Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bishop Auckland

Three Days of Chrismas

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere.
Cons: The decoration and carpets need attention.
Location: Lovely setting in small village, near Kendle. Also near Lake Windemere with its steam boat trips, beautiful walks and amazing surrounding scenery.
We arrived at The Damson Dene Hotel as it was getting dark on Christmas Eve, we were directed to the overflow car park. On entering the hotel and the warm and welcoming lounge and reception area with its open fire and a miriad of Christmas trees our check in was smooth and organised. Our cases were taken to room 8 which was well appointed with all you would need, the bathroom was small but functional always with hot water. Christmas Day started with a hearty breakfast with plenty of choice of either light or cooked breakfast available with fruit juices and a choice fruit and cereals. Christmas lunch was served at 1.00 prompt, this was a five course meal with several choices or starter, main, and pudding courses. This was a exellent meal well cooked well presented and served by plesent and polite staff. My husband ate again at around 6.00 l didn't need to, he said there was lots of choice of cold cut meats salad and fruit. Boxing Day was a little less attended, but the food stranded remained high. After breakfast on the 27th we took our leave from the Damson Dene Hotel having had a lovely Christmas in lovely surroundings and with staff and management leaving a lasting impression on us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Away from the hustle and bustle,

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were excellent and were very helpful. The breakfast was excellent.
Cons: Out away from town which made it very quiet and peaceful.
Location: As I already said before the hotel is in country setting which makes for a quiet stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Great hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Had a great stay food was lush and staff were very friendly would definitely go again Wish I could of stayed longer
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Location for the Lakes for a quick stop

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: The location to lakes.
Cons: Plenty of things. Please see statement above
Location: Great location for the lakes and easy access to lake windermere.
Disappointed overall. The hotel is outdated and in need of a number of improvements. The hotel has poor room sizes, cleanliness, room temperature control (too hot & no aircon), room noise (lack of sound proofing), doors slamming and not sealed allowing light through on night time, fire alarm located in middle of room above the bed flashing every 15 seconds, bathroom was always hot and too small, the shower glass leaked all over the floor, the poor ventilation of the bathroom caused excess heat and steam which only made the room temperature worse, the bed was 2 singles pushed together which split through the night when anyone moved. To reduce the room temperature we had to open the window which allowed bugs in, the window could only stay open a few inches due to the hinges which meant we had to put a piece of plastic to keep the window open. The swimming pool was cold and the cleanliness of the sauna and steam was very poor. The cleaning staff although where very helpful the need to hover at 8am outside of the bedrooms was not pleasant when checkout was not until 11am. The new building work that is taking place out the back of the hotel also caused noise which pilling started at 9am which constant banging and vibrations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing staff .lovely food

Posted May 4, 2016
Loved it from start to finish the food was lovely and the hotel was really cosy
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely New Year Break

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Stayed New Years Day for two nights for the first time The staff and manager are friendly and helpful They can't do enough for you We joined the pub quiz on the Friday evening (great fun) & the murder mystery meal on the Saturday (lovely food and great entertainment) It's a dog friendly hotel and our dog enjoyed him self just as much as us! The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was included. Buffet style & this suits us We used the sauna and pool both mornings and towels were provided by reception This is rated as a 3 star hotel and I think this is a pretty fair description of the hotel itself. Although I would personally give the team a 5 star :) thank you for having us! And hope to.to see you again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ely

Good off-season stay

Posted Dec 6, 2015
We stayed there in November; the hotel was warm and the beds comfortable. Breakfast was a plain English Breakfast. with good ingredients but a relatively limited choice. However, it was a good basis for a day out!. The hotel is set alone int he countryside; you have to travel 10 minutes or so by car to reach alternative restaurants at Windermere, Bowness or Kendal. The hotel restaurant provides good quality food at a price, but the menu is very "English", majoring on roasts.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet location

Posted Aug 13, 2015
Quiet location friendly staff in the main room on two levels which was good as travelling with our teenager. Only thing bit odd no windows upstairs only sky lights. Pretty location about 5 miles from Bowness
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Small hotel in Lake District

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Stayed here overnight en route to Scotland. After reading previous reviews were very disappointed. Our room was very small. Basin in bathroom was cracked and smelt musty in bedroom and bathroom despite open window. Not enough room to sit in bar area in the eve so ended up in a very quiet reception lounge area. Very tired and in need of a facelift!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Comfortable, Welcoming and Well Catered

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Booked a weekend here for my boyfriends 18th birthday present, we are quite a young couple but we loved the hotel, made good use of the English Breakfast and the leisure facilities! Location is okay but was quite a drive to the places we chose to go out to as the hotel is in a very rural area but great for walking! We were bowled over by the 4 poster room although a little disappointed with jetted bath and shower! Overall the experience was comfortable and we had a lovely weekend, we didn't want to leave and we are already planning our next visit!