Ratings based on 347 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Comfortable stay close to Lancaster and Lakes

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The comfortable and clean rooms
Cons: The breakfast experience
Location: Lancaster is a short drive and has shops, restaurants etc. This hotel is a good base for the Lakes and Morecambe Bay
This newly refurbished hotel provides a pleasant stay for families. It has a warm pool and spa area. It's rooms are comfortable and clean. The only downside to our stay was breakfast. Stressed staff in "look busy" mode does not make for a nice meal to start the day....I will leave it at that. Other than that, I would really recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Noel, Thank for taking the time to write a candid review on Expedia. The team really appreciate your comments and I have shared your comments about the breakfast staff with the Restaurant Supervisors. I really hope that you will visit us again in the future when travelling to the Gateway of the North. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but let down by basic things

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel itself was what you expect in terms of quality. I found it a bit strange that a family room didn't have a bath. We did encounter some issues in terms that the room clearly hadn't been vacuumed before we go there and still hadn't the 3 days we were there. They didn't replace the bathroom soaps, gels and shampoos and didn't wipe over the surfaces through out. Apparently we weren't the first to complain. I am still a bit amazed that at breakfast time I asked for Coffee and they told us that that they had run out (a hotel with no coffee what is the world coming to?)
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear traveller Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Here at the Holiday Inn Lancaster we are always looking for ways to improve our service and I have shared your feedback regarding breakfast with the Food and Beverage Supervisor so that we can take the appropriate steps to address your concerns. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. We value your comments and welcome the opportunity to serve you again. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The hotel is easy access to the motorway

Posted Sep 3, 2016
The staff were very polite and helpful and they make a great bacon bap. The room was vey clean and well serviced The room service was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear delys Thank you for your positive review. It;s great to read that you had a good stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
by Nathaniel

Good modern rooms

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel seemed to have gone through modernisation. The rooms were clean and the bathrooms very comfortable. The wifi was free but was unstable the whole time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nathaniel Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Your comments are very much appreciated and I will pass this on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits to Lancaster. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Best holiday inn stay

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Best looking holiday inn ive ever stayed in. Lovely room, very clean, great staff. Only negatives would be room based on main road but we should have asked for a quiet one.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business Overnight ... did the trick

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Business Overnight for work in the area. Newly refurbished since my last visit. Would also be great as a base to surrounding areas in lake district and coast further south.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

OH DEAR HOLIDAY COULD DO A LOT BETTER

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
The Shower Leaked reported told to put more towels on the floor to soak up water. The TV did not work was told it was temperamental! Called next day to make a complaint ref the TV not working was told OH DEAR thats a shame? Went to hotels.com that I had booked it through who were more sympathetic and gave me a credit to use on my next booking. felt they dealt with the issue better and more sympathetic.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 宮崎県

街から離れたホテル

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: 綺麗に内装が変えられていた点
Cons: 駅とバスの間の交通
Location: 湖水地方に行くには良いところ、車がないと不便である。
車がないと行きづらいホテル。駅からバスで10分程度だが夜7時前にはバスがなくなるため注意が必要。朝早く汽車に乗るときもバスの時間を確認したほうがい。傍には歩行者用の道路があるので散歩をするには良いと思う。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Très bien en itinérance

Posted Aug 14, 2016 on Hotels
Chambre très agréable et confortable (nous avions pris la chambre supérieure). Articles de toilette variés et très appréciés. Piscine agréable le soir, mais inaccessible le matin à 8h (il fallait faire la queue et une fois dedans, impossible de nager). Petit déjeuner ok.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could be really good.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Check in took 15 minutes,one girl on reception.Got to room and keycard didn't work,back to reception to wait again.Hotel is totally refitted due to floods so quite smart.The free WiFi in room is useless so frustrating and slow you don't bother with it. Breakfast is nice but not run very well and was freezing with air con blasting out.Decent hotel but could be so much better.