Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Port Elgin Ontario

Beautiful setting

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast. A welcoming hostess
Location: The Lake District is a very beautiful area and any drive will provide superb vistas.
A first class B&B in an excellent location. We had visited the hotel over 20 years ago and the new owners have done a fine job with their renovations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Luxury hotel in beautiful grounds

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Luxury room in beautiful grounds but felt it was slightly overpriced.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: It is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Very relaxing ambience both inside the hotel and on the grounds.
Location: It is perfectly situated just a short distance from Ambleside. There is also a direct path to Loughrigg Fell, which was a lovely way to spend a day.
My husband and I stayed at Nanny Brow for our 20th anniversary and already plan to return. Nanny Brow is set in such a beautiful location, with stunning views and even a direct walk from the hotel grounds, up to the top of Loughrigg Fell (for those inclined to hill walking). The hotel itself is of an amazing standard, rustic and homely, but at the same time of a very high standard. We stayed in the Buttermere suite, which was very comfortable and luxurious. Susan and all of the staff are lovely; very friendly and always happy to help. We very much look forward to our return visit.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Great Views and Location

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Location and view from the hotel
Cons: make the rooms more sound proof and the parking space. Breakfast time needs to be little bit longer or later since most people don't wake that early.
Location: Location was great as you were not far from the Lake Northern Shore and Ambleside the nearest town.
The B&B was overall a lovely place with charming rooms and management including staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Lovely and clean
Cons: Wifi didn't work - not really a problem when coming away for the weekend
Location: Very near Ambleside, not too far away from coniston
Fantastic service on arrival, lovely clean room, excellent holiday weekend!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by AS from London, UK

Fabulous B+B with excellent service

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: The ambience, Arts and Crafts style and the attention to detail were outstanding
Cons: The occasional traffic noise from the main road was the only thing that spoilt the otherwise absolute tranquillity of the place.
Location: Beautiful setting, high on a hill overlooking the river Brathay and the Fells beyond
We had a fabulous stay at the Nanny Brow; so much so, that we decided to extend our stay. Having already spent 3 nights at another lovely B+B on the banks of Coniston, we had initially only planned to stay at the Nanny Brow for just 4 nights - but enjoyed the ambience and hospitality of the place so much - that we decided to stay longer. Given that all the rooms had already been pre booked - the manger was gracious enough to offer us the Brathay suite at a reduced cost. The owner and the staff's attention to detail was outstanding and they made us, and the other guests, feel very welcomed. We definitely plan to visit Nanny Brow again, and also look forward to staying at the owner's other B+B, which is located in the Cotswolds.
5 out of 5
by pam from usa

beautiful, peaceful setting

Posted Jul 21, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed two nights at the Nanny Brow and they were wonderful. Our room was beautiful and spotless. The setting is amazing, absolutely beautiful. The breakfasts were the best we had on our three week tour of GB. Have the salmon! The only inconvience we found was that you had to drive for dinner. However, the scenery made up for it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Met expectations.

Posted Jul 7, 2013
This hotel met our expectations. It is in a very good location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great room, beautiful view, outstanding hosts.

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels
Owners went well beyond the call of duty to make sure our stay was pleasant. Got us one of the last dinner tables in town on a peak weekend and drove us there when a taxi was unavailable. Awesome!