Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston

Nice B&B, close to town with parking

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Loved the room, the bedroom facilities and comfort, the breakfast and the garden
Location: Very close to Bowness and the Lake. Very well located
I was a little concerned having read a few reviews and having received a text asking when I was intending to arrive, which some other reviewers mentioned. I arrived and was greeted by a lovely lady who welcomed me and showed me to my room. The room was a real surprise, rather than a shabby looking room I expected, I walked into a lovely room with a delightful four poster bed and modern decor, with an en suite bathroom. Tea/Coffee facilities and a hairdryer were also in the room. Breakfast had to be chosen the night before but was freshly cooked and the young waiter was polite and friendly. The dining room was quaint and clean, the guests all friendly and not a sad face in sight. The gardens were beautiful and there was ample parking. We checked out at 10 and asked to leave our car for a couple of hours which she agreed. Free parking in Bowness is a rarity. Really enjoyed our stay and will book again, good value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
The beautiful garden of Elim House,got my attention in the first place. Friendly staff and very welcoming,accessible location . Good breakfast. I recommend it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

What a wonderful stay!!

Posted Sep 8, 2016 on Hotels
I stayed here with my boyfriend over 5 nights and had a wonderful stay. It was a great location to go cycling from and to grab food at any time of day from the local town. It was about 20min walk into Windermere as well which means you didn't have to drive. We had wonderful nights sleep and breakfast was incredible which was topped off by friendly staff who made you feel right at home. Wonderful getaway and would definitely come back again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Damp and dingy

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Room in annex at rear of property, small, damp and dismal with view of dustbins. There is no central heating, just a small electric panel heater that did not work (knob had melted). Smell of damp overpowering, all our clothing was affected. If we had seen the room before booking we would never have stayed. However, we had a three hour journey to get there and had paid in full up front for 3 nights (big mistake). We only stayed because we wanted to see the Tour of Britain cycle race, otherwise we would have gone home the next day (and lost our money). Cannot understand previous positive reviews. Can only think perhaps there are a few nice rooms in the main house? Doubt it though, as the dining room smelt really damp too (even though we paid for bed and breakfast, we went out for breakfast after the first day). Our room was so depressing that one evening we sat in our car listening to the radio as it was better than being in that room. Shower had black mould in too. Would never recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Traditional b&b in centre of Bowness

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location was good, in quiet street but very central for town.
Location: We did lots of walking from Bowness, Rydal and Grasmere. Crossed the lake on the Windermere ferry - lovely and quiet on the other side.
Judith texted us in morning to get time of arrival and was at the b&b to greet us. We stayed in attic room 5 which was large and comfortable although head space was limited in one part of room. Good ensuite with shower. Comfortable bed. Good choice of freshly cooked breakfast. Private parking at rear - we were always able to get a space. Judith was friendly and helpful. B&b was very close to all amenities in Bowness and only a 20 minute walk into Windermere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that friendly

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel extremely dated .major refurbished needed. Would not recommend or stay again. Did wonder who the customer was !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Good location with very nice staff

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Nice staff, we arrive quite late and they were waiting for us to give us the keys and quick instructions about the room. Nice breakfast, very personalized with the option of choosing the ingredients we want included. Nice atmosphere, with small but cute rooms with nice views, and clean recently refurbished bathrooms. We had our own parking space, really important if you travel there during busy bank holidays. Overall our impression it is very good and we certantly will look forward to booking again this place in the next visit to the Lake District.
5 out of 5
by Gregory from Southampton

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful guest house with a stunning front garden situated a short walk from town. Our room was a great size with a huge bathroom and we had a very convenient private parking space to the rear. The staff were wonderful and the breakfast was very satisfying. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely guesthouse in excellent location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Lovely guesthouse. Clean and comfortable. Made to feel very welcome. Short walk to lake and town center. Would definitely stay again.