Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from J

Great Hotel at Great Rates

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Visited with the family and had a great time. A lovely hotel, great welcome, good sized family room with four poster bed and two single beds for the children and a really good breakfast, We even had a free decanter of sherry and sweets in the room. I would recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Lovely hotel. Staff couldn't do enough for you and we're very friendly, very family orientated. Brilliant location for local amenities. Room was nice and bed comfy but did need a little TLC. Lovely breakfast and good choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

2 night stay for my wife's birthday

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Lovely little hotel & the staff were fantastic & would do anything to help make your stay comfortable..great breakfast with fantastic service,cheerful helpful & very polite at all times..we will be going back soon..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ramsbottom

Lovely hotel, great location

Posted Nov 13, 2016
The staff can't do enough for you. The hotel is clean and the beds are comfie. Family friendly, breakfast is great too. Would recommend to anyone going to Windermere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

An ok hotel

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: The location was perfect for Bowness, all the shops bars and restaurant in easy reach.
When we arrived their was no room left on the very small car park. The receptionist told us to park over ther road in a bay, which we did then read the sign. Parking for one hour only between 9-6!! its a good job we looked otherwise it would have been an expensive night! We had to park down the hill on a car park and pay for a night. It was £5 which wasn't too bad but would have been better if we had known in advance. We then had to lug all our belongings out of the car, and paraphernalia that come with two kids up the hill to the hotel. Then navigate the four flights of stairs to our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxforshire

Good value for a good place for stay

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: World of Beatrix Potter just 3 minutes walk, lake cruises about 5 minutes to pier, 20 minutes walk to the ferry for the west shore and a lot more.
There is a good place to the access around, Windermere town, pierces for cruises, footpaths, shops and World of Beatrix Potter. Also a big choice of cafes and restaurants around. But, be aware, this hotel not so good if You are going to use your car frequently due for not so good parking access, there are 3 spaces in front very close to busy road and 6 spaces on the back, very tiny and steeply. In fact, for us it was not critical, as there good access to a lot entertainment without a car. Also this hotel not for people who prefer extra comfort, rooms not so big, but enough as place for stay. Also - the boiler, it might be annoying for somebody, it works from 6 am till midnight, and at least one room( I suspect more than one) has good audibility of it. Excellent staff and very good breakfast menu.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fair for its price

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Location is really convenient. The traditional English Breakfast is good and all you can eat.
Cons: Shower is weak, sometimes water stops in the midsle of the bath when other rooms are using water at the same time.
Location: The lake is within walking distance.
Breakfast is good. Bed is comfortable, but water is weak and the sound from the pipe is quite noisy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Homely B&B just within 10 mins walk to Windermere

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Very clean and comfy B&B inn within walking distance from Windermere lake. Friendly staff and good ambiance. Parking space is limited so ensure you checkin early and if you are renting, don't choose bigger than a medium size sedan. There is a paid parking very near(2 mins walk) though if you cant fit into the available slots.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from pembrokeshire

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: comfortable four poster bed
Cons: bit more flexible with timing of breakfast ,maybe offer a fresh coffee to those who have payed for breakfast but are not able to have it.
Location: busy road with what sounded like boy racers going past at high speed.
four poster bed was lovely an very comfy, however it was in need of repair. Lot of loud traffic going past . tea /coffee facilities in room disappointing. cracked tile on bathroom floor. arrived quite late due to traffic jams and restaurants all closed , as we had to eave early we had to forfeit our complimentary breakfast which we could have really done with, disappointed at not being able to even get a fresh coffee in the morning before leaving. would not offer an earlier breakfast time either. The single bed in the room was slanted too. no where to leave room key ( as we were leaving early) even though we did repeatedly say we were leaving early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff.

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Good location, friendly staff, decent sized family room, nice breakfast. Close to Beatrix Potter experience, down the street from Windmere Lake, and 2 mile hike to Orrest Head. Only negative is shower occasionally lost all pressure but only for a minute at a time.