Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
A truly wonderful stay. Wish it could have been longer
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ウィンダミア湖を眼下に見下ろす高級リゾートホテル

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: 全体に雰囲気。眺望。
Cons: 全体に、商業主義が目につくようになってしまった。
Location: 眺望面でのロケーションは、抜群。自前のテニスコートやスパも有るが、利用者は極めて少ない模様。
男爵の狩猟用コテッジだった建物を改装した、高級リゾートホテルです。10年前に初めて利用した際は、設備やレストランのみならず、スタッフの質、そして宿泊客の質も最高の別世界でした。10年ぶりに訪れて、全てに昔より落ちた事に、ややガッカリしました。それでも、昔を知らない人にとっては、素晴らしいホテルだろうと思います。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worcester park

Pleasant country house hotel in secluded setting

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The location was secluded and views were wonderful. Accommodation was good with spacious rooms .
Cons: Staff were not particularly friendly.
Location: Was well located for walks and town nearby for shops or ferries for tours of Windermere lake.
We had a lovely stay at the Holbeck Ghyll, we celebrated our 25th Anniversary and were upgraded which was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
It would be better if the hot and cold water for the washing basin inside the toilet could be combined to produce warm water.
5 out of 5
by Chi Keung from Hong Kong

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hot and cold water for the washing basin in the toilet come in separate taps, therefore we cannot use warm water for teeth-brushing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Superb location with well maintained grounds.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Spectacular views from wide comfortable seating on terrace. Safe, secure, wide parking provision. Very experienced general manager.
Cons: No young children at mealtimes or public areas. Guests come here for rest etc. and do not appreciate crying or screaming children.
Location: Excellent with all the facilities that Lake Windermere can offer.
Dinner cost was expensive for quality of food provided in fixed menu. Food portions were needlessly small under apparent pretension of haute cuisine especially main course and cheese dessert offering; quality of food was good. Serving staff could not, or did not react to gentle complaint of small portions; impression given of meanness for sake of profitability. Breakfast very good except for description of freshly squeezed fruit juices whish originated from a carton and was not acceptable given the impression that establishment wish to provide to justify cost. Cost of a bottle of still water was expensive. The receptionist was French, sounded offhand, uptight, not welcoming, not knowledgeable about the location of the hotel. and did not speak into telephone microphone; she seemed either shy or unclear to London accent. We would recommend the hotel to friends with reservations referred to in this review
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing...

Posted Jun 22, 2015
A world away from reality. The staff, the location and the accommodation are all truly AMAZING. Cannot fault it, looking forward to returning very soon. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
We really enjoyed it and would definitely go again.
5 out of 5
by A & J from Cambridge, MA, USA

Consummate service and dining with a stunning view

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
Holbeck Ghyll delivers on its promise of excellent service and fine dining in a location that provides classical Lake District vistas across windermere to the mountains beyond. Fives stars from this guest!
5 out of 5
by Rik + Alice from London, UK

Perfect hotel for a weekend away.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Fantastic experience. Location is exceptional with great views over the lake and a great overall base to explore Windermere and surrounds. The rooms are tastefully designed and fully-equipped with everything you'd expect of a top hotel. A special thanks to the gentleman (I believe it's Thomas?) for being very accommodating in finding us room at the restaurant despite not booking in advance and generally making us feel very welcome throughout our short but enjoyable stay.