Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Absolutely lovely stay in an idyllic location. Enjoyed a beautiful walk, straight out the back of the B&B and up to ivy crag, then on to Elterwater. Also within easy reach of both Ambleside and Grasmere. Our room was stunning, the food was delicious and the staff were ever friendly - just perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Elgin Ontario

Beautiful setting

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast. A welcoming hostess
Location: The Lake District is a very beautiful area and any drive will provide superb vistas.
A first class B&B in an excellent location. We had visited the hotel over 20 years ago and the new owners have done a fine job with their renovations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Luxury hotel in beautiful grounds

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Luxury room in beautiful grounds but felt it was slightly overpriced.
3 out of 5
by Ashok from Preston

Trip to Lake district

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay was rather unpleasant,we coulnd'nt find anywhere park.The access road to hotel is extremely steep,challenging and not enough spaces for all rooms.Most annoying was soft bed desperately need of change.The hotelonly serve breakfast which is not fit for five star,and no.meal is served.It rather hot and we could'nt find anywhere to little fan.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: It is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Very relaxing ambience both inside the hotel and on the grounds.
Location: It is perfectly situated just a short distance from Ambleside. There is also a direct path to Loughrigg Fell, which was a lovely way to spend a day.
My husband and I stayed at Nanny Brow for our 20th anniversary and already plan to return. Nanny Brow is set in such a beautiful location, with stunning views and even a direct walk from the hotel grounds, up to the top of Loughrigg Fell (for those inclined to hill walking). The hotel itself is of an amazing standard, rustic and homely, but at the same time of a very high standard. We stayed in the Buttermere suite, which was very comfortable and luxurious. Susan and all of the staff are lovely; very friendly and always happy to help. We very much look forward to our return visit.
4 out of 5
by adam from Wigan

Nanny brow

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Great Views and Location

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Location and view from the hotel
Cons: make the rooms more sound proof and the parking space. Breakfast time needs to be little bit longer or later since most people don't wake that early.
Location: Location was great as you were not far from the Lake Northern Shore and Ambleside the nearest town.
The B&B was overall a lovely place with charming rooms and management including staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
by Matthew from Horsham

Awesome

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful Break

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent location for peace and tranquility. Breathtaking walk and views from garden at the property. Made to feel very welcome by owner and staff. Excellent accommodation with a hearty breakfast..
5 out of 5
by Jeanne from Edmonton Alberta

Ambleside stay

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for 3 nights and walked in and out of Ambleside which was about 2.5km each way. There were running/walking trails straight out of the property. The house that the B & B is in is spectacular. The morning breakfast that is provided is far and away the best included breakfast we have ever had anywhere.