Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts

Truly stunning landscape views

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: The barn suite was clean, comfortable and warm with lovely underfloor heating too. Comfy beds to come back too after a good day"s walking !
Cons: Adding another barn suite, that way more chance of getting it !
Location: A stunning location , in beautiful countryside , out of the way but close to the tourist attractions too. Top spot.
We stayed in the barn suite as there were four of us . Two adults and two children. If your kids are happy to share a double bed then this is a great affordable way to stay together as a family. We had everything we needed and more ! Dave the owner was friendly, extremely helpful and gave us lots of ideas about where to go and what to see. Breakfast was consistently good and Dave was happy and flexible in pleasing a little fussy eater's requests ( doesn't like beans! ) We would highly recommend this country house as a place to base yourself and explore the beautiful surroundings.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice b&b
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Notts

Will certainly stay again

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Location: Close to the Southern Lake. The walk round Tarn Hows is a fairly easy stroll although the car parking fee is rather exorbitant.
I cannot praise this b and b highly enough, from the delightful owners ,the excellent room with a beautiful view and the tasty breakfast. When we next ventue into the Lakes we will certainly book 'High Grassings.' again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hidden gem

Posted Oct 6, 2016 on Hotels
The property is on a quiet road out in the countryside, with excellent views over open country to the East. Recently refurbished by the owners to a high standard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
We were in the Lake District for its famous long walks. David was very helpful in suggesting a walk from his place to the second-nearest town (Ambleside), 4 hours almost all of which was on non-car-accessible roads. His directions and choice of GPS-locatable landmarks gave us exactly the sort of journey we had sought. The room itself was quite lovely and cozy, and the bed and pillows very pleasant indeed. We didn't try out the nearby pub The Drunken Duck but apparently that's a big draw. If you're taxiing to High Grassings from Ambleside, take John's, for ~12GBP.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Pleasant location in rural Lake District

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: We loved the view from our room
Cons: Our room was located over the owners quarters, it was quite noisy early in the morning making it difficult to enjoy a sleepin until out 8:30 breakfast
Location: The central location for the Lake District is good. Close to Beatrix Potter, but out of the way too.
Nice home on groomed grounds located in the countryside. Our room overlooked a valley with sheep grazing in the fields. We arrived early so our host recommended a visit to Tarn Hows noting that the sun was out. It was beautiful and a great stop before going to Hawkshead for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham UK

nice B& B in the Lake District

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Spotlessly clean , nice owners . Modern but could benefit from softer beds and better pillows but realise it's not the Savoy (have stayed there) but better pillows would be a plus . Though a little way out its a really Nice location close to nice well known for good good pubs like the drunken duck . Well priced . Beautiful views , i would recommend .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Restful and relaxing

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Lastminute
Great spot off the beaten track. Very comfortable, lovely views great breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Ryan from Liverpool

Great place

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect scenery, lovely walks and very peaceful
5 out of 5
by Karen from Ashford

You'd go a long way to better this!

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and truly welcoming. The owners made our holiday memories such as the provision of a first class, double aspect room with was stunning. Good food is only a short car drive away and while cheap was good value.