stayed in a Best Western Hotel before and therefore being unaware of their facilities available to guests we were very grateful for the friendly assistance and advice given to us by one particular member of the serving staff in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Lovely, comfortable room and great food. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
by Shadow

Busy place

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on HotelClub
We stayed here whilst a large wedding party was in progress. Thus the hotel staff were stretched. Room was somewhat stuffy, and the grounds looked better in the photos than in reality. Parking was very difficult. Quite a walk into town.