Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Belfast, NI

Perfect overnight stay to explore Hadrian's wall.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Absolutely loved this B&B and Roy was friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was amazing!!! Yummy local produce👍
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Friendly B&B - limited facilities

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was delicious; Roy was extremely helpful regarding our settling in as well as directions to good restaurants and parking in town.
Cons: Could be improved with firm mattresses together with either air conditioning or fan to aid air circulation (while avoiding traffic noise).
Location: Roy has excellent recommendations for eating in town, which is a short drive or modest walk (20 mins) away.
Hotel is beside very noisy main road; in order to get fresh air / circulation in the room, you have to open window to outdoor noise - ok in winter perhaps but not in hot summer weather. On the plus side: friendliest of welcomes, very clean facilities throughout and pleasant dining room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Busy area

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Rooms are on the second floor of a house situted on what seems like the busiest intersection in Carlisle. Noisy till midnight and statrs again @ 6am. Roy was amazing and very helpful. Kudos to him and all the best
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Thanks Roy. Hope to see you soon. ........................
5 out of 5
by Jeff from Carlisle

Gold Nugget Find

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Situated in the best area of the city and just a short walk to the centre. Fantastic welcome, clean comfortable room with a fabulous breakfast ( now I know a great butcher in town too). Great conversations with the host who is very knowledgable on football. Highly recommended I live just ten miles from the city but it was better value to get B&B than a taxi. Hotels just 100 yards away were charging twice the price
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant short walk from the Town centre.

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Perfect for our needs.
Cons: It was fine.
Location: Near to town centre, away from any flooding issues.
Just ideal for us, and a proper full english breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N Wales

Very good B and B

Posted Dec 5, 2015
We were in Carlisle for a family funeral and chose Marlborough House as it was convenient for visiting our relatives. We are so glad we did. Roy was a wonderful host and so helpful . The room was very clean and comfortable. The first night we were aware of the traffic lights outside although they did not keep us awake. I just mentioned this at breakfast and that evening when we returned ..blackout curtains were in place. We really appreciated this . My husband enjoyed his cooked breakfast and as I only do toast in the morning I am pleased to say the toast was fresh and hot. Will certainly book again when in the area
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birmingham Al

Great Find

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Absolutely the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in.Great area and warm staff.Will definitely come back.
4 out of 5
by Patrick from Victoria

Comfortable in Carlisle

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
I spent a comfortable night at this bed and breakfast. The proprietor was friendly, recommended nearby places for an evening meal, and prepared a good breafast. He helped me to find another bed and breakfast for my ongoing journey to Durham. The wifi connection in the bedroom was very weak and I would like to have a bedside table with a reading light. Otherwise, this is a very agreeable place. I recommend it.