Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A luxury break

Posted Apr 12, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent stay. Impeccable service. Superb dinner and breakfast. A truly luxurious weekend away made even better with a free room upgrade offered on check in.
5 out of 5
by peterfisher from Port Erin

Outstanding but expensive

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in an amazing location.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Barbara from Canada

Spectacular hotel, great food, outstanding service

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
This is a truly amazing hotel, run by fantastic staff in an old fashioned, pampering style. From the moment you arrive, you are treated like royalty. The food is spectacular in every way. The hotel is a little off the beaten track, in the countryside close to Windermere. This is a good thing if you want total peace and relaxation. If you want to be in the centre of the tourist action in town, this is not the place for you. It's worth every penny!
5 out of 5
by Miss BG from Harrogate

Luxury treat!

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
What a lovely hotel. Incredible staff, gorgeous surroundings. Food is very good. Drinks prices are quite high, but very delicious so it wasn't a problem.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northants

Excellence in all areas

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Fabulous place to stay, top notch but relaxed and unstuffy - service, food, wine, accommodation, gardens were all first class.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Lovely hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Stayed here with my husband and two Children in their early 20s. We all loved it. We all had lovely rooms in the hotel. The dining was excellent. It's very close to Lake Windermere which was beautiful and Beatrix Potters house and garden was delightful as was the pub next Potters house. We will definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, Maryland

Beautiful Gilpin's in the beautiful Lakes!

Posted Jun 10, 2015
Pros: All said above - there's nothing not to like!
Cons: Clone it in Bethesda, Maryland.
Location: Wish we'd had more time in the Lakes, but weather was sunny, cool, perfect for hours of trekking - Gilpin's is near the ferry, so easy access.
Gilpin's is as good as it gets - and we've seen a lot! Garden room huge, with thoughtful elegance, sink into incredibly comfortable bed and pillows, lovely view of verdant hills, everything works including hot tub, and spectacular privacy! Dining creative, starred in my view, staff attentive, mostly experienced and knowledgeable about facilities and region. There's no uh-oh's in this beautiful hotel - we're going back!!
5 out of 5
by Edith from Skipton

A rare gem

Posted Jun 3, 2015 on Hotels
From arriving at the hoel until leaving this was a very enjoyable experence. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb. We can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
by Clare from Isle of Arran

Surprise birthday weekend

Posted May 17, 2015 on Hotels
It was my husband's birthday weekend and it was a surprise. From the minute we arrived till the minute we left we had a fantastic time. Every single member of staff we came across was friendly and helpful. The public rooms were wonderful and the bedrooms were extremely comfortable. All the Staff knew which room you stayed in. Each room had its own name and everything was automatically charged to it. We loved the idea that there were 3 small dining rooms and therefore you felt that you were being personally looked after. Dinner was delicious and breakfast was served at your table instead of having to help yourself to juice and fruit etc. We would certainly go back and would recommend it to others. Many thanks to everyone at The Gilpin for making my husband's surprise birthday weekend so wonderful. You have given my husband a difficult task of finding somewhere as good as you for my birthday.