Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colwyn Bay

Very good hotel in nice quiet surroundings

Posted May 31, 2016
We Stayed here for 2 nights and glad we chose this hotel .clean spacious room .good ample breakfast and very helpful polite staff .would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Chilled

Posted May 21, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Leave it as it is,it's fantastic!
Location: Quiet,apart from the birdsong,shhh don't tell everyone where it is,😉
Stayed on a Sunday night,but arrived mid afternoon,our room was ready,lovely,cosy,great views,the sun was shining so we took advantage of supping our Chardonnay on the massive lawn area,the food was lush and "home cooked" Definitely coming back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sunderland

Lovely hotel in a beautiful peaceful location

Posted May 3, 2016
great food, great staff great stay .. Thoroughly recommend the sunset pale ale.. 🙃!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel and location near Scafell Pike

Posted Apr 11, 2016
We are a family of 4 (2 adults 2 children) - we stayed at Irton Hall for 3 nights. Very comfortable 2 bed cottage next to hotel. Setting is lovely with plenty of space for children to run around. Easy reach of Scafell Pike and Wastwater Lake, as well as Eskdale and the falls. Plenty of great options for food at the hotel and the surrounding area. Would highly recommend for hiking and scenery.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greater Manchester

Overnight stay

Posted Apr 10, 2016
Pros: The relaxed surroundings & spa bath
Cons: Maybe snacks etc in room fridge/minibar.
Location: Muncaster Castle very close: good day out!
Stayed with my 10 year old daughter after a day at Muncaster Castle. Lovely area, would highly recommend this part of the lakes. The hotel was nice, good parking, unfortunately it was raining when visited so didn't make use of the large area at the front of the hall (which wouldve pleased my daughter) but did have a drink in the bar & then relaxed in the room after a long day of driving & exploring! Enjoyed the spa bath, beds very comfy & the breakfast was lovely too. Staff friendly. Overall, a nice overnight stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cumbria

A little piece of heaven in cumbria

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing,it was ideal
Location: Beautiful,quiet,easy accessible,
Stayed on a Sunday,the sun was shining, the beer was cold,the room was lush,the staff are fab,and omg the food was to die for.what a chilled out time we had, thank you guys.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Teesdale

Great hotel and location

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Location: Great location to see Wastwater and Ennerdale lakes.
Good location to see the less commercialised lakes, great food and comfortable hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Beautiful Hotel in Lake District

Posted Mar 17, 2016
My husband and I didn't know what to expect. We pulled up right after dark and we were greeted with a hotel that resembled a castle all lit up and beautiful. The staff (Tom and Tom) were outstanding and incredibly helpful. We decided to stay in and eat/drink in the restaurant which was had great food. We were so sad to leave and wished we would have had a couple more nights. Our room was clean and had an amazing view. The hotel is located in the Lake District and everything about our stay was picturesque. Thanks to the awesome staff who made our stay welcoming and wonderful. I cannot say enough good things about it.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Beautiful place

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Friendly and welcoming staff ,very helpful. Hotel is beautiful would definitely be coming again and recommending to friends and family
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant

Posted Feb 11, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed for one night and it was fantastic. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.