Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Great spot. Had a lovely superior room overlooking the bay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Abbots Bromley, Staffs

Good views, location and friendly staff

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Window condensated and made some of my stuff on the window sill damp
Location: Good location easy walking distance to the lake and surrounding amenities
Nice hotel, simple and effective, staff welcoming and explained everything well DVD's available and guided us to where we wanted to get to in town , plenty of parking and the breakfast was of a good quality standard. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, England

Nice scenic location

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Just returned from a short stay at this hotel. We upgraded to a Superior Room and was allocated 'The Hideaway' which was separate to the main building. The room was very nice with a great view from the window. The breakfast in the morning was very good and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is situated close to the Pier which is great for you to jump on a boat to Bowness or Lakeside. It is also a ten minute walk to the centre of Ambleside which has some great pubs and restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dog friendly, great location.

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is located about 10 mins walk from the centre of Ambleside. The hotel hadn't received the note that we were taking our dog. It didn't turn out to be a problem as there was still a dog friendly room room available, but probably worth calling to confirm if you plan on taking your pet. Room was small, but was very comfortable and certainly not bad for the price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We left one day earlier than planned.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Pros: Nothing really except that the breakfast was good. No bar, no restaurant, no lounge although the advert said that it had all these.
Cons: I cannot rate this hotel because it is not a hotel but a glorified bed and breakfast.
Location: Dicey car park approached through a narrow hilly single lane. If you meet up with another car on this lane you have to back out on to a busy main road
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall quite good.

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed in an annexe called the hideaway it was unseasonally warm but there was no air-con. The room was a bit small and new, I think we would have been better off in the main building. Breakfast was good but service slow. The hotel was walking distance to Ambleside but only if you are fit - too far if you are tired. Nearby hotel The Regent was very good for the evening meal with discount too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g

Well sited close to lake

Posted Sep 22, 2016 on Wotif
Away from the hustle and bustle of a very touristy Ambleside, our stay was excellent, the breakfasts scrumptious and what's more , the staff were outstanding and incredibly helpful. Always with a smile and happy !!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malmesbury

Lake House - Ambleside

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here so we could support our friend doing a triathlon. The location is ideal with easy walking access to the town of Ambleside. Restaurants and bars are within a few hundred yards of the hotel. As we had a pet we were in one of the rooms away from the main hotel but the room itself was superb. The only criticism would be that it was very stuffy in the room due to a lack of opening windows. It may well be that we didn't use the comfort cooling within the room but we did look for the operating instructions and couldn't find them. Besides from that, the bed was very comfortable the room very spacious, the staff were more than helpful, breakfast was superb and we had a lovely time. Thank you
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Great stay, got engaged! Rooms and main building clean. Hideaways slightly small but comfortable