Ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Very basic for what it advertises - the window was broken, the cheeseburger was burnt and the hair-dryer dead every 4 secs! Stuff was nice though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyable stay

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pleasant stay, love the spa and went to a class in the gym. Worked on my laptop in the lobby which was very relaxing. I was in a room right at the end of the hall however and in the middle of the night something that sounded like a pipe made an extremely loud noise and I couldn't get back to sleep for an hour. I informed reception before I left. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Ireland

A doorway to the Lakes

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Don't be put off by the 'blue' painted exterior !! North Lakes Hotel is ideally situated for exploring the Lake District by car, being close to the major road network, while being more keenly priced than many hotels in the Lakeland area. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly, especially in the restaurant. Within the public areas there is ample opportunity to relax in comfortable seating, while for the more energetic there is a large swimming pool with children's area. The décor of the public areas has been expertly carried out giving a lot of 'character' to these spaces. Food is terrific. The rooms, including the bathrooms are clean, however my one criticism would be that there is only one high backed chair in the bedroom making it difficult to relax while enjoying the tea and coffee provided. Other than this we really enjoyed our stay and would return to this hotel if we were in this part of England again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Nothing much to say. It was a very average stay. Doubt we would return. Location was good for where we wanted to visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

High standards

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Pros: Restaurant
Location: Location good for north/south M6 traffic, also ideal for excursions into the Lake District
Have used the hotel many times in previous years and have always been very satisfied. However this year even better than expected due mainly to excellent staff in the dining areas and good food. Will call again when in the country
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

It was a smooth experience from booking to leaving

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Location close to the motorway but very quiet. Staff very friendly.
Cons: We were only there for one night so experienced nothing we felt needed improvement other than to alert people on checking in to the 9.30 am breakfast
Location: There's not much within walking distance of which we are aware.
A very last minute booking but everything was very good, although when checking in we were not alerted to breakfast closing at 9.30 am. Not a problem in the outcome as the restaurant staff promptly arranged toast and coffee without any fuss. It was a full price for the visit - not a bargain but because it was smooth I have no complaint in that regard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal as a stopover close to the M6

Posted Jul 11, 2015
We use this hotel as a convenient stopover in trips between the South of England and Scotland. All the facilities are as you would require and the swimming pool is a bonus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hessy

Good situation

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Lovely hotel excellent staff only 1 problem T.V had no sound a member of staff tried to sort it but didn't work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and well located
Nice, well located hotel. The staff were very friendly and accommodated our special requests including bike storage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel in Penrith wonderful staff

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Excellent overall
Cons: TV remote did not turn TV off
Great staff ,great food and drink ,great experience overall