Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Edward from Maine

Private, quiet Inn in beautiful countryside.

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
The Lake District was half way from Inverness, Scotland and our destination south, so was a convenient stop over. We ended up spending the next morning exploring this beautiful area before continuing. For us, it was nice to be away from the touristy towns and stay in the country. Make sure you know how to get to the Inn as GPS doesn't work well there.
4 out of 5
by Pablo from Montevideo - Uruguay

Muy recomendable

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente. Todos muy amables. Muy buen desayuno.
5 out of 5
by Ben from Virginia, U.S.

Heart of the Lakes

Posted Jun 18, 2014
This hotel is in a gorgeous location surrounded by pastures and green hillsides. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Right in the heart of the Lakes District, this is a great place to rest and refresh.
5 out of 5
by duncan from lancashire

May 2014

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent stay.perfect location.very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Breakfast was superb,with the best black-pudding i've ever tasted.
4 out of 5
by Janette and Ian from Hampshire

Great hotel in a good location

Posted May 15, 2014
Wonderful stay and the owners were very helpful and kind. Lovely views from our room and very quiet area. Breakfast was excellent and would definitely recommend this guesthouse to anyone wanting a relaxing holiday in the Lakes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced petite room

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels
The owners of High Grassings are excellent hosts; friendly, flexible and professional. The house is in good condition and had just enough parking space on a slightly tight uphill driveway. Surrounding area is beautiful but be aware it's in the middle of nowhere so you really need a car. Less than 15-min drive to Ambleside though. The biggest downside is the price. We took the "petite double room" because we didn't have many options, but it's a really small room. You can only open a suitcase right in front of the bedroom door. The ensuite is so tight that the sink is actually in the bedroom! For the size of the room it was poor value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good and relaxing

Posted Apr 24, 2014 on Hotels
It was very good, but is a bit overpriced
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Relaxing and peaceful

Posted Apr 23, 2014
We had a great peaceful stay a bit out of town. The west side of the lake is a lot quieter and nicer, but you'll definitely need a car to get around unless you really like walking. Breakfast was good and our host was accommodating when we wanted it slightly later or earlier as needed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hospitality haven!

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed April 14 and we were lucky to have experienced Val and Steve's hospitality. Val has to be one of the kindest hoteliers we have met. The room (barn) was gorgeous, huge super king, super comfy bed, great shower (always piping hot!) and wonderful views. The room itself was perfect but would have proved better value if more than two occupying as there was a second bedroom with equally as comfy double bed. Breakfast was plentiful and offered a specific vegetarian option (a rarity!). Nothing was too much trouble for Val and we would like to thank you Val for making our stay truly memorable........Andy & Wendy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location for a walk

Posted Apr 1, 2014 on Hotels
took a few days out to stay at this lovely place last weekend. Great walk from there through the lakes to lake Coniston had a nice lunch then you can either do what we did and walk back or catch the bus. Our walk was about 6 hours but we took a longer detour would think normally 1.5-2 hours each way. Guest house was great lovely log burning stove,lovely room and view with helpful hosts.