Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by Robert from Edinburgh

Good hotel and location BUT

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
I booked a single room and I thought £91 to sleep in a cupboard was a bit steep. There really wasn't any room to swing a cat and the room had the narrowest wardrobe I have ever seen just to fit it in. However. The food was great as was the service. Overall I would stay here again but not in a single room.
4 out of 5
by Debbie from Pickering

Stay 26th June 2015

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed in the hotel with my daughter and granddaughter, we were going to Woolfest in Cockermouth, so the hotel was very handy. The hotel was lovely, we had a family room (room 6) there was plenty of room for all of us. The location is very pretty, would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A very good hotel for the price

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
A very nice location close to Cockermouth. Room was spacious, clean and tasteful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel and staff

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was spotlessly clean (as was the whole hotel) & the grounds were beautiful. Dinner was great too.
Cons: Nothing
We booked the family room at the last minute as we were travelling down south from Scotland and wanted a night in The Lakes en-route. What a brilliant find, we would definitely be pleased to recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay.

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Place

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed 1 night on business. Pleasant position and atmosphere although my single room was small.
5 out of 5
by Deborah from Dursley

Fabulous

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels
Fabulous hotel. Arrived late and was taken straight to my room with no delays. Very friendly lady. Stayed in one of the rooms next to the main building. Lovely and warm, large room, beautifully decorated and very clean. Great big bathroom with great bath. Arrived too late to have dinner and was leaving very early to have breakfast but the lady kindly offered to bring me tea and toast to the room very early which they did and was much appreciated to get the day started. Would definitely stay again and hopefully get to enjoy a meal there next time.
1 out of 5
by Rik Thomas from Aberdeen

Expensive and Noisy room next to kitchen/storeoom

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed in a room overnight on a trip up to Scotland. The main hotel, food and facilities are excellent. However, the new rooms are poor and highly not recommended. The rooms have no view of the lake district and are located to the back door of the kitchen. The room was close to air conditioner units for the main building. At £150 for the night, it would be expected that the quality of room be far superior. Unless you have a room in the main building, this hotel is best avoided.
4 out of 5
by Marguerite from Chicago, IL

Nice but wrong night to stay

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
I'm sure we really could have appreciate the beauty and classiness of the hotel if there wasn't a wedding going on. The dinning room was completely booked by the time we arrived and the staff was running back and forth between the bar and the restaurant that it took almost an hour for our dinner to come. But the wait staff was very friendly and the room was nice. Although the beds were quite hard and springy and there was no place to put your shampoo & soap in the shower, much less your body - not much space. So don't gain any weight while you're there
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Lovely country hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The food and the staff made this hotel very special for me and my 3 young children.
Cons: Less moving of furniture in the function rooms at 3am on a Saturday morning!!
Location: The whole of the Lake District is within reach, so there is plenty to do and see.
The hotel is in the middle of the countryside, quiet and beautiful, yet within reaching distance of most of the Lake District. The staff are excellent and the restaurant serves really first class food. We will be returning in the future.