Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester

Nice location and food, but tired and dirty.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
We stayed in room 3 with the four poster and whirlpool bath. The decor is very tired and dirty and looks like it's the end of the season not the start. Told manager but he just laughed! Breakfast nice but only available for 1 hour so a big rush of people and the staff struggled to cope. Try somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2017 by Basil Fawlty :-), Hotel Management
I am pleased to say that the room is now scheduled for a refresh. (But I did not laugh?, I smiled to say thank you!). And you are welcome to come earlier for breakfast, just task.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Clean Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable, nice people, good breakfast not too far to centre of Bowness if you don't mind a step hill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, excellent location, very friendly

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Cons: Internet connection can definitely be improved (was really slow and unstable).
Felt like half way between a hotel and a family BB. We loved it and the staff were really nice and took care of all our requests. We walked from there down to the ferry to the other side of Lake Windermere and did beautiful hikes and in the evening we enjoyed what the town has to offer. Note that it is located in "Bowness on Windermere" (the listings can be a bit misleading).
5 out of 5
by Theresa from Skipton

Lovely stay, great location.

Posted Aug 6, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely place to stay, friendly staff,great breakfast, spacious room. Free parking and very close to town for bars and restaurants. Also very close to boat trips. Will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming and Tasteful

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The full English breakfast with delightful, polite waiters. The food was a joy!! And loved the subtle smell of roses in the lobby.
Cons: There was bare wood in the "penthouse" and looked a little unfinished and ignored compared to the rest of the lovely hotel.
Location: Crowded town! The Lake District is becoming a victim of its own beauty. And beautiful it is!!!! I cannot imagine any place on Earth more beautiful!!
This facility was charming and quite lovely. The temperature was perfect but the weather was cool. Being in the "penthouse", which was a converted attic, may get uncomfortable on a hot day. Tall folks, beware! Though very spacious, the attic status makes one with height have to bend much of the time.
3 out of 5
by Tony from St.helens

Posted Jul 1, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable two night stay the hill is a bit steep leading up to the hotel if you have mobility issues
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good break

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for 4 nights as a short break . We were lucky with the weather which allowed us to make the most of the great places in an around the area. Hotel was up a fairly steep hill which would be the only reason we would not return.
5 out of 5
by Kate from Carlisle

Lovely Guest House

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was a lovely experience. Lovely hosts. Made you feel very welcome. Would definitely recommend to my friends as a pleasant place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016
Thank you for your kind words, we hope to see you again soon.
5 out of 5
by terry from Liverpool

Great hotel close to centre

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel , great breakfast, fabulous shower only downside was the hill the hotel was on. It was fine for me and my friend but was too much for my elderly mum . It's not far from centre just very steep
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2016
Thanks, the hill is a good good at keeping our street nice and quiet.