Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wakefield

Wonderful 'family-feel' hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2017
We stayed for two nights for my boyfriend's birthday - the hotel itself is beautiful, as are it's surroundings. The welcome was warm and the room was very clean and beautifully decorated. All the staff couldn't do enough for us - homemade cakes were left for us each day, drinks served on request and anything we asked for was attended to with no problems at all. Although the weather wasn't great, the lounge area of the hotel meant we were never bored. Breakfast was lovely. We will definitely be returning!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Exeter

Classy B and B in beautiful location

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: AS above
Location: Explore the beautiful lake district, go along the passes! Visit Grasmere.
A pleasant couple of nights stay in this hotel, lovely extra touches such as cake in your room every day! lovely Art Deco hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peace and Tranquility.. If you want!!

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: The location is a picture, so peaceful. There are easy relaxed walks to more challenging and beautiful hidden waterfalls.
The Hotel is so warm and friendly. Sue and her husband will ensure your stay is a comfortable as possible and point you in the right direction to explore the Lakes. Sue bakes her own cakes and biscuits, which are left every morning in the room. Breakfast is something to look forward to. Definitely would recommend stay at Nanny Brow.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Perfect!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Absolutely lovely stay in an idyllic location. Enjoyed a beautiful walk, straight out the back of the B&B and up to ivy crag, then on to Elterwater. Also within easy reach of both Ambleside and Grasmere. Our room was stunning, the food was delicious and the staff were ever friendly - just perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Elgin Ontario

Beautiful setting

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Location and breakfast. A welcoming hostess
Location: The Lake District is a very beautiful area and any drive will provide superb vistas.
A first class B&B in an excellent location. We had visited the hotel over 20 years ago and the new owners have done a fine job with their renovations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Luxury hotel in beautiful grounds

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Luxury room in beautiful grounds but felt it was slightly overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing!

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: It is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful location. Very relaxing ambience both inside the hotel and on the grounds.
Location: It is perfectly situated just a short distance from Ambleside. There is also a direct path to Loughrigg Fell, which was a lovely way to spend a day.
My husband and I stayed at Nanny Brow for our 20th anniversary and already plan to return. Nanny Brow is set in such a beautiful location, with stunning views and even a direct walk from the hotel grounds, up to the top of Loughrigg Fell (for those inclined to hill walking). The hotel itself is of an amazing standard, rustic and homely, but at the same time of a very high standard. We stayed in the Buttermere suite, which was very comfortable and luxurious. Susan and all of the staff are lovely; very friendly and always happy to help. We very much look forward to our return visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Great Views and Location

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Location and view from the hotel
Cons: make the rooms more sound proof and the parking space. Breakfast time needs to be little bit longer or later since most people don't wake that early.
Location: Location was great as you were not far from the Lake Northern Shore and Ambleside the nearest town.
The B&B was overall a lovely place with charming rooms and management including staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2013
Pros: Lovely and clean
Cons: Wifi didn't work - not really a problem when coming away for the weekend
Location: Very near Ambleside, not too far away from coniston
Fantastic service on arrival, lovely clean room, excellent holiday weekend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by AS from London, UK

Fabulous B+B with excellent service

Posted Jul 24, 2013
Pros: The ambience, Arts and Crafts style and the attention to detail were outstanding
Cons: The occasional traffic noise from the main road was the only thing that spoilt the otherwise absolute tranquillity of the place.
Location: Beautiful setting, high on a hill overlooking the river Brathay and the Fells beyond
We had a fabulous stay at the Nanny Brow; so much so, that we decided to extend our stay. Having already spent 3 nights at another lovely B+B on the banks of Coniston, we had initially only planned to stay at the Nanny Brow for just 4 nights - but enjoyed the ambience and hospitality of the place so much - that we decided to stay longer. Given that all the rooms had already been pre booked - the manger was gracious enough to offer us the Brathay suite at a reduced cost. The owner and the staff's attention to detail was outstanding and they made us, and the other guests, feel very welcomed. We definitely plan to visit Nanny Brow again, and also look forward to staying at the owner's other B+B, which is located in the Cotswolds.