Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
47% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Good hotel central to the town and railway station

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Central to the town.
Cons: Outside decor.
Location: Good location plenty to do .
First impression of hotel from the outside was not good, could do with a good facelift. Once inside was impressed with interior a bit tired but nice.The room big and comfy.Nice white towels.Would recommend it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wallsend

noisy room

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Very central. tea & coffee facilities in room Beds comfortable nice white towels
Cons: refurb room
Location: near shops
our room was at the front of the hotel.Saturday night was like a night out in Malia or Aya Nappa. Loud music , people screaming & fighting , ambulance & police car sirens , noise till 6am in the morning.Absolutely terrible. Our friends had rooms at the back and they were fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

The County 'will do' and long may it continue..

Posted Mar 19, 2017
This hotel is well located in the city centre with off street parking. The staff are polite and on hand. The room was large and warm enough with large blackout curtains. Noise from the clubs and bars was ever present and this will be an issue for some but despite our windows being old single glazed ones that rattled in the wind the noise wasn't too bad. Staff were pleasant in the night when we returned in th early hours and this made a nice change from the nearby ibis hotel who overtly resent their guests joining in with the revellry outside. This hotel once was very grand and time has taken its toll, we found it to be very clean, spacious and comfortable and excellent value for money. Other hotels in immediate vicinity are more polished around their edges but are almost twice the price and frankly their not worth it. Advice to the hotel, perhaps a revamp on the bathroom decor, renew the expired bath panel, flooring and taps as they have reached the end of their life and possibly reached that in the late 90's, but it was clean and with some jiggery pokers it all worked, it just didn't look great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Don't bother

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Awful. Twin room instead of double. Couldn't sleep because of music being played until 4am. Room wasn't clean, dead bugs and urine in the toilet!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

City centre location, convenient for the station

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Convenient for tourist attractions and night life. Fairly basic but hot drinks, snacks and toiletries provides. TV in room required a Freeview box what had not been set-up properly - I replugged the aerial and retuned the set top box myself so that it had the full range of channels. Hotel is a Victorian era building with faded grandeur. Rooms and en-suite bathrooms could do with a modernisation, but comfortable enough.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap and close to bars but has its flaws

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Apart from the rowdy drunken Scottish men in the room next door shouting, banging on doors and playing their music full blast and the fire alarm going off at 4am my stay was great! The hotel is in need of a refurb as it is dated, mismatched and smells a bit stale and foisty but you get what you pay for and if you're in need of something cheap and cheerful close to the shops and bars then it's ideal. The staff are really friendly which is a plus
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Double charge?

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
Booked and laid on line though when I tried to check in, the night porter insisted I had a further £27.. I knew I didn't but he refused to give me a key Eventually when I finally got checked in, I was welcomed into my room with a nice t urd waiting for me
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scottish borders

central hotel with free parking access to shops

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: being central
Cons: see above
Location: near the railway station, central for the shops, near the cinema and football ground
the receptionist was very helpful we had reserved two rooms but asked if we could change to a family room, this was done with no questions, £120 then asked if we wanted breakfast £8 each for 3 coming to £24, was charged £164 which I questioned, £20 was refunded. we got to our room which was on the top floor with outlook to the front of hotel, clean beds and towels but don't think the carpet had been hovered, the floor in the bathroom was dusty in the corners, the taps on the wash hand basin had not been cleaned, I used a tissue to turn on the tap to get water to clean teeth, the plug of the kettle was black, very poor standard of cleaning overall, the breakfast was acceptable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2016 on Hotels