Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Breathtaking View

Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Fantastic view, lovely room and welcoming staff. I've been asked to add a bit more on my review regarding good points before it can be submitted which is why I am adding this
Cons: The Food was very disappointing. Talk about the Kings Clothes!!! The starter I had was Tuna. What arrived was 5 tiny litttle disks of Tuna about the size of a new Ip piece some other tiny bits and bobs. And a couple of Popcorn Marshmallows!!! The tiny bits of Tuna where quite salty as expected, but to combine this with very sickly sweet Marshmallow can only be described as VILE!!! The main course long legged partridge can only be described as instantly forgettable, as carnt think of anything positive or negative to say about it. My partners food was equally disappointing the starter was suppose to be duck, and turned out to be patte of some description, not nice at all. The pork was also somewhat bland. I think the chef needs to go back to school as somewhere along the line he has forgotten the main consideration, that food is for Eating not just for looking at. And this is a classic example of Style over Substance. Before the chef retorts with the usual patronising not having a refined pallet, I may hasten to add I have personally eaten in some of the finest restaurants throughout the world. The Holbeck Gyll is unfortunately not one of them
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful hotel in the perfect location

Posted Aug 19, 2016
A truly wonderful stay. Wish it could have been longer
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from worcester park

Pleasant country house hotel in secluded setting

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The location was secluded and views were wonderful. Accommodation was good with spacious rooms .
Cons: Staff were not particularly friendly.
Location: Was well located for walks and town nearby for shops or ferries for tours of Windermere lake.
We had a lovely stay at the Holbeck Ghyll, we celebrated our 25th Anniversary and were upgraded which was a pleasant surprise. The restaurant was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2015 on Hotels
It would be better if the hot and cold water for the washing basin inside the toilet could be combined to produce warm water.
5 out of 5
by Chi Keung from Hong Kong

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hot and cold water for the washing basin in the toilet come in separate taps, therefore we cannot use warm water for teeth-brushing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Superb location with well maintained grounds.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Spectacular views from wide comfortable seating on terrace. Safe, secure, wide parking provision. Very experienced general manager.
Cons: No young children at mealtimes or public areas. Guests come here for rest etc. and do not appreciate crying or screaming children.
Location: Excellent with all the facilities that Lake Windermere can offer.
Dinner cost was expensive for quality of food provided in fixed menu. Food portions were needlessly small under apparent pretension of haute cuisine especially main course and cheese dessert offering; quality of food was good. Serving staff could not, or did not react to gentle complaint of small portions; impression given of meanness for sake of profitability. Breakfast very good except for description of freshly squeezed fruit juices whish originated from a carton and was not acceptable given the impression that establishment wish to provide to justify cost. Cost of a bottle of still water was expensive. The receptionist was French, sounded offhand, uptight, not welcoming, not knowledgeable about the location of the hotel. and did not speak into telephone microphone; she seemed either shy or unclear to London accent. We would recommend the hotel to friends with reservations referred to in this review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing...

Posted Jun 22, 2015
A world away from reality. The staff, the location and the accommodation are all truly AMAZING. Cannot fault it, looking forward to returning very soon. Worth every penny.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
We really enjoyed it and would definitely go again.
5 out of 5
by A & J from Cambridge, MA, USA

Consummate service and dining with a stunning view

Posted Sep 1, 2014 on Hotels
Holbeck Ghyll delivers on its promise of excellent service and fine dining in a location that provides classical Lake District vistas across windermere to the mountains beyond. Fives stars from this guest!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rik + Alice from London, UK

Perfect hotel for a weekend away.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Fantastic experience. Location is exceptional with great views over the lake and a great overall base to explore Windermere and surrounds. The rooms are tastefully designed and fully-equipped with everything you'd expect of a top hotel. A special thanks to the gentleman (I believe it's Thomas?) for being very accommodating in finding us room at the restaurant despite not booking in advance and generally making us feel very welcome throughout our short but enjoyable stay.