Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Mediocre at best. In need of some serious TLC.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Rooms need a little TLC. Old plumbing in the Hotel affects water supply / showering etc.
Location: Castle. Lake District. Good restaurants nearby
Centrally located Hotel which is okay for an odd night. They now charge £10 overnight parking in the tiny car cark which I think is a bit of a liberty. They have also contracted the car park to a company called "parking eye" who in my experience are a nasty outfit. Outside noise can be an issue, with the train station on one side and pedestrian noise at the front, particularly on weekends. I have used this hotel on and off for 30 years and they have had what I would class as minor refurbishments. In all honesty though this hotel needs serious investment if it wants to be classed as one Carlisle's better hotels. Considering the prices being charged. you can get better value elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent spacious family room.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
A very spacious family room well equipped and recently decorated. More electric points would be needed. The bathroom could do with a few adjustments (bathroom curtain, dark,). Hotel is very central, right by the station. A lovely bar area/ dinning room. The staff was very friendly and very helpful. Will definitely use again.
3 out of 5
by Angela

You need to eat out.

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
The information about food was inaccurate there was no 24 hour room service. We needed this as the restaurant refused to let us have a table, there were only a few mature couples in the restaurant and we had dressed for dinner. They were not passed time as guests were still eating in the bar half an hour later.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great little hotel near train station and shopping

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great little hotel near train station and shopping and restaurants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Comfortable and convenient

Posted May 12, 2016
Pros: Convenience
Clean and comfortable room and 2 minute walk from shops next to railway station.
1 out of 5
by Richard from west sussex

avoid

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
room was terrible - damp on walls with plaster falling off. shower was full of black mold, shower temp control did not work, bed was old and worn out.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from j cumbria

Chaotic welcome and obvious bank holiday problems

Posted May 3, 2016
Stayed sunday Prior to may bank holiday. Arrived well after 3pm went to room cleaner in asked her to ring reception told to go back down to reception given reasons for problems staffing etc first staff member trying to resolve but he then left and another took over telling customer problems with their staff etc not really want to hear this as a guest!!given choice of anther room as told it may be quieter room much to be desired very outdated needed improved bathroom and shower from dark ages!! Staff much in need of customer service training
2 out of 5
by Alastair from Yorkshire

Carlisle - Hallmark - not good

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
I won't go back here because: - the parking is not free as advertised on hotels.com - when the hotel car park fills up - it's small relative to the hotel - you have to use the station car park, and pay for it - the staff are not very customer-minded or experienced - until I showed them the website, etc they wouldn't accept the parking was advertised as free and then tried to justify it by pointing out it didn't say 'guaranteed' free parking! It was all my fault! - like other Hallmarks it's in a great old building but very tired and sticky In the interests of balance it's worth saying that the location is ideal for the city centre and train station (which the hotel is next to).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but definitely not gold

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel lobby and reception area is very dark and outdated. The car park is hidden away at the back and the only way to access it is through the railway station car park. The wifi lapses after 12 hours and is very slow. The room itself was very old and dated. It had some old rustic burning plastic smell to it. The window was broken and could not be locked. The bathroom was stuffy. The shower was so old that the water would come on after a few minutes of turning the dial clockwise and anti clockwise. Check out was at 11am, when asked if i could extend it for 30 mins they said they would implement a charge of £10 per hour. That's excessive for a hotel that was half full. I stayed there because I had a business event to attend but in future I would stay at other nearby hotels and avoid this. It was way to pricey for what it had to offer.
3 out of 5
by tracey from Southam

Good location

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel for a family wedding had a nice room although the bathroom could do with up dating. Had breakfast in hotel it was okay. Food at the wedding was good ..