Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay very much,

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: Only stayed one night so didn't have much time, walked round the village which was pretty,lovely woodlands around the hotel
The room very comfortable clean and pleasant view with a balcony
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Having read previous reviews I was expecting the hotel to require updating decoratively and was therefore no surprise that this was he case. In fairness decorators were present for the three days we stayed. The hotel was none the less still impressive as a building, with lovely grounds and views and with expenditure could be stunning. It was clean and the staff were very friendly .The food both in the bar and in the restaurant was excellent.My only gripe with the room was that we had a double room and instead of a double beds had two single beds that had been pushed together. We enjoyed our stay and or what we paid I would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only stayed a couple of nights but more than happy

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Spacious, clean, good views from the sea facing areas
Cons: I was happy with my stay and have nothing that I did not like?.....
Location: The Royal oak pub nearby is a must, good beer, food, atmosphere, service. You may need to book as gets busy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern England

Classic hotel - older "grand" style

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Gave us a Bay View as requested, although this hadn't initially been available - classic grand style - could do with some building investment - staff very friendly and helpful - nice grounds & view - secluded & peaceful - well situated at a good price for easy access to Windermere, Ambleside and South Western Lakes - a good base for touring by road and for walking the hills/mountains - we enjoyed a great Saturday touring (including Great Langdale, Wrynose and Hardknott passes (not for the faint hearted), and swim in a river on the moors - and then a beautiful Sunday walking the Langdale Pikes. A Great Lake District weekend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Staff need a refresher course on hospitality!

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Managed to have a nice weekend despite rude staff on reception and in dining room. Room was nice and big bathroom. Food average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night was enough

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Great TV, not particularly large, but great choice of English TV channels, with easily available subtitles. Clean bathroom, complimentary biscuits.
Cons: New floor, all a bit creaky, washed out carpet flooring. Thin room door, only key lock no card lock yet. Breakfast very English, little choice.
Location: Hotel is about 10 mins walk from town center. Hotel itself on top of hill in a forest like property. They property is large allowing for leisure walk.
We stayed one night for workshops and party in the hotel. The hotel at first sight appeared huge.Which immediately reflected in the maintenance of the property and interior. All appeared a bit outdated and antiquated. They had a beautiful ballroom in the basement that was nice, although some of the wall colour was flaking on the wall the wooden floor could have done with resurfacing. They had a restaurant which was really required as it takes a fair 10mins walk to town along a busy country road. Restaurant food was great, had fish and chips and they actually served 2 battered fish fillets with great meat to batter ratio. Staff generally seemed overwhelmed with the workload both at evenings and in the mornings. You would find lots of unwashed dishes and glassware standing around. Standard room was decent size, creaking floor, movements in the corridor could be easily heard. room door could only be locked from inside on small door latch. Corridors were dark and had feeling of an old hospital ward. Hotel has 2 handsome peacocks.
4 out of 5
by Eddy from Sheffield

Short stay in Grange over Sands

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed two nights when meeting friends in Grange over Sands and would recommend this hotel as a place to stay - location, tea and coffee, breakfast, price were all good things. Some of areas of hotel are looking tired and a process of renovation is in progress. The bar was good with some interesting local guest beers
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good for an overnight stop

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Helpful attentive staff, five stars for them
Cons: No mobile signal, at least not for my provider
Spent one night while in transit. Faded Victorian splendour with real peacocks on show, several coach parties of elderly holidaymakers - none the worse for that
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bolton

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Breakfast was good but I'd surgest when customers are seated u ask them if they want toast and if they want white or brown use thick bread instead of thin and give toast each not between them