Ratings based on 63 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Notts

Will certainly stay again

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Close to the Southern Lake. The walk round Tarn Hows is a fairly easy stroll although the car parking fee is rather exorbitant.
I cannot praise this b and b highly enough, from the delightful owners ,the excellent room with a beautiful view and the tasty breakfast. When we next ventue into the Lakes we will certainly book 'High Grassings.' again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant location in rural Lake District

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: We loved the view from our room
Cons: Our room was located over the owners quarters, it was quite noisy early in the morning making it difficult to enjoy a sleepin until out 8:30 breakfast
Location: The central location for the Lake District is good. Close to Beatrix Potter, but out of the way too.
Nice home on groomed grounds located in the countryside. Our room overlooked a valley with sheep grazing in the fields. We arrived early so our host recommended a visit to Tarn Hows noting that the sun was out. It was beautiful and a great stop before going to Hawkshead for dinner.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durham UK

nice B& B in the Lake District

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Spotlessly clean , nice owners . Modern but could benefit from softer beds and better pillows but realise it's not the Savoy (have stayed there) but better pillows would be a plus . Though a little way out its a really Nice location close to nice well known for good good pubs like the drunken duck . Well priced . Beautiful views , i would recommend .
5 out of 5
by Ryan from Liverpool

Great place

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect scenery, lovely walks and very peaceful
5 out of 5
by Karen from Ashford

You'd go a long way to better this!

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and truly welcoming. The owners made our holiday memories such as the provision of a first class, double aspect room with was stunning. Good food is only a short car drive away and while cheap was good value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Diana

Perfect B&B

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
We spent a wonderful night at High Grassings. We booked it very last minute, but our host was very accommodating. We spent the evening enjoying a bottle of wine watching the sheep in the grass right across the road and marveling at the beautiful surroundings. It was so quiet and peaceful. We really can't wait to come back here for another visit. It is a great location to explore the Ambleside and Hawkhead areas for cycling or hiking. Just a 20 minute walk to the Drunken Duck.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
All good except the plumbing. Toilet was difficult to flush and the water pressure in the shower was very low.
5 out of 5
by Ilonka from Burlington, Ontario

Worth the drive

Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
A little difficult to find and needs fuller directions at the time of booking, but worth the drive! Book dinner at the nearest pub as nothing else close to hotel.
5 out of 5
by Katy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels