Ratings based on 280 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location just off the motorway

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Near to all the shops in town and very close to a eating place if you don't fancy the high prices in the hotel itself, I could not fault the staff, very pleasant to talk with and very helpful.
Comment from EPC
Aug 27, 2015 by HotelStaff, EPC
Dear Guest I am delighted with your very positive comments about our location and staff, so thank you so much for sparing the time to feedback. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel next time you're in this area. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Hotel was ok but could do with some upgrading. Shame you cant get internet for free £16 per 24hrs is bit expensive. 3G not available on our phones, but suprisingly you can get it about 200m away from the hotel both ways.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2015 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay at our hotel. Wifi is free of charge to all members of the IHG Rewards Club. As this club is free to join (and you can also enjoy other great benefits like free hotel stays) it may be worth considering joining. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from zee

Family room

Posted Aug 16, 2015
We booked double room for 2 adults and 2 kids but when we get hotel sofa bed was not ready. And staff excuse was that we didn't put a note in reservation. If someone book a double room for 2 adults and 2 kids, means kids has to sleep somewhere. Anyway we checked in at 5:30pm, still till 09:30pm no one bothered to come and make sofa bed for our kids. Then I have to approach duty manager. staff was NOT FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL AT ALL. NO ONE PICK RECEPTION CALL. Our baby was only 5 months, they give us room right at the end. When you go hotel, one want mind satisfaction, but only we got is STRESS AND DISSATISFACTION
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2015 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear zee Thank you for your review. I will investigate why the sofa bed requirement was not picked up prior to your arrival, in the meantime please allow me to apologise for the stress and dissatisfaction you experienced. This is certainly not the experienced we wanted you to have and is not typical of our service. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from on the way home

Very nice place to relax.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Claire in the restaurant was a true gem....looking after us after an 8 hour drive....sorting me a vegan curry. Thanks Claire x
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport

Substandard Holiday Inn

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Cons: Quality of beds/bedding in executive rooms. Staff training for restaurant staff.
Location: Not within walking distance of town centre.
Really disappointing stay. Reception and check in good - downhill from there. Appalling restaurant service (and a duty manager with no customer service skills whatsoever), and substandard food. Upgraded to an executive room - but the beds were not comfortable and the pillows very poor quality. The only plus was the pool - warm temperature, and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Jackie I'm sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing stay and that you were particularly disappointed with the service you received from the restaurant staff and manager on duty. I assure you that in hiring we look for courteous, conscientious, caring workers for all of our departments as we know that having a positive staff experience can make all the difference to our guests' stays. Please be assured I will discuss your feedback with the team, but in the meantime I would like to apologise for your poor stay experience. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Handy for the M6

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Location was good - just a few minutes from the M6
Cons: Traffic noise was pretty bad all night - double-glazing didn't really help much. The bed wasn't very comfortable and sagged in the middle.
All the staff we spoke to were lovely. Room was very clean and everything worked as expected.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel but aged

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: very near to motorway and the city. Restaurant, bar and cleaning staff are very good. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. They hav
Cons: hotel decor. Room interior are basic, at par with budget hotel like holiday inn express. No fridge in the room, no moisturiser and no free wifi.
Location: Next t motorway, but no noise in the room. Visit lake district or nearby Aston memorial park. Lancaster castle and city are also worth visiting
Good: very near to motorway and the city. Restaurant, bar and cleaning staff are very good. They go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. They have smile and spring in their steps. Needs improvement: hotel decor. Room interior are basic, at par with budget hotel like holiday inn express. No fridge in the room, no moisturiser in the bathroom. No free wifi (hello, world has moved on, wifi is as essential as a clean toilet). Poor: Reception staff, no smile on the face, uninformed, one of them was bordering on to rude. They need training in customer service. Modern UK has visitors in all shapes, size and colour, Lancaster may have predominantly caucasian population but visitors are not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2015 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay at our hotel. I can see from your comments that your experience was mixed, with you enjoying many aspects of the hotel but also feeling dissatisfied with others. Your comments will be shared with the whole team and used to make improvements where necessary. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tracey from Exeter

Okay hotel

Posted May 23, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was ok, staff were polite, the bed was too soft, but the room was reasonably clean. On the whole was an okay hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Tracey Thank you for taking the time to rate and review your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and I hope we shall have an opportunity of welcoming you back again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

handy for the moterway

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: handy for the moterway
Cons: decoration
Location: moterway
The room was a good size and the bathroom was also good but both were dated and showing signs of the need for redecoration. Breakfast was not the best with tinned fruit lack of condiments etc, though tasted nice
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2015 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest We truly value your feedback and would like to thank you for sparing the time to rate and review your stay at our hotel. Regarding the need for redecoration, a refurbishment is actually planned for the hotel next year. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Russell from Ludlow Shropshire

Scotland trip

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
Nice location by river lovely walk along river into town nice hotel 1/2 way stop off on way to Scotland near to M6 disappointed with evening meal staff a bit disorganised and slow to ages for our meal to come this was made up slightly by breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2015 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Russell Thank you for sparing the time to post a review following your recent stay at our hotel. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with the dinner service in our restaurant and I shall make sure the team are aware of your comments. However, I am pleased to see that this did not spoil the rest of your stay and I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager