Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by carol from barrow in furness

disgusting

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
never stayed in such a dirty place in my life , we were in room 5, our photos says it all , but will not let me put them on here, they are on trip adviser tho
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Nice pub, welcoming and good food

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Enjoyed our stay, food was great, meal in the bar and breakfast. Didnt sleep well she to mattress and pillows being hard. We both suffered aches and pains in the morning.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Edinburgh

A gem.

Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable stay. Owners and staff were welcoming and provided excellent service. The head chef was away on holiday however the food provided was tasty and reasonably priced. Good selection of local cask ales all kept to the high standard expected of a pub in CAMRA's Good Beer Guide and considerably cheaper than Edinburgh. The rooms were comfortable and there were no encounters with any of the ghosts said to live at the pub.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Not sure how this is graded as a 4 star. It was a bit grotty. No breakfast provided. Nice staff though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location for south lakes peninsula

Posted Oct 30, 2015
Lovely pub, very friendly staff. Room very small & in need of a good hoovering. But would still recommend a visit.
2 out of 5
by Sheila from East Cheshire

Engine Inn review

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived at a very busy time on saturday afternoon. There had been a shoot on.Getting in was a bit difficult and we didn't feel very welcome.The room was not clean. The carpet was not hoovered and the surfaces were dusty. There was also a damp patch in the bathroom. On the positive side,the bed was reasonably comfortable and the breakfast was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
Good base, clean and comfortable
3 out of 5
by Barbara from Manchester

Posted Oct 18, 2015 on Hotels
Comfortable overnight stay, nice location, friendly landlady and a hearty breakfast.