Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Lost for words

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Everything,
Cons: Apart from wishing the sun would shine, nothing could be improved,
Location: Great for chilling,
This hotel is fab,great location,fab food,lovely staff,can't give any more words,brilliant,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, so peaceful and a very relaxing brea

Posted Dec 25, 2015
We arrived in the Lakes both needing a pre Christmas break. We both love getting away from the crowd particularly at this time of year and the hotel was perfect for us. Located on the western side of the lakes it is fairly remote which allows for peace and tranquility but also close enough to access the best of what the lakes offers. Very reasonably priced, the level of comfort and size of the bathroom would rival much more expensive hotels. The restaurant was excellent and the chef was very willing to deviate slightly from the menu to suit our dietary requirements- breakfast also great! Overall excellent value and thanks to the staff for providing us with a wonderful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stapleton

We had such a relaxing day and night at the hotel

Posted Dec 20, 2015
I left my iPad in the room and I phoned to see if it was there and Tom have found it and kept it for me we will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hidden gem in the western lakes

Posted Dec 2, 2015
A truly beautiful hotel with a warm, well run family feel, its sits just off the beaten track but close enough to all the little towns and villages. The staff are helpful and welcoming, nothing was to much, really put a finishing touch to my partners birthday weekend.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

worst experience ever!!

Posted Nov 16, 2015
In the middle of nowhere, with a dangerous route. No facilities, or nearby food shops and last but not least - it's haunted!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter from Bedford

Comfortable but remote

Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
Irton Hall is a friendly, comfortable hotel offering good value, and generous portions in the restaurant but it is a little remote. Every other tourist spot in Lakeland is a considerable drive away. It is fine if you enjoy fell-walking but there is not much else in the area. If you are looking for a little more choice when it comes to restaurants and pubs, forget it and try Bowness or Ambleside. If you want peace and tranquility ... and some splendid scenery ... then you will enjoy Irton Hall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

Very enjoyable overnight stay.

Posted Oct 31, 2015
Hotel clean & quiet.Bathroom very luxurious with a Spa bath. Bed very large and comfortable & quiet room. Very pleasant surroundings. Staff very helpful & polite. Food in the restaurant extremely enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel to friends.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

良いホテルでした。

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: 部屋が綺麗で広い。レストランが美味しくてまぁまぁ安い。
Cons: 特になし
値段がそれなりに高いこともあり、大変満足できました。 部屋は広く、ジャグジー付き、併設のホテルのレストランもそれほど高い料金でなく美味しかったです。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Samantha from Cheshire

Warm and welcoming but more could be done

Posted Oct 26, 2015 on Hotels
Irton Hall is a lovely venue and one I would recommend however we were disappointed with the food service while staying here. The hotel and room were lovely and we spent a very comfortable night. The walls are very thin and do expect to hear creaks and groans from the old building and your neighbour guests talking/tv slightly. The bed was comfortable and we both felt very rested. The best credit to the hotel are the staff who are approachable and welcoming. The food was DELICIOUS and we had no complaints there however the food that we ate in the restaurant in the evening was not what we ordered. The staff were quick to deal with our issue at the time however we did feel that we were not given the correct information and no recompense was offered to rectify the embarrassing (for us and them) error. Not only this but they then made a mistake with our breakfast too! Again when we pointed this out we were given a "sorry!" but no recompense. I would say this should be offered in an establishment such as this when a mistake is made twice. We really didn't want to leave any sort of negative review after you were so nice and I do hope you can pass on the constructive criticism and feedback to your staff and management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels