Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Barrow

OK. ..not worth the cash

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Grasmere is stunning for walking around rydal water...
Cons: Food was great ..but no hot water for shower and u can't get to shower without getting into bath room 39 ...no tea bags or milk in room . So this needs to be sorted ....
Location: Great walking ..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oh dear

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Arrived at hotel was told room ready. Went to room maid still doing it, went back to reception no apology just told Expedia had given me the wrong check in time. Was told I could have another room but it wasn't as good as the one I was getting waited for room. When we got in room had a shower and while getting ready a member of staff came into the room no knock. Reported this to reception who said they would report it to the duty manager no one got back to me. Rest of the stay was good food staff were good but obviously not happy with earlier events
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Well located hotel for travel to any part of Lake District, and just a short walk from Grasmere village. Plenty of free car parking space at side of hotel. Staff were friendly. Good size bedroom, with traditional but tasteful decoration. Nice dining room, with adequate choice of breakfast foods. Would stay there again for a return visit to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ross-on-wye

well-situated for Grasmere, drives and buses

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Everything -see above
Cons: showers
Location: also covered. grasmere is full of museums and pleasant walks and for bus-pass holders the bus stops for Windermere and Keswickis just across the road.
Easily found, amusing and interesting search for room along different levels and corridors, staff always friendly. Really nice twin beds, very comfortable. Free shortbreads daily, choc drink every day and superior toiletries. Cleanliness great. Only drawback was that I could not get the hot water to run in the shower so had a bath instead. Excellent variety in Continental breakfast and home-baked bread a lovely touch - though wholemeal bread would have been perfection. Easily accessed car-parks. We did not buy any extras but they were expensive!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More Like a Pub with Rooms than a Hotel.

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: The executive and feature rooms have been refurbished and were really nice.
Cons: Yes the younger members of staff need some proper training, the kitchen need better quality control, management need customer service training.
Location: Good location near Grasmere Village.
Manager on duty was quite rude, restaurant manager does not know how to manage. The food is mainly like pub classics e.g. Burgers, fish & chips, steak and ale pie etc and some of it not very good. Most of the staff are young international people, some with little English, however they seem to work very long hours, one young lady on breakfast service then moved to housekeeping all day then back on restaurant service all evening.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chorley Lancs

Still wonderful after all these years

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: The lovely reception rooms and the hotel's situation close to Grasmere village.
Cons: Disappointed with the dinner menu - limited choice and printed on a piece of card that looked like something from a jaded pub.
Location: Plenty of lovely walks available staright from the doorstep (weather permitting!) Shops and galleries of Grasmere village just minutes away
First visited The Swan 30 years ago when it was a Trusthouse Forte hotel. Nice to see it still retains it's 'olde world' charm. My wife & I stayed for one night to celebrate my birthday. When I mentioned this the young lady at Reception offered us a complimentary glass of Prosecco & canapes before dinner - a nice touch!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle upon tyne

Very disappointing breakfast

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: The view
Cons: More staff training
Location: Location great beautiful views & even though it's on the main road it wasn't noisy.
Room was fine, beds really comfy, bathroom adequate. Breakfast was very disappointing. The service was very slow, we waited 30minutes for our order to be taken & another 10 minutes before it arrived. The quality & quantity was not very good. Gristle in the sausage which we both thought was undercooked,1 very small rasher of bacon& the whole plate not very hot. There were no croissants after 9am even though breakfast is served till10am. There seemed to be a lack of staff training, & a lack of staff! Our cooked breakfast arrived before our cereal plates had been taken away & the waitress didn't know what to do. I think for £17.50 a head it should have been a lot better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Disorganised

Posted Jul 22, 2016
First night dinner a disaster. 3 main courses on menu not available, only 2 choices of red wine available due to lack of stock. Waited over an hour for main meal to be told kitchen had thrown out the order! when food arrived seafood linguini very poor. Draft Amstel out of stock throughout our 4 day stay and very limited alternatives. Hotel Seemed to lack effective management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macclesfield

Excellent location with stunning views.

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Location, friendliness of staff, price and dog friendly.
Cons: Stock of essential breakfast items.
Location: Just outside Grasmere on A591, walking, biking, water sports and relaxing abound.
A comfortable three night stay with my partner and dog. All made to feel very welcome. Room large and airy with stunning views towards the west. Decor a little tired in places but adequate overall. Staff helpful and hardworking but a little overstretched at breakfast during peak times. Breakfast generally good but some shortages of essentials such as porridge, scotch scones and marmalade! Overall a pleasant experience, we would be happy to return in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel, Great Location!

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Pros: Comfortable accommodation and great location for exploring the Lakes and Fells!
Cons: Some of the decoration is a little tired. Drinks are a little expensive, but what you expect in a hotel.
We had a very enjoyable three night stay at the Swan Hotel. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The food was excellent.