Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Very classy hotel set in beautiful grounds

Posted May 2, 2016
Pros: Lovely setting Beautiful room
Cons: Staff performed their jobs but weren't oozing in friendliness. The restaurant staff had difficulty in speaking English although they tried hard.
Location: Close to Penrith & right on Ullswater
The room was beautiful. The grounds are lovely with a walk down to the lake
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Just stayed for one night, glass of sherry on arrival, nice touch, lovely room with terrace over looking the lake. Restaurant very good, breakfast everything you could ask for & more
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Everything nice except for the evening meal.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Breakfast & snacks good. evening meal style over substance not good quality small portions expensive for what it was. Asked for some crisps with an evening drink charged a pound for about a quarter of a packet
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bishopbriggs

Beautiful hotel with grounds on Ullswater lake

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Pros: Its spectacular setting.
Location: Ullswater steamers on the doorstep. A short drive to Keswick and Derwentwater and another short drive to Windermere and Ambleside. Perfect location!
Wonderful time spent over 4 days. We had breakfast as part of the deal each morning and dined once in the evening during our stay all of which was excellent. The staff are really attentive, the rooms amazing and the setting is spectacular. Leeming House is a great base for touring the Lake District and all it has to offer. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Welcome Break in a Fantastic Dog Friendly Hotel

Posted Mar 17, 2016
Pros: Dog Friendly and really ment it
Cons: Only free beer and wine
Location: What can you say in the Lake District on the side of a Lake in an area of outstanding natural beauty.
The Check Inn was very smooth, and efficient, the Staff were all well trained, with ready smiles and a desire to help you in any way they could to make your stay as happy as possible. The Dog friendly room was fantastic with doors opening onto the grounds that go all the way down to Ullswater lake.the Food in the Resturant was really good and cooked to your choice. We will be going back very soon for another fantastic holiday.
4 out of 5
by Tom from Glasgow

Stopover heading to London.

Posted Jan 10, 2016 on Hotels
First time visitors. Excellent hotel and a find. Will definitely return in the summer for a few nights. Very good value and excellent views. Service was very good from check in to bar and dinner service. Well done.
5 out of 5
by mike from Glenfield

MJS

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Unfortunately, I arrived at the hotel when they were suffering from the backlash of the frightful weather that hit Cumbria last week. The hotel did not have online access for payment and the internet was a little hit and miss. That said I couldn't have been made more welcome, my room was very comfortable and the food at both dinner and breakfast was of a very high standard.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel and excellent restaurant. Its only fault was lacking fitness facility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent Place to Stay

Posted Nov 14, 2015
I shall give this hotel 5 stars, superb place,great location, excellent value for money.