Ratings based on 147 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Outstanding hospitality, luxurious rooms & service

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Outstanding hospitality and friendliness of all staff
Location: Windermere town, lake, water sports, countryside hikes, wolf walks, GoApe
Linthwaite has to be the best hotel I've ever stayed in so far. Not only is the property and it's grounds absolutely stunning with their own large lovely pond, a summer house, a meadow and a part of the woods, the view of the Windermere lake is also beautiful. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable, as are all the other parts of the hotel - the opulent lounges and bar, and the elegant restaurant. We stayed at the hotel for a Valentine's holiday and even received a complimentary room upgrade - such a wonderful and unexpected little surprise! As you walk in, there is staff already waiting and opening the door for you ready to take your bags and have a very warm welcome and a pleasant check-in. The staff are extremely attentive, your drinks can be brought to you anywhere in the hotel lounges, the reception before dinner is absolutely wonerful, the selection of food for breakfast and dinner is outstanding, the attentiveness of staff who readily top up all your drinks and clear away any plates without you even noticing is wonderful! Little touches and great hospitality, providing weather forecasts, tourist information and making you feel very much at home and extremely welcome, it does not feel like a typical hotel, rather a very welcoming residence. Absolutely outstanding quality of rooms, facilities and service! Will definitely visit again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Idyllic hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Hotels
Came for a wedding. Stayed 2 nights and everything was perfect. Will be coming back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Byron Bay Australia

Good as it gets!

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: The lakes are close by with all its attractions, but the Hotel provides an oasis from the large amount of tourists visiting the area.
We stayed 3 nights. The ambience was excellent with lake views and expansive grounds. The hotel was not too big, and the food was excellent quality. The staff were attentive and delivered top rate service. The room was comfortable with excellent quality bedding, bathroom towels and accessories.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Comfort, scenic and gastronomic delight

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Lovely vows and beautiful grounds to wander around. Lots if walks and we enjoyed playing Windermere golf course
Comfortable room with everything we needed. Beautiful setting, friendly and helpful staff. Food fantastic and a great wine list
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel Quite expensive

Posted Oct 12, 2016
You feel well treated and 'pampered' - but there is a cost! Dinner was quite expensive and disappointing based on the charges.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Superb boutique Lakeland hotel

Posted Sep 23, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic stay, enjoyed sitting on the terrace admiring the gardens and the view. Printed off the hotels walking maps before leaving and managed to complete the 5 hour walk and 1 1/2 hour walk, we were lucky with the weather. Had evening meal one night very enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by Chris

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Elegant boutique hotel away from crowds

Posted Aug 17, 2016
My husband and I arrived at this lovely hotel after a long drive from London and it was a welcoming 'home' feeling from the outset. Everyone, staff and guests, were friendly but not intrusive. The hotel is surrounded by lovely gardens, extensive views and a tan nearby with it's own summerhouse. The dining room is excellent - great for breakfasts before setting out in a full day and a hug quality dinner option when you return. I highly recommend it for couples and family groups.
4 out of 5
by Phil and Terri from Liverpool

Midweek in Bowness

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
lovely hotel and location