Ratings based on 112 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derby

Highly recommended

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Good clean comfortable hotel conveniently located near the train station and the main shopping area. The only thing that let's it down is first finding and then parking in the car park at the back of the hotel as their are only 26 spaces and you can only get to it via the train station car park which you first enter and then exit before you get to the hotel car park itself. It would help if they provided a little map on their Web page to show you how to access the car park. Otherwise a great stay with helpful friendly staff and a quality breakfast in the morning. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottish Borders

Good, central location.

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Shower was very small and dated and took ages to get hot water coming through.
Location: Good for pubs, restaurants and entertainment. Next to train station.
Good central location. Bathroom a bit dated and needed upgrading. Breakfast was ok - not much choice - standard cooked and cereal - no pastries etc.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

Room had over powering sewage smell, shower useles

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The location right in the centre of Carlisle is fantastic. Looks a lovely building from the outside and reception/bar area is welcoming and reasonably updated.
Cons: Very dated and consequently needs easy to clean fixtures and fitting. Black all around our bath and shower no better than a tap, only giving out luke warm water. Free parking not always available even if included in the room offer!
Location: Carlisle a beautiful and compact city 30 mins from the Lake District. Will definitely revisit but to anither hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hartlepool

Next to station but also noisy pub

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Location: In centre - shopping centre near by. Eateries etc within easy walking distance.
We stayed on a Saturday night in a room at the front of the hotel, which unfortunately is next door to a busy pub and the noise of people in the street went on until 5am. There is some refurbishment required, particularly in the bathroom. Basically the hotel served it's purpose - within walking distance to football ground and in the centre. In retrospect we should have driven out of Carlisle after the football match and stayed in a country hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: nothing
Cons: they should improve the service & cleaning
Location: next door to a busy train station lots of young folks drinking etc etc
scaffolding outside bathroom,woke up at 6.50 am by workmen the bathroom was so filthy ! no response from reception my young daughter was so frighten when see went in the bathroom & men was out side the whole stay was a complete mess. the bath mat has yellow stains all over it the bath was chipped black hand prints all over the bathroom door i have taken photos & im happy to share them with the hotel also there was no mention of having to pay for parking when booking the hotel ! on arrival we had to pay £10 for over night parking ! they said the car park is not own by the hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Experience at this hotel was not good. Firstly my room had damp/dirty towels in the bathroom which I had to request were changed. When I went down to dinner I was told unless I had booked the day before they wouldn't be able to accommodate me as they had a big booking in (no forewarning of this when I checked in!) and lastly I have just received a parking ticket for a parking charge which was already paid for at the hotel - the first two issues I put down to unfortunate coincidence but receiving the parking ticket is very frustrating! After the amount paid for room (and parking) I would have expected much better and have experienced better for less elsewhere!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uxbridge UK

Nice location, very average hotel - NOT 4 *

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: location and staff
Cons: Rooms, decoration. updating whole place . Needs air con a must. Cleaning attention to detail
Location: Cathedral, castle shops bars pubs
The hotel is just outside the train station. The hotel carpark very small and tricky to find, station NCP parking is best option at a price. The main areas of hotel are ok, bar restaurant décor is good. Staff very very nice and helpful. I booked executive room, very disappointed. NO AIR CON as per web site very hot room, even with window open. Nice bed linen, but room bit shabby and bathroom outdated and not good needs re decorating. I would have paid more to get the type of room I wanted as it wasn't great. Hotel is old and tired and needs investment to keep up to date. Near the bars 5 mins walk and shops 5-10 mins walk and cathedral and castle. Handy location. Just about clean enough but not to high standard
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Mediocre at best. In need of some serious TLC.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need a little TLC. Old plumbing in the Hotel affects water supply / showering etc.
Location: Castle. Lake District. Good restaurants nearby
Centrally located Hotel which is okay for an odd night. They now charge £10 overnight parking in the tiny car cark which I think is a bit of a liberty. They have also contracted the car park to a company called "parking eye" who in my experience are a nasty outfit. Outside noise can be an issue, with the train station on one side and pedestrian noise at the front, particularly on weekends. I have used this hotel on and off for 30 years and they have had what I would class as minor refurbishments. In all honesty though this hotel needs serious investment if it wants to be classed as one Carlisle's better hotels. Considering the prices being charged. you can get better value elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent spacious family room.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
A very spacious family room well equipped and recently decorated. More electric points would be needed. The bathroom could do with a few adjustments (bathroom curtain, dark,). Hotel is very central, right by the station. A lovely bar area/ dinning room. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Will definitely use again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Comfortable and convenient

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Convenience
Clean and comfortable room and 2 minute walk from shops next to railway station.