Ratings based on 157 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Blackburn

Set in a great location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location
Great location, friendly owner, lovely room, great breakfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Excellent 2 night stay

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, excellent breakfast and very clean comfortable room. Couldnt ask for better
Cons: Everything was great, nothing to dislike. Perfect find and would recommend to friends and family
Location: Very near to the lake and shops and bars and restaurants
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rossendale

Elim House

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Lovely hotel warm, comfortable and friendly. Great breakfast to set you up for the day. Close to everything with bus stop at end of road but still peaceful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Doncaster

Last minute get away

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Clean . Comfortable any lovely breakfast
Location: Central location plenty of pubs which were warm friendly and welcoming
Everything we needed for a couple of nights away comfortable and helpful staff. Comfortable bed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely lady and really helpful

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Pros: It's locali
Cons: Nothing
Location: Very close to everything
Close to everything and very comfortable and relaxing
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from japan

最悪!

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: 全くない
Cons: 全てを清潔に、最低限のことはしてほしい。
評価がまあまあ良かったので予約をしましたが.....最悪でした。 今までどんな小さなホテルでもベットのシーツは、真っ白でアイロンがビシッとかかっているのですが、 こちらのホテルは黄ばんだ柄のシーツで、いったい何日使っているのか分からない様なシーツとカバーでした。 結局、気持ちが悪くベットの中には入ることが出来ませんでした。 部屋もかび臭く、暖房も元から切られて使えなく、壁には電気節約と書かれ、悲しくなるようなB&Bでした。 写真に出ている外観は、オーナーの家で、その脇の2階の薄暗くかび臭い建物が宿泊するところでした。 はっきり言ってここまで違うB&Bは初めてです。 評価も当てにならないと思いました。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Preston

Nice B&B, close to town with parking

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Loved the room, the bedroom facilities and comfort, the breakfast and the garden
Location: Very close to Bowness and the Lake. Very well located
I was a little concerned having read a few reviews and having received a text asking when I was intending to arrive, which some other reviewers mentioned. I arrived and was greeted by a lovely lady who welcomed me and showed me to my room. The room was a real surprise, rather than a shabby looking room I expected, I walked into a lovely room with a delightful four poster bed and modern decor, with an en suite bathroom. Tea/Coffee facilities and a hairdryer were also in the room. Breakfast had to be chosen the night before but was freshly cooked and the young waiter was polite and friendly. The dining room was quaint and clean, the guests all friendly and not a sad face in sight. The gardens were beautiful and there was ample parking. We checked out at 10 and asked to leave our car for a couple of hours which she agreed. Free parking in Bowness is a rarity. Really enjoyed our stay and will book again, good value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Damp and dingy

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Room in annex at rear of property, small, damp and dismal with view of dustbins. There is no central heating, just a small electric panel heater that did not work (knob had melted). Smell of damp overpowering, all our clothing was affected. If we had seen the room before booking we would never have stayed. However, we had a three hour journey to get there and had paid in full up front for 3 nights (big mistake). We only stayed because we wanted to see the Tour of Britain cycle race, otherwise we would have gone home the next day (and lost our money). Cannot understand previous positive reviews. Can only think perhaps there are a few nice rooms in the main house? Doubt it though, as the dining room smelt really damp too (even though we paid for bed and breakfast, we went out for breakfast after the first day). Our room was so depressing that one evening we sat in our car listening to the radio as it was better than being in that room. Shower had black mould in too. Would never recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traditional b&b in centre of Bowness

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location was good, in quiet street but very central for town.
Location: We did lots of walking from Bowness, Rydal and Grasmere. Crossed the lake on the Windermere ferry - lovely and quiet on the other side.
Judith texted us in morning to get time of arrival and was at the b&b to greet us. We stayed in attic room 5 which was large and comfortable although head space was limited in one part of room. Good ensuite with shower. Comfortable bed. Good choice of freshly cooked breakfast. Private parking at rear - we were always able to get a space. Judith was friendly and helpful. B&b was very close to all amenities in Bowness and only a 20 minute walk into Windermere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not that friendly

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel extremely dated .major refurbished needed. Would not recommend or stay again. Did wonder who the customer was !