Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

Overnight relaxing stay before a day in The Lakes

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Location close to Kendal and it was a good start point for a day of sightseeing in The Lakes.
Cons: The quality of the room and the public rooms was what I expected for the price I paid. I would not wish to be critical.
Location: Easy to find the Gilpin Bridge Inn as it is located a few hundred metres from a major road. I would suggest a few hours in Kendal for shopping.
The quality of the staff is the key to the success of the Gilpin Bridge Inn. Nothing seemed to be a bother for every member of the team. As we were shown to our room I asked for a recommendation for a bar meal and the curry was excellent. Had eaten a meal earlier in the day and did not require another large dinner. The service was good and drinks were brought to the table. There was a wide range of ages enjoying their dinner .. they all seemed to be happy with the food and the service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Standish

Lovely inn hotel.

Posted May 16, 2016
Stopped on 14th may 2016. The girl who greeted us and served breakfast the next morning was excellent. The food we had at night was great and the breakfast was spot on. Lovely location. The bar bit is about as perfect looking as youd get a pub. The bathroom in our room was 'retro' but we quite liked talking about it and what colour we had in the 90s lol. The bedrooms are lovely too. Defo come back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeenshire

Nice Hotel for exploring Cumbria

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Pros: Not too far from Kendal,Lancaster and the Lakes - lots of parking space and child friendly.
Cons: Would have liked to have walked further along the river but footpath was blocked after a short distance and went back onto the road again.
Location: Buses from Milnethorpe to Kendal (no parking hassles) - trains to Lancaster from Carnforth and our favourite place Leighton Moss Reserve .
Lovely Staff, really Good Food and the weather for April was exceptional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In a quiet and good area

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Nice little hotel in great location if you want to be far from the population 😊.friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel friendly and very helpful staff

Posted Aug 9, 2015
We had a fantastic holiday would recommend it to anyone
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Enjoyed our stay here staff very helpful & surrounds very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tiny room

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Very clean
Cons: Giving people a suitable room for their stay.
We were extremely disappointed with the room. Despite booking a three night stay (extending it to four nights) weeks before, we were given a tiny room and tiny shower room! The room had a double bed, bedside table and a small table for tea/coffee. There was nowhere to hang or store clothes, not even a chair, just a few metal coat hangers above the kettle and lamp, useless. The window faced a wall two metres away and we looked straight into the window of another room. The security lights below the window shone straight into our room through the thin curtains lighting up the room all night. This room was not suitable for two people. There was no room! We lived out of our suitcase, barely room for that on the floor between the door and sliding shower room door. We had to draw the curtains if changing as there was no privacy. We unsuccessfully asked if we could change rooms or put something up at the window. We had so looked forward to our few days away and we couldn't even see a blade of grass from our room, it was like stayng in a box!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancs.

Ok, but...

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Pros: Evening dinner was good, if not particularly cheap.
Cons: Downstairs rooms could do with redecoration.
Location: Gilpin Bridge is on a main road: there isn't much in the immediate vicinity.
Adequate, but not great, value for money: had to ask for bath towels, and the room was rather small.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

2 Day visit to area

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: Quiet and reasonably priced
Cons: Rooms need updating
Location: Handy for Grange Over Sands, Cartmel and lower Lake District area.
At a function in Cartmel and this was the nearest available accommodation. The location is a little out of the way but was idea for us as we were moving north after our function. Very laid back approach of staff suited us and whilst the buildings and rooms needed updating they were more than adequate for our stay. Excellent breakfast and very pleasant staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy location for travelling north

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Cons: Food disappointing, and breakfast service slow.
Mixed experience - we liked the location, the room was ok, but the food was not good