Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay

Posted Apr 25, 2016
Could not fault a thing the food and staff were amazing great value for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely friendly hotel in Lake District village

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: Everything
Location: Great location for outdoor activities or peaceful rest
Absolutely great, in every aspect We stayed overnight and were well looked after, great room and lovely food
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bradford

Friendly staff. All work as a team.

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: Staff and view and outside seating.
Cons: More toilets in public areas.
Location: Perfect for walkers with many routes nearby. Good for people getting around by car but some steep drives. Patterdale itself only has a pub and shop.
Stayed Monday to Friday receptionist explained all on arrival and from restaurant to bar staff all are very polite and friendly and nothing seems any trouble when guests ask for something. Entertainment 2 nights a quiz on Tuesday and a singer on Thursday. In my opinion need something each night to get guests to mingle with each other, but we weren't here for the walking so I guess some have early nights and I would guess don't need noise that disturb their rest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NE

Park up and walk

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Food very good. Staff extremely attentive
Cons: For the money paid nothing could be improved
Location: Ideally located with lots of walks from the doorstep
Very enjoyable, friendliness of the staff and attention to detail makes for a pleasing stay whatever the lakeland weather brings
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Excellent stay with beautiful views. Hotel very clean and staff were extremely friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northeast

Great location for walking

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Pros: Its location as well as staff
Cons: Nothing
Location: Fantastic walking from the hotel no need to drive
Enjoyed our stay and will return very much older clientele when we were there. We were very impressed with the quality and choice of food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff, good food/service

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Weather
Location: Great walks, wildlife, boating, cycling
Great hotel in fab location. Had a really enjoyable midweek break
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wally from Darlington

Nice hotel, good location for hill walking.

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Location was ideal.
Cons: The beds in the room, although fairly comfortable, we could have done with an extra pillow.
Location: Sight seeing, photography and hill walking.
We had a very good time, hotel staff very friendly, food and service very good. Excellent breakfast. Good atmosphere. Would definitely like to come back and stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tery from gateshead

Nice relaxing hotel a short walk from the village

Posted Feb 23, 2014
Pros: It's location and price. The staff and the quality and voice of the food.
Cons: sound insulation between the rooms
Location: Handy for lots of various walks and location to the lake steamer, also ideal for getting to other parts of the Lake District.
Helpful friendly staff, good value for money and just right for a relaxing couple of days away. Plenty of walks nearby and a good base for exploring the rest of the Lake district. The only downside was that the room walls are thin and that we could hear everything from the adjoining rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good times

Posted Sep 8, 2013
Pros: Location and value
Cons: Maybe a more adventurous menu
Location: The Lake District and Ulswater - no more to be said!
A gentle and pleasant hotel with good staff and excellent value