Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Comfortable stay close to Lancaster and Lakes

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: The comfortable and clean rooms
Cons: The breakfast experience
Location: Lancaster is a short drive and has shops, restaurants etc. This hotel is a good base for the Lakes and Morecambe Bay
This newly refurbished hotel provides a pleasant stay for families. It has a warm pool and spa area. It's rooms are comfortable and clean. The only downside to our stay was breakfast. Stressed staff in "look busy" mode does not make for a nice meal to start the day....I will leave it at that. Other than that, I would really recommend this hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Noel, Thank for taking the time to write a candid review on Expedia. The team really appreciate your comments and I have shared your comments about the breakfast staff with the Restaurant Supervisors. I really hope that you will visit us again in the future when travelling to the Gateway of the North. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

The hotel is easy access to the motorway

Posted Sep 3, 2016
The staff were very polite and helpful and they make a great bacon bap. The room was vey clean and well serviced The room service was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2016 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear delys Thank you for your positive review. It;s great to read that you had a good stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Francis Hindle General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Could be really good.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Check in took 15 minutes,one girl on reception.Got to room and keycard didn't work,back to reception to wait again.Hotel is totally refitted due to floods so quite smart.The free WiFi in room is useless so frustrating and slow you don't bother with it. Breakfast is nice but not run very well and was freezing with air con blasting out.Decent hotel but could be so much better.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for what we needed.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Perfect for our stay. Nice little playground and swimming pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

So close to awesome, but tragic maintenance fails

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Restaurant worked well, great breakfast, pretty good playground, easy free parking, friendly staff, good location.
Cons: Much better maintenance processes and better checking of room condition between guests. Make sure you don't ask customers who pre-paid to pay again!
The hotel is well set up to be family friendly, with pool and playground and a great restaurant. But when we arrived our door key didn't work. Back down the lift to get a replacement, and that didn't work either. The manager came up with us and manually programmed a key card and we were in. There was running water sound in the bathroom - the toilet wouldn't stop running unless we jiggled the flush knob multiple times but we could put up with that - every single time any of us used the toilet. We went to turn on the TV - the aerial cable was missing. Went to sit in the desk chair - one of the wheels was missing so it tipped to the side and couldn't be used. Both fixed promptly when we went down and advised the front desk. The safe had been locked by a previous user and we couldn't open it - decided we couldn't face ANOTHER trip to the front desk so did without. Then on departure I gave the room key to the lady at the front desk who asked me to wait while she checked for charges - and told me I owed the room cost. Fortunately I remembered that we had paid at time of booking so she "re-checked" and agreed that we had and we left. Phew! It has many things going for it but needs a serious review of maintenance and procedures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hongkong

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Clean. Free wifi. The waiter in the restaurant is nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Typical Holiday Inn

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: It was nice having complimentary access to the swimming pool. Long opening hours for the health club. We also enjoyed the table football in the lobby.
Cons: The breakfast was okay but at busy times the food area was messy. Jams were kept in big pots and looked unappetizing.
Location: Straight off the motorway, easy to find. Two miles from the centre, directly next to the River Lune, nice walkway to the centre.
All in all a pleasant stay, the nights were quiet, the beds comfortable, the room clean. The room size was very generous, even with the sofa bed out. We had some minor problems but the hotel staff sorted them out reasonably quick. When we arrived for example our family wasn't set up yet. This was sorted out quickly. On the second day we had no hot water in our room. We told them about it and had our shower in the health club. Nobody came back to us about it but the next day the hot water was back on. Also on the second day we arrived back in our room to see all the bedding stripped and dumped. It turned out that a new mattress was being delivered. It would have been nice to have known this in advance instead of coming back to a room that looked as though it had been burgled. They gave us complimentary drinks in the lobby while we waited for the room to be sorted out again. The staff were very friendly. The breakfast room was at times overwhelmed with the amount of people in it. The buffet was not the most attractive. The jam and honey in the big pots looked like old jelly and wasn't labelled, so you had the choice between yellow blob and two types of red blob as well as runny honey that was everywhere. Cheese and salami were on the same plate and overlapping - not great if you are a vegetarian. The cooked breakfast was good however. There is big lawn and play area at the back of the hotel which was nice. The swimming pool was also great. All in all we had an enjoyable stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pillows

Posted Oct 29, 2015
Pros: Not much looked dated
Checked in after a long day and asked for extra pillows for our bed at 07.00pm. Waited an hour to then ring room service to be told " oh sorry we forgot they'll be with you in 10 mins". Extra pillows arrived at 09.10pm with a very sorry looking member of staff who did get some stern words. Explained this problem in the morning when checking out and the staff just didnt seem bothered so in short will not be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel with excellent spa facilities

Posted Aug 29, 2015
All that was missing from this hotel was some entertainment apart from that it was a perfect short break for us .
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2015 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you very much for spending the time to review and rate our hotel. We are delighted you had a great time and hope you choose to stay with us again soon. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location just off the motorway

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Near to all the shops in town and very close to a eating place if you don't fancy the high prices in the hotel itself, I could not fault the staff, very pleasant to talk with and very helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2015 by HotelStaff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest I am delighted with your very positive comments about our location and staff, so thank you so much for sparing the time to feedback. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel next time you're in this area. Sincerely Francis Hindle General Manager